Wal-Mart Armageddon Thursday!

Special Armageddon Edition Rant

Why must Wal-Mart go out of their way to make me feel like the poor little tyke to the left?

As I have said before, I can’t understand the Wal-Mart online system that doesn’t match orders with the selected pickup store if they actually have the item in stock. That seems like the rational way to handle the transaction but no, the item must come from the central office.

The scheduled site pickup date was between 2/28 – 3/4.

That had me annoyed to start out. I emailed them that I wasn’t thrilled with their online system.  I received a response in which they apologized for my confusion. They also told me I would receive a call within 1-3 days. That timeframe has long since passed without the call.

I have also discussed my dismay at their worthless tracking system which never seemed to update. Earlier today it still showed no progress but it had not been updated since 2/23/2011. So no update for almost 7 days.

Until a few minutes ago.

That was my head exploding as I  read that the shipment was delayed  and now the expected pickup date is  3/12 /2011.

19 days after placing an order for  the bike that is in stock in the store I  set for pickup???

Does anyone out there find 19 days  acceptable for an online order?

Heck, why should I believe it will  arrive then? It was supposed to come  by the 4th at the latest. It will not. They were supposed to call me within 1-3 days. They did not. So why should I believe it will arrive on the 12th? I don’t. Plus at this point I don’t care.

I know I will never order from Wal-Mart again. I hope you won’t either. I can overreact from time to time but I think 19 days is horrible service especially considering they have bikes in stock in the store I set for pickup.

After reading the new tracking info, I shot off an email to them letting them know how unacceptable this delay is. I can’t wait for their smug reply once again probably apologizing for my confusion on the matter.

I’ll be sure to let you know If I get a response to my email. Be sure to stay tuned as breaking news on the matter could come at any minute. 😀

323/204.5/185

I’m glad to see I stayed under 205. I was worried I might pop back up and still be on the plateau, so I can at least breathe a sigh of relief that I am off the plateau. I just hope I didn’t climb down onto another one. 😀

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – 2 slices of bacon with 3 eggs and slice of cheese

Lunch – Hamburger patty with salad tossed with red wine vinegar

Dinner – Stewed chicken thigh with onions and salad tossed with red wine vinegar

Snacks – string cheese

Tip Of The Day

Fresh food. This can be tough for lots of people either because of budget or not enough time to get to the store, but I can’t stress how important fresh food can be for a diet. Processed food contains massive amounts of sodium and hidden calories and in some instances you can barely taste the sodium or calories. So you have all the negatives without the taste in many cases.

With fresh food, you can season it the way you like it and still have far less sodium than if you bought the meal already processed.

I know this can be a hassle as it means more trips to the store and fresh tends to cost more but in the end it will make your eating habits much healthier and your scale will move quicker.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/03/wal-mart-armageddon-thursday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is a great blog. I love your tips. I lost 40 pounds that I’d put on in college several years ago, but then I moved and lost track of my eating and exercise and gained back a little less than 15 of those. I’m working to get back to where I was and I’m doing a good job so far, but didn’t see any real progress till I tried to eat/buy mostly fresh foods. I always get off track whenever I travel and I like to travel quite a bit so that’s something else I’m working on, staying healthy on the road and not using it as an excuse not to eat right or exercise.

    • Travel really can be really tough on the old diet.

      Great job on the weight loss and best wishes for continued success.

      The Grumpy Man

  2. That is an insane delay. I would only accept that sort of wait if they were out of stock and there were none in the country.

    I’m not a fan of wal-mart anyway (ASDA here in the UK). I have found that their fruit and veg isn’t as good as other supermarkets for the same price.

    • There fruit and veg isn’t great over here either but for the price it is about the same as most places. The really good fruit and veg at Whole Foods costs so much you need to see the loan officer before leaving the store. 😀

      I’ve now sent off 2 emails to Wal Mart with no replies about the delay or canceling my order.

  3. It seems that they are trying to destroy your life. Congrats on all of your accomplishments!
    Thanks for the visit!

    • Ha!

      I’ve been a regular almost weekly shopper for a very long time. Unfortunately, I may be stuck since they have the best prices on most things. But major purchases will no longer go to Wal-Mart.

  4. Fresh food is so important and worth the extra effort! I firmly believe the body can tell the difference and doesn’t function as well without it.


Leave a Reply

