Saved By The Fire!

There is a raging marshland fire happening over in New Orleans East and smoke has made it a bit hazardous to be out exercising in the smoke. I was told by the fellow on the news not to ride my bike yesterday and today. That’s my story and I am sticking to it. :P

Weight Statistics

323/168.2/165

Another nice dip, but the loss rate has slowed. I think most of the excess water gain is gone and now I am back to losing real weight although I am still not sure how I gained 10 pounds in 10 days. :P

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Burger patty and cheese

Lunch – Broiled chicken and salad

Dinner – Broiled chicken and salad

Snack – Cheese

Calories – 1300

Biking – 0

Net Calories – 1300

Yuck! I didn’t notice the date on the salad kit. It was WAY past the expiration date and at about 6pm my stomach started rumbling and yelling at me and did not stop until after midnight. (note to self, along with reading labels, check the darn expiration date.)

Biking Update

Nope. I was not going to ride around on a smoke-filled levee. No thank you. Plus as I said, they guy on tv told me to avoid outside exercise for a few days until the fire stops. I must listen to the man on tv. I am quite sure he is paid lots of money to give me good excuses to stay away from the levee. :D

Tip Of The Day

I guess one thing I learned with my first try at maintenance was that you need to ease back into higher carb and higher sodium if you have been avoiding them for a long time. I didn’t eat close to the amount of calories to gain 2 pounds let alone 10.  The last 2 days before I went to back into Atkins were the only days out of the 10 that I really ate too much. Thanks a lot Popeye’s.

It is clear to me that I need to slowly ease back into regular eating when I hit maintenance again. I plan to continue to eat 1200 to 1500 calories and slowly add carbs back into my meal plan. Sodium in the kicker. It really is hard to keep my sodium low with any processed food.

Maintenance Tip 1

1. Lose more weight than your goal weight. I want to be around 165 to 170 so I might need to get to 160 then work on maintenance and hopefully I will stabilize around 165.

2. If you have been on a low carb diet, ease your way back into carbs. Don’t go from 20 grams to 300 grams. Your body will punish you if you do this.

That is what I plan to do next time.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/08/30/saved-by-the-fire/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great job with getting back most of that 10 lbs. Very close to goal. Keep working hard!

  2. I think you have figured it out – the maintenence – ease back. You are doing GREAT! I still think you need a stationary bike….ONLY for days when there are Marsh Fires and High Temperatures!!! Getting out on your bike is the better option, but in New Orleans, not always the safest (too hot, too smokey). XOXOXO

    • If I had a stationary bike then I would never have a valid excuse to take a break. :D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 208 other followers

