Starting A Diet Tuesday

323/204.9/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – eggs

Lunch- Red beans with sausage

Dinner- Hamburger, extra red beans, salad.

Snacks – none

I am a bit aggravated today. I ordered my bike online expecting to be able to pick it up yesterday since there are bikes of that brand in the store, but NO, the email they send me back tells me it can take up to 2 weeks. What? The stupid thing is IN THE STORE, but their online system stinks so bad, they can’t match an online order with a bike in the store where I requested pickup. Oh well.

Only 5 pounds to 200. The last time I weighed this amount I was 14, almost 28 years ago. I can’t wait to get below the big 2. ๐Ÿ˜€

How does one go about starting a successful diet? There are several things a person must do to make things easier to be successful.

1. Tell everyone. This forces you to keep focused.

2. Remove as much of the junk from the fridge and pantry as you can. I understand not everyone can do this if you have a spouse or kids, but if you can ask for their support by only having healthy in the house, then do it.

3. Scale – you must have a good digital scale for your daily weight reading.

4. Record – grab a notebook, excel spreadsheet or find a web site that lets you record daily weight and food information. I used Fitday.com. I record my weight and meal every day on this site. You can set up a free user account like I did. ย Whatever you choose to use, make sure you use it ever single day. Record your weight, food eater and calories.

I haven’t used it but some of my weight loss buddies swear by the livestrong phone application so I posted a link in the blog roll.

5. Calories. Of course you need to know how much you are eating and subtract until you lose weight. As stated I use fitday which has some caloric information, but I also use the site listed in the blog roll. Counting calories is KEY to weight loss.

6. Measuring cups, spoons and things like that. I don’t use a scale for my food but I do use measuring cups and spoons often. Maybe 3 months in you will be able to correctly guestimate, but not when you start. Having an accurate calorie count is very important. Probably MOST important.

7. See your doctor. I know, I know, some of us hate going to the old doc, but you need to see him to make sure you are healthy enough to start out and exercise. If he gives you the clear bill of health to proceed then do so.

8. Walking. It requires no money and can be done just about anywhere. You don’t need a fancy gym to lose weight. You can simply walk a mile a day (depending on health and current shape) and you will see results.

9. Positive attitude. This is hard to keep on those darn plateaus, but it is a must. You need to understand this is not easy but the end result will be worth the effort.

TIP OF THE DAY

What? That was 9 tips of the day for the price of 1. ๐Ÿ˜€

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/02/22/starting-a-diet-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Those are some awesome tips! My favorites were 1 and 9. Telling people and staying accountable is absolutely crucial for me to lose weight (For fear of embarrassment if I gained the weight back :/). I like 9 because there are times where it is incredibly difficult for me mentally but when I tell myself how worth it, it will all be in the end I don’t give up!

    Congrats on being so close to two hundred! I myself haven’t been under two hundred since I was like 12!

    • It has been most of my life since I was under 200 too. Can’t wait.

      Thanks for the support!:D

      • Well keep up the great work! And of course, supporting each other is what these blogs are all about to me! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Thanks for the visit and the encouraging words. Yay you on your loss!!


Leave a Reply

