Happy Birthday To Me Monday!

I can’t have a cake since I am on Atkins again, but I will be having a celebratory steak at my mom’s house tonight. Happy birthday to me.

Bike Update

The bike is now in the hands of Fed Ex and per the tracking information, it is scheduled to arrive on Wednesday the 9th. Let’s all keep our fingers crossed that the bike arrives on that day and undamaged.

The bike helmet, gloves and air pump are supposed to arrive tomorrow since I could get 1 day shipping for them, but at this point the order is still being processed.

323/201.5/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – 3 eggs, slice of cheese and 2 slices of bacon

Lunch – Chicken thigh with onions and side salad

Dinner – Hamburger patty with side salad

Snack – string cheese

Calories – 1200

I’m doing fine on the diet but had some serious temptation yesterday. I live in the New Orleans metro area and it is of course Mardi Gras time. I decided to head out to the parades yesterday. I had to walk about 1.5 miles to find a spot that wasn’t 40 people deep and I think I was a little dehydrated and I definitely should have eaten my snack and maybe even dinner before heading out.

The smell of BBQ meats, fried chicken, hamburgers, gumbo, jambalaya and other decadent tasty vittles was overwhelming. I can’t ever remember seeing so many BBQ pits up and down St Charles Avenue. Some guy was roasting a whole pig. I don’t have a clue how he had power for the electric spit that was turning the pig.

My stomach was grumbling big time. I watched the parades for about an hour but at some point I decided I needed to head home before I turned into this guy.

I felt myself transforming into a ravenous beast and I would eat more than cookies. I would devour anything and everything. So I figured it was best to call it a day and head home. It was WAYYYYYYY too crowded anyway. Β There were recorded crowds due to the perfect weather combined with 2 major parades running back to back because one was canceled Saturday due to rain. It was crazy.

I got out of there without eating but my eyes did check out a couple of vendors to see what tasty treats they were selling.

Tip Of The Day

Know your limitations and try best to avoid situations that could derail the diet. I put myself in harm’s way yesterday. We can’t live like hermits 100% of the time, but we do need to figure out which events we can go to and which ones will lead to diet disasters. Especially people just starting up.

I can’t count the number of diets I planned to start only to have them derailed by a food orgy out with friends or coworkers.

Know your limitations. You may need to excuse yourself from certain events at least until you have some serious momentum behind you to give you some strength.

I knew my limitations yesterday. That constant smell of awesome food was slowly breaking down my willpower so I needed to bolt. You need to have escape plans all set up if you do attend events like Mardi Gras or other festivals or fairs.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

Published in: on March 7, 2011 at 8:45 am  Comments (30)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/07/happy-birthday-to-me-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

30 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey Grumpy,
    I have yet to read your entire bike saga, but it’s on my list. Sounds like an interesting and frustrating story. Of course, when you start off grumpy, I’d imagine most stories are. Good luck on Atkins, and thanks for the continued support on my 21days project. Have a good Birthday and week!

    • Thanks for the b-day wish.

      For the bike, all you need to do is read the Sunday update on the bike since I compiled a recap of the whole story.

    • hi grumpy,

      Happy b-day! nice blog too! I’m definitely coming back here!

  2. Happy birthday! What a beautiful place to live- I’m jealous. I went to New Orleans waaaay back when I was a little girl and have wanted to return ever since. Way to go on resisting the temptations to eat! I’d have caved. lol

    • Believe me it was very hard. I really should have had my snack and an early dinner before heading into the den of evil foods.

  3. First of all congrats on losing the weight! Looking forward to reading through your blog with how you accomplished that. I love the smells of food. I melt when I come across a bakery {sigh}. Thanks, Jackie

    • Ohhh… a bakery would be tough to live near. The smell of fresh baked bread is intoxicating.

      There is a BBQ joint right across the street and luckily I can only smell the smoker every now and then. On Atkins the meat wouldn’t be bad without sauce but every time I enter that place I leave with potato salad, bread and bbq beans. And there sauce is too good to eat the meat plain. πŸ˜€

  4. Happy Birthday! Good job surviving all the temptations around you. I will be heading to NO with my husband and parents for a mini-vacation in a few months and will hopefully have the strength to limit myself from going on a food crazy eating spree. Hope you have a great day and enjoy it! You deserve it!

    • I would cut yourself some slack on a mini-vacation. Just don’t go overboard. No sense coming here and not trying some of the great food. Just brush yourself off and start anew when you leave. I don’t make myself miserable for holidays or special occasions. If I hadn’t just restarted Atkins, I might have had a treat yesterday but I didn’t want to mess up induction.

  5. Happy Birthday! I hope your bike actually gets to you this time. Get job on avoiding becoming the hungry beast! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the support. Bike tracking shows that it should be here by Wednesday. πŸ˜€

  6. I went to New Orleans for the first time a couple months ago, DELICIOUS food, kudos for not giving in. Question, how do you survive off of 1200 calories a day!? I’d go crazy πŸ™‚ Happy birthday to yoooou.

    • Your body really does adjust. That is not to say some days I am not a bit hungry. When that hits, I take a few big gulps of water to help out.

      I’ve never been a morning hunger person. I hate breakfast. I actually have to force myself to eat breakfast. 3 eggs with a slice of cheese and 2 slices of bacon with coffee is not exactly a famine. That is a nice sized breakfast. I buy the bacon pre-cooked for ease. It actually has no more sodium than buying uncooked.

      Lunch I have a chicken thigh with lots of broth from the chicken and onions. The side salad is a fairly generous portion and a tablespoon of olive oil with red wine vinegar cover every leaf with flavor. The salad helps fill me up.

      String cheese when I get hungry. Sometimes it hits before dinner and sometimes after. I used to have 1 at each point but I am down to 1 a day.

      One again a big salad helps tamp down the hunger. The hamburger patty doesn’t do much for me but that and the salad mixed together with a tablespoon of mayo and teaspoon of sriracha makes it savory enough to make me think I ate more than I did.

      I am rarely raving hungry. It can happen. It happened the week before I started this blog. I got up 3 times to go to taco bell. The first two times I sat back down. The third time I was off to the races. We all have bad moments and crack. The key to a successful diet is starting over after we crack.

      The Grumpy Man

  7. Happy Birthday! Congrats on the HUGE loss! Hoping to get my bike out of the garage when the weather warms up.

    • Thanks. Now that I have made such a fuss about the bike, I’m going to have to ride it up a storm or I’ll never hear the end of it. πŸ˜€

  8. Happy Birthday!
    Good job on not letting the parade get to you!

  9. Have a very happy birthday Grumpy! Enjoy your steak! πŸ™‚

  10. Hope you had a great b-day.

  11. Happy Birthday! Really enjoyed reading this blog for the first time today. You have got to feel like a completely different person! So happy for you and your progress….keep it comin. πŸ™‚ Angie

    • Thank you. I’ve dropped most of the weight but now I need to hit that bike to get in better shape. If I ever receive it. πŸ˜€

  12. I’ll take a birthday steak over a birthday cake any day!

    • I definitely got more out of the steak than I would I cake. I prefer savory to sweet most of the time.

  13. Great advice and HAPPY (BELATED) BIRTHDAY!
    Thanks for the advice on my blog, by the way!

  14. Happy Belated Birthday…I really love the blog!


Leave a Reply

