Terrible Tuesday Plateau News

He hates plateaus too

Start/Current/Goal

323/205.3/185


I’m not sure what the heck is going on. I keep bouncing up and down on this darn plateau and it is wearing on my patience. I guess it is time to change things up a bit.

I sure wish Wal-Mart would get moving and get me my bike. That would be one thing I could change about my current routine. I definitely need to get some exercise. The good news is that I should have the bike by Friday. The bad news is I am not sure I believe the Wal-Mart website.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – None

Lunch – Red beans and sausage with salad

Dinner – Hamburger patties with salad Snack – String cheese.

Atkin’s

I need to mix things up by going full induction which means 20 grams or less of carbs per day. I was going to wait for after my birthday celebrations but the lack of movement is driving me bonkers so I start Atkins today. My meal plan for the next few weeks will probably be bacon and eggs, chicken thighs with salad and hamburger patty with salad, and string cheese for snacks.

Hopefully Atkins will get things moving again because I am sick of plateaus. January and February were full of them. Those stinkers slowly eat away at your willpower. My resolve is still quite strong but too many long plateaus and I know cracks can form. So back into induction for me and no more carbs. 

It shouldn’t be too hard to get back into induction. I’ve only been eating about 50 to 70 carbs a day with the beans and grapefruit. Off the menu they go. I’ll probably buy some fiber supplements to keep things moving at the waste disposal factory. That can be a bit of a problem with Atkins. You need to cut carbs but still get a decent amount of fiber. So the new plan is more exercise (if Wal-Mart decides to let me have the bike I paid for) and Atkin’s.

It is Mardi Gras time down in New Orleans and that means there are all sorts of good foods being passed around all over the place. This may be the first year ever that I don’t have a King Cake to eat during the Mardi Gras season.

 

Nice to look at, even nicer to eat.

I’ve had some of you balk at my idea of hermit mode, but when people are tossing around those King Cakes, it is best not to be around. Putting yourself in the path of temptation is not a very good way to keep the diet going.

I will probably limit myself to one day of Mardi Gras this year. I’ll probably head out to the parades this Saturday.

People at Wal-Mart that use multiple shopping carts make my blood boil. I get that some families need more than one cart to get all the supplies for the family but what really makes my blood pressure hit the red zone are the people who put one cart in line while the other person continues to shop.

They always seem to arrive with the second cart just as the first one gets to the front of the line. My head explodes when the second cart just strolls up to the front of the line.   One time, the first cart got to the front too soon, so the person proceeded to stall the cashier for 15 minutes. I am lucky a hospital visit was not required after that incident.

Tip Of The Day

Get a full night of sleep. This is actually important. I know it is not always possible but it is important. The body uses the down time to do a lot of maintenance and I think burning fat and disposing of it is part of the maintenance process.

This diet and other stress from life in general, have from time to time given me bouts of insomnia. I’ve had many nights that I simply could not get to sleep and literally every single time that I was unable to sleep the night before, I did not have a drop in weight.

It of course could be coincidence but I don’t think so. The body needs a good night of rest so try to get to sleep early enough each night that you get  your good 8 hours.

Not a tip I follow all the time, but one I try to follow all the time.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/01/terrible-tuesday-plateau-news/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sorry to hear of the plateau as I do know what you mean about it cracking the strong resolve you have. My plateaus were usually of my own making (i.e., I went out and ate or drink more than I should), so at least I knew why. However, when you do nothing wrong, and everything else right, I can understand it “weighing heavily” on you. Maybe do some walking or light jogging, or a few other exercises that your body isn’t used to for a few weeks. That should at least cause some confusion to your system and push that metabolism!

    • I really can’t stand walking. I did some during September, October and November but then used cold weather as an excuse to stop for the last 3 months. Even though the weather is warmer, I have still been unable to force myself out of the house.

      I purchased a bike online last Monday. I used to love to ride my bike so hopefully I will be able to get into bike rides each day. The only problem is that it is taking Walmart AGES to get the order processed and delivered.

      I think Atkins with bike riding will knock that plateau out of the way. It sure as heck better. 😀

      • I hear ya. I would LOVE to get a stationary bike but I just can’t afford one right now. When I first met my husband, nearly 30 years ago, we used to go for overnight bike rides, even though I had a car. We loved biking. I would like to get back into that again. Right now I don’t have the stamina to do it so a stationary bike would help me get back to that.

        I hate “weight loss” exercise! I think it is so completely boring!!! At least with an exercise bike I could watch tv with my husband and literally pedal my butt off, LOL.

  2. Grumpster….you’re skipping breakfast and not walking lately??? Dude, I hate to point out what you clearly already know…But, how in the heck is your metabolism supposed to do what you want it to do if you’re doing that??? 😀 I have found eating a little something every 2 hours has been a major key to success and amping up my metabolism.

    • I haven’t skipped breakfast too many times lately. 😛

      I try to eat 3 meals a day and at least one snack. I just have a tough time with the whole concept of being able to eat more calories on Atkins. I can’t seem to force myself to eat more than 1200 a day.

      I did miss lunch today. I was out running errands and things got away from me and it was too late by the time I got home. I adjusted dinner so I will still be around 1200 calories for the day.

      Now that I am back 100% on Atkins, I will do much better with breakfast, in theory. 😀

  3. Wow, can’t believe that Walmart still hasn’t gotten you you’re bike! That makes me frustrated just reading this :/

    I hope that Atkins helps you break through this, and getting that bike I think would definitely help 🙂

    • Well, the latest date listed on the original email was 3/4 hopefully it will arrive on Friday so I can spend the weekend relearning how to ride a bike without killing myself or others around me. The levee can be pretty crowded with walkers,joggers and bikers.


Leave a Reply

