Fat Tuesday!

Mardi Gras 2011 is here! Well, I choose to sidestep Mardi Gras Day. I don’t think my will power is good enough to be around great food ALL day.  Next year I will be in maintenance so special occasions won’t be a problem at all to feast and recover.

Plus is it cold and damp out there with a high chance of showers, so the weather is not pulling me out of the house.

I did head out to the parades on Sunday. I took a few pictures which are below. These pictures prove a couple of things.  One, My MP3 Player does not take very good pictures and 2, I am headed for the Photographers Hall of Shame.

Oh and it was so bright I couldn’t see the screen so most of the pictures I thought I was taking, I ended up pushing the wrong buttons and didn’t take the picture. 😀

My attempt to catch the crowd and float. Fail!

The Crowds!!!

Even More Crowds!!!

323/201.8/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – 3 eggs, slice of cheese 2 slices of bacon

Lunch – Chicken thigh with onions and salad.

Dinner – Massive ribeye with onion and mushroom with salad

Snack – none

Calories – 1800 +

Not sure of the weight on the ribeye so I am not 100% on the calorie count. Man on Man was the ribeye fantastic. THANKS MOM! I actually saved a little piece of the ribeye and onions for breakfast this morning. Yum!

A slight uptick on the scale this morning but I expected a little more so that uptick doesn’t bother me. Plus my birthday is a rare event so if I had gone crazy that would have been ok.  I’m dieting not giving up everything for life. 😀

BIKE UPDATE

The helmet and gloves are scheduled to arrive today by 3. The air pump for some reason has not left on its adventure yet. The bike is scheduled to arrive tomorrow and it had left GA.

Hmmmmm……. once it gets here I am really going to have to ride it and ride it often after all the fuss I have made. 😀

Accountability. That was the main reason I started the site so now I am on the hook to ride the bike until the wheels fall off.

Tip Of The Day

Not a very pleasant topic to talk about but one that is important for people who diet, especially low carb, low fiber diets.

From time to time the old waste processing factory can get slowed down due to the lack  of fiber. In the past I didn’t do much to aid my body when this problem would hit and it does hit sometimes when doing Atkins.

This go around on Atkins I decided to give a little help with some fiber supplements, psyllium husk capsules to be exact.

The recommended dosage is for me to pop the capsules 3 times a day but heck I never have had that much fiber on a daily basis. So I just take 4 or 5 capsules around lunch and maybe 2 later at night. So far they have worked great.

So no matter what diet you are on, you need to make sure you are getting enough fiber and if you are limited with carb counting, then maybe a supplement is what you need.

As always check with your physician before deciding to start taking supplements.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

Published in: on March 8, 2011 at 12:24 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/08/fat-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. First, thanks for the support. I have never had to lose more than 20 lbs, and that was tough so I admire what you’ve done. I’ve never been big, but skinny doesn’t=healthy so I hope the blog will give me an outlet for my overeating.

    Now, for fiber you should check out Scandanavian Bran Crips, 12 calories and 5 grams of fiber per cracker. add some PB and not a bad snack!

  2. Did you see Kelly Ripa? (ya, I know I’m lame!)

    • Nope. I was too tired, dehydrated and hungry to wait for Endymion. I usually skip Endymion. The crowds are insanely huge.


Leave a Reply

