Super Nova Sunday!

The Bicycle Saga Continues


A quick recap for those new to the site.

On February 21st, I decided to buy a bike to get some exercise. I purchased the bike online at walmart.com. I checked the site to make sure a bike was in stock at the location that I chose for pickup.

That was my first mistake. I assumed my order would be matched with the bike at the location I selected. Nope! All online orders are processed at some central warehouse and must come from said warehouse because they want the revenue numbers for online and physical stores separate.

I was shocked when the original delivery date was listed as 2/28 – 3/4. I emailed them to let them know I was not happy with their online system and they should make it more clear that orders are not sent to local stores. I could have walked into the store on the 21st and purchased the bike.

They apologized for MY CONFUSION.  My confusion because they have an order system which favors the bean counters, not the customers. Condescending much? They promised to call me within 1-3 days to discuss the matter. They never called.

Then from the Feb 21st to March 2nd there was no update on tracking at all, so I start to get more than a little worried.   The night of March 2nd the tracking finally updates. My bike has been delayed and the new date is  March 12. Not just delayed a day or two but 8 full days. That would put delivery 19 days since I ordered the bike that is happily sitting in stock at the location I selected.

I email  a very unhappy aggravated reply to customer service about the tracking update. I ask them a simple question. Is it acceptable to take 19 days to receive an item in stock? They never answered this question, even when I asked a representative on the phone.

I get a call the next day and the guy tells me I have two choices. He will take $9.00 off the prices of the bike and I wait or he will refund my money but I still need to go into the store when the bike arrives and I must cancel my order at that time or I will be charged for the bike. So even though I canceled the order on the phone I have to do it all over again when the bike arrives?

I explain the flaw in rational behavior that even though I canceled my order with him on the phone, I will then need to drive 20 miles to cancel the order again. I don’t like either option so I tell him I want to speak to his boss. He said he was the top dog. I said nope, you report to someone, I want to talk to them.

I had to leave the house Thursday night and when I arrived home I had a message from Walmart upping the discount to $25.00.  I decided I would take that as it would pay for the bike helmet.

BUT…..Friday morning before I could contact Walmart I get another email from them. John, we are sorry but your bike has been lost or destroyed in transit. BOOM!

A few minutes later I get another email apologizing for the mess and offering a 30% discount on my next walmart.com order along with FREE 1 day shipping. The email states I can use the offer to reorder my bike OR purchase “MULTIPLE EXPENSIVE ITEMS.”

That sure looks to me like I could reorder the bike and buy a few other things. I head over to the site and discover that the bike does not have 1 day shipping.  I email them to let them know this and they knock $10.00 off along with the 30% discount.

So I purchase the bike, bike helmet, gloves and air pump for $150.00 with shipping of $50.00 and tax of around $15.00 for a total of $215.00.

With the discount and waived shipping costs they are supposed to reimburse me for approximately $110.00 so my new total once they reimburse me should be around $105.00.

A few hours later I get an email. They have reimbursed me $29.00 for the bike and given me $2.97 off the $50.00 shipping charge. My heart and head explode at the same time.  My bill that should be $105.00 is still $182.00.

I call their online department and I am told the offer was only extended for the bike. I am also told the bike which weighs 50 pounds has a shipping cost of $2.97 while  the helmet, gloves and air pump somehow cost $47.00.

I argue that the email clearly stated I could use the discount and free shipping for more than one item. The lady disagrees. I ask her to explain to me what “MULTIPLE EXPENSIVE ITEMS” means to her. She has no explanation and she puts me on hold.

When she comes back she agrees to offer the discount and free shipping on everything. She then tries to charge tax on the $150.00 price. I explained that you tax on the discounted price. We went back and forth on this. She finally relented. Why would I be taxed on a price I am not paying? She then forgot the extra $10.00.

In the end after about 45 minutes and a heated phone conversation in which she got pretty angry with me, I finally had the price knocked down to $105.00.  Now we are back at square one, waiting for the bike to be delivered in 7 to 10 days.

Please let the saga be over, although I am concerned what my bank statement will look like and whether all the charges will be removed as promised.

323/201.9/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – 3 eggs, slice of cheese, 2 slices of bacon

Lunch – Chicken with onions and side salad

Dinner –  Hamburger patty with salad

Snack –  string cheese

Calories – 1200

After all that typing I don’t have much else to say. 😀 The whole bike fiasco has been a real pain. Is god sending me a warning not to buy a bike? 😀

Tip Of The Day

Be conscious of why you are eating. Are you hungry? Or is something else like stress causing you to eat.

Most of us with weight problems tend to be stress eaters. I’ve really noticed a few times in the last couple of months that I really wasn’t hungry but due to stress my brain was telling me to eat.

Of course knowing something and stopping yourself are two different things. Instead of reaching for some food, you need to find a stress release that works for you.

Go for a walk or jog. Go to the movies (no popcorn), watch a dvd, play a video game. DO anything that you like to do which will knock out the stress except grab that bag of chips.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/06/super-nova-sunday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am sorry to say I find your trials and tribulations highly amusing on the reading end…and I’m surprised yesterday’s meal plan did not consist of 3 martini’s and 9 olives…Unbelievable! I cannot believe what they have put you through and how lacking in common sense the people you have dealt with are. I need a job too perhaps I should try there. I will stay tuned and do a happy dance when you finally get the bike. Excellent job hanging in with your plan during this horrific show of incompetence.

    • 😀

      Thanks. I am trying to make it amusing. Without a sense of humor we have nothing. I just hope the new order has better luck than the original.

      Ohhhh, I just checked. The bike is now with fed ex. So it is on the move.

      The Grumpy Man

    • Whoops. I mistyped. I meant I am of course trying to make it humorous. 😀

  2. That would make me pretty grumpy. Another good reason not to shop at Wal-Mart. I personally never darken their doors. I’m sure you will really enjoy your bike…once you get it. What a story.

    • Ha! 😀

      With all the fuss I have made, I am now really on the hook. I’ll have to ride the heck out of that bike. 😀

  3. “lost or destroyed in transit” – I think my head exploded along with yours! I can’t believe that.
    I’m glad your bike is on its way!!!

    • ha! 😀

      Hopefully order 2 is more smoothly processed than order 1. 😀

  4. Oh, what a story. But trust me, it is not only WalMart trying to rip you off. I live in Germany and had quite recently a similar episode over a monitor purchased online. It took 8 weeks and a letter from my lawyer to get my hands on that thing. Don’t give up!

    • I won’t give up. Unfortunately bad service is all around the place. 😀

  5. Just read this, and what a MESS!

    Pretty funny how sometimes weight loss obstacles are not because of plateaus or cheat days, but due to shockingly poor customer service.

    Hope you get your bike soon!

    • True. Stress outside the diet can derail you just as easy as stress from the diet.

      Thanks. Hopefully the second shipment of the bike works MUCH better than the first.

  6. Jeez, this seems like a super frustrating process 😦

    It looks like the weight is starting to come off though! Well done for that 🙂

    • Well, at least I get a free helmet, gloves and air pump. So the time delay is not going to kill me. It is however a tad more than a little frustrating. 😀

      Also the extra items I mentioned have 1 day free shipping but…….. as of today they still have not shipped and they are due tomorrow. So they may be late unless the info just hasn’t been updated on the web site.

      I’m also not too sure about the March 9 date for the bike, because I am not sure it has even been picked up by Fed Ex yet. Their tracking states the 4th as pickup and 9th as delivery but it doesn’t show any movement from place to place so I am leery as to whether it was actually picked up yet or if that was an estimated pickup which they have missed.

      I guess I’ll find out on the 9th.

      At least this nonsense gives me something to blog about. 😀

  7. LOL, that is crazy!! Wow, they’re really making you jump through hoops to get what they’ve promised/owe you. I’ve never had any problems with Walmart, but then again I’ve never ordered anything online from them except photos and music. I will say that their warranty on cameras rocks. When mine broke, all I had to do was mail them the camera and my gift card was automatically credited with the amount of my purchase on the camera so I could get a new one. If only everything were that simple!

    • At least the bike is now in the hands of Fed Ex. Currently in GA with s destination of New Orleans. At least Fed Ex has real tracking whereas the internal site to store tracking from Walmart is garbage.

      Heck, I had to wait 3 weeks, but I got a free bike helmet, gloves and air pump so I can’t complain too much. Unless the saga continues in some other fashion like the bike gets here but has no wheels. 😀

  8. BTW, guess what I had for dinner tonight? A hamburger patty and salad! LOL! I actually melted cheese on top of mine, cut it up and put it on top of my salad greens along with chopped onion, tomato, and pickles, then squirted on some (sugar-free) ketchup and mustard for “dressing” (but sometimes I use Thousand Island). Cheeseburger salad, baby. Loves it.

    • Ha! Nice dinner. 😀

      I used to use a slice of cheese but trying to keep sodium under 1500 mgs for my blood pressure forced me to stop the 2 slices of cheese a day. I really need the cheese with the eggs more than I need the cheese with the hamburger patty.


Leave a Reply

