Relaxation Friday

323/203.1/185

It appears getting back into Atkins induction has worked.

For those people not familiar with Atkins, the first stage requires that you eat less than 20 net carbs per day.

This changes the engine that runs your body from a carb burning engine into a fat burning engine (ketosis). It is just common sense that to lose weight it would be best for your body to burn fat first so that is why Atkins works.

I’m not going to worry about the bike anymore. It appears I only have two options at this point. I can wait until 3/12 and get a $25.00 discount (they raised it last night) or I can get a refund but I will still have to go into the store when the canceled bike arrives and cancel it in person or I will be charged.

I think I am just going to take the $25.00 which I can use to buy the bike helmet but that means it will be at least another week before I get up on the levee.

The thing better arrive by the 12th. It really will be Armageddon if something else goes wrong. 😀

Yesterday’s Mean Plan

Breakfast – 3 eggs and 2 slices of bacon

Lunch – Chicken thighs with onion and a salad

Dinner – Hamburger patty with salad

Snack – string cheese

I know it is a broken record. I pretty much have the same thing every day. Having a regular routine makes things easy. Yes it may make things boring but boring is safer for me than difficult. If I have a difficult menu, that could give me excuses to cheat or give up. Having a set routine is important for some people. Other people need a touch more excitement and variety but for me I need something that is easy so I can’t make a single excuse not to follow the routine.

Wal-Mart…….oh wait. I said I was going to relax and not get stressed out over anything today. 😀

The rant has been closed today so that the Grumpy Man can relax.

Resist urge to scream about Wal-Mart………..

Ahhhhhhh, that’s better. Urge to scream resisted. Time for a relaxing happy Mardi Gras weekend if the darn weather doesn’t spoil the fun. 😀

Tip Of The Day

Don’t shop hungry. This is a good tip for people on or off diets. Try to shop after eating  a meal or have a healthy snack before doing your grocery shopping.

Simple step, but it can really keep you from making some disastrous meal and snack choices.

It is also best to have a grocery list. Have all your meals planned out and the ingredients on a list.  You need to get in and out of that store without making any purchases that could derail your diet so have a list and don’t enter the store starving.

I hope all you guys and gals have a great weekend.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/04/relaxation-friday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hello again. I really enjoyed reading the rest of your blog and I definitely appreciate the advice. Congrats on losing over 100 pounds! I hope to be able to say that too at some point.

    I actually had a couple of questions for you. I noticed that red beans and rice was a staple for you, pre-Atkins. Do you happen to have a link to good healthy recipe that you recommend?

    Secondly, would you mind if I added a link to your blog on my “blogroll”? I plan to add that to my page soon. You are more than welcome to add mine too if you would like.

    Thanks and good luck with the bike!

    • Sure. Add my blog. I’ll add yours.

      I only have the rice when cheating when it comes to red beans. About 98% of the time is it just red beans with some sausage.

      My recipe isn’t exactly the best tasting beans on the planet but that is due to my sodium restrictions.

      Sometimes I cook 1 pound of beans and I will split that into 10 portions and sometimes I cook 2 pounds and split that into 10 larger portions.

      All I do is get a couple of onions and green peppers. Chop those up and cook them down some in olive oil. Between 2 and 4 tablespoons. Even 4 tables spoons is only 480 calories and when split 10 ways that is only 48 cal of oil per serving.

      I usually season the onions and peppers with garlic powder and sometimes Mrs. Dash Tomato Basil.

      In the crock pot I put in the beans. You can soak the beans overnight or not. Soaking them will make them cook a little faster and you won’t need to watch the crock pot much since they won’t soak up all the water in the pot.

      Most of the time I don’t soak anymore. I put water about an inch over the beans. At some point you will need to put more water in if you did not soak.

      I season the water with 4 teaspoons of sriracha sauce and 4 teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce plus I drop in a bay leaf. I then add the onions and peppers that have cooked down and give it a nice stir. Cayenne and black pepper for heat.

      I have no idea on the timing. Sometimes I cook on high for about 4 to 5 hours and then check it. Sometimes I cook on low for 8 hours. When the beans are just about there. I cut the sausage into 10 portions and then add and cook another hour on low.

      It could use some salt but I try to cut most sodium out. There is 400 mgs from the sriracha, 250 from the Worcestershire sauce. So 650 divided by 10 is only 65mgs per serving. The meat adds another 500mgs. So in total 565mgs of sodium per serving.

      Sometimes it comes out great. sometimes it is a little bland. Depending on the sodium from the rest of my meals, I’ll maybe add one more teaspoon of sriracha when I serve the meal.

      Goes fantastic on rice, but that is a no-no in low carb living.

      It really is a simple dish, onions, peppers, garlic, bay leaf and meant and beans with seasoning.

      This is my favorite diet meal but it is not good for Atkins induction so I won’t be having it for a while.

      The Grump Man.

      • Thanks Grumpy Man.

        I will make a batch in the crock pot and see how that turns out. Looking forward to it.

        I will be linking to you soon.

        Taoloser

  2. I agree completely, never go grocery shopping hungry! Every time I do that it has been a DISASTER! I like to make the list, get in, and get out as fast as I can, just going for what I need and that’s it. Whenever I go shopping hungry my waistline AND my wallet end up suffering.
    Have a great weekend!

  3. Glad I found your blog!! It’s SO TRUE about not shopping hungry!

  4. Glad to hear that going back into the induction phase is working! Keep up the great work 🙂

  5. Lost another pound yesterday so the induction magic has worked again. Wish I had never stopped induction way back when I did.


Leave a Reply

