The Fat Lady Has Sung Wednesday!

323/204.5/185

Hurrah! It appears the plateau has been passed. I’m about half a pound below the previous range so I declare this plateau dead and buried. Ding dong that wicked witch of a plateau is dead!

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Eggs & Bacon

Lunch – Missed it. I know, I know Maria, I will try not to skip meals.

Dinner – Hamburger with salad

Snack – String cheese

It is good to be off that darn plateau. I will feel much better that I am really off it once I hit 203.  This is my second day of induction so my body could still be using carbs. I haven’t noticed any of the side effects of being in ketosis so I don’t think the body engine has switched over to burning fat yet.

I’m not sure how I am going to navigate the minefield of my birthday on the 7th. I don’t want to knock myself out of induction right after getting back in.

Bike Watch

Day 9 of bike watch with no new news to report. The Wal-Mart tracking site hasn’t been updated since February 23rd.  $405,000,000,000 in revenue each year and their own internal tracking system appears to have been created by manatees.

I need to get the darn bike and get out there before I lose interest. 😀 Hurry up Mr. Wal-Mart Order Processor. Get me my bike!

Over the weekend I finally went to see The King’s Speech. A very good movie that shows the pain fear and frustration that people with speech impediments must endure.

Concession prices. OMG! It really is getting out of control. I love how they have now disposed of the small beverage because they can’t very well charge $4.00 for a small cup of soda, so they just got rid of it. Now you have to order the small bucket, the medium bucket or the large bucket and the difference in price between the 3 is minimal so once again the fattening up of America with a giant bucket of soda. Not to mention that 1 person going to the movie and buying a soda and popcorn(none for me) ends up costing anywhere from $16.00 to $24.00 depending where you live.

The movie theater used to be the poor man’s source of entertainment. Now the poor man needs to take a loan from the bank to take his 4 kids to the movie.

Tip Of The Day

This may sound like an advertisement but since I actually use it so much to distract myself when I am feeling hungry, I’m still going to mention it.

Netflix. I can spend countless minutes just browsing the library looking for something great to watch, then I can watch it online.

We need distractions and as I sit here and type, I am watching Netflix. Heck I barely turn the television on anymore when it is not football season.

For me Netflix has been an amazing hunger distraction. The internet has millions of distractions so if Netflix is not for you there are millions of ways online to take your mind off of food and hunger. (just don’t head over to YouTube and watch Betty’s Kitchen that will not help very much. 😀 )

Yes, walking, jogging, biking, weight lifting and countless other ways to exercise would also be great distractions, but life can’t be ALL about the diet. Need to squeeze some fun and entertainment in there too.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

 

 

 

 

 

PS.

I can’t believe 50 of you read the blog and didn’t point out that today was Wednesday not Tuesday. 😀

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/02/the-fat-lady-has-sung-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I miss that buttery/salty delicious popcorn! LOL! China only has something akin to caramel popcorn. It just doesn’t do it for me 🙂

    Good luck on descending your plateau. I’ve hit a wall too.. but it’s of my own doing. LOL!

    jeneaviolette.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for the support.

      Good luck on breaking your down that wall. 😀

  2. After losing eight pounds of water weight during a SERIOUS cardio workout plan (which I did for two months before wanting to die), I hit a plateau so hard and so fast that I didn’t see a single result period through the entire plan. I hate plateaus. I hate them.

    Now… I usually just try to stay away from the scale…

    Good luck with yours!

    • They sure do stink.

      And the more weight I lose, the more plateaus I hit. They have been pretty steady with at least one long plateau a month the last 3 months. That is annoying. Hopefully adding the bike will minimize the plateaus.

  3. Movies have gotten way too expensive. In NYC it’s $13 to see a movie, so I have seen a grand total of 2 in my last 5 months here. Groupon is running a lovely special today, though, that allows you to buy 2 movie tix from Fandango for $9! It’s like we are back in the 90’s.

    • That is a great deal.

      Some places are also starting to get rid of matinee pricing. I think some theaters are removing the Friday – Sunday matinee pricing.

      They wonder why people are flocking to torrents and online streaming sites to watch movies. $13.00 for a ticket and another $9 for popcorn and coke is obscene. Toss in a candy with that popcorn and coke and you spent almost $30.00 for what used to be one of the cheapest forms of entertainment.

  4. Mmmm, bacon!

    Great job conquering your plateau.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving some encouragement. I’m pretty psyched about getting back on low-carb.

  5. I hope you had lunch today. 😀

  6. Congrats on breaking your plateau …. hate those buggers. 🙂

  7. I really love that gif from last post. It’s great!

    I’ve hit a few and usually had to change something around or try something different diet or exercise-wise mixed with a little bit of patience to see a difference.

    Anyway, just wanted to ask how YOU managed to get over your plateau?

    • I really didn’t do anything different. Well, I started Atkins again, but I doubt it has had time to kick in. I think in most cases by the time we make changes to mix things up, we probably would have broken the plateau even if we hadn’t done anything new.

      I am using a little power of positive thinking. By stating it is done, I am hoping it really is done but I won’t really believe the plateau is dead until I weigh tomorrow. 😀

      • That’s so true. Enthusiasm and motivation make the biggest difference! I’ll check back tomorrow then for your update!


Leave a Reply

