Bike Assembly Confusion Thursday

The good news is that I have the bike. The bad news is that I now have the bike. 😀

Reading the assembly instructions is giving me a headache. That could be the lack of caffeine from my Lenten coffee break or it could be the fact the print is so small I need a magnifying glass to see the print.

I found the instructions online with nice normal print size but reading each step makes me feel like this.

Errrrr,,,,,,what the?

About the only thing I can decipher from the hieroglyphics is that I do not have the proper tools to put the bike together. I think I can muster a hammer, screw driver, pliers and Philips head but the Allen wrenches and other various tools needed are not in my minuscule tool box.

I imagine my attempt to put the bike together will result with a final product looking similar to this picture.

So I needed to break out the big guns and call  my step-dad to come over with his tool box. He is mr. fixit so between the two of us (all him) we should be able to put the bike together. I think he is a little freaked out now as the pressure has moved over to him to make the bike road ready. 😀

Uh oh, he just looked at the manual that I emailed him and I think now he is more than a little nervous. 😀

323/201/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

I really mixed things up by having breakfast for lunch and lunch for breakfast. 😀

Breakfast – Chicken and onions with salad

Lunch – 3 eggs with slice of cheese and 2 slices of bacon

Dinner – Hamburger patty with salad

Snack – String cheese

Calories – 1200

Yesterday was definitely rough. Drinking a pot of coffee each day had me in the throes of caffeine addiction. I was foggy and had a headache for most of the day and evening.

Today I am feeling much better but that could change at any minute as I usually hit the coffee late in the morning or with lunch until the pot was gone.

Fed Ex. Yes, they got me the bike, the helmet, the gloves and the air pump but one thing bugs me about them. They don’t knock on my door. They simply left the helmet, gloves and air pump leaning up against my door without so much as a knock.

In this day and age, leaving a big box up against the door can result in theft. That would really make The Grumpy Man go postal.

This has happened many times before with Fed Ex packages being delivered. They don’t even knock to see if I am home which in all cases I have been in the apartment.

Have they heard bad things about me? I may be Grumpy but I am not Jeffrey Dahmer.  Please knock on my door before leaving the items on the ground outside my door.

They did knock on my door when the bike arrived but that is a whole other rant.  The guy was rolling the bike box up the stairs  causing parts to flip about.

I had a second rant all ready for press, but the demise of Captain Crunch which set the internet ablaze turns out to be untrue. It does appear that Quaker will tone down the marketing of Captain Crunch cereal to kids, but they will not be removing the cereal from the shelf as was reported the last few days.

Tip Of The Day

Try to eat more meals away from the tv or computer. Move back to the dinner table.

In the last 30 years we have conditioned our brains into wanting food anytime we are near a tv screen or computer.

30 years ago people ate ALL of their meals at the dinner table.  Now I wonder how many people even eat at the dinner table more than a few times a week.

This really does have a conditioned response effect on our brains that we must have food and drink while watching tv or playing on the computer even if we aren’t truly hungry.

Admittedly, this is a tip that I have TROUBLE following. Being single, makes this tip a bit silly, but we need to somehow reprogram our brains to stop associating food with tv and computers. Easier said then done, I know.

This may be a hopeless tip, but it is definitely a problem.

The Confused Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/bike-assembly-confusion-thursday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good Tip! I don’t get much TV time nowadays, but when I do, I seem to always have munchies with me.

    Good luck with the bike assembly… remember… wheels on the ground and seat and handlebars in the air. That is the extent of my bike assembly know-how.

    • Ohhhhhh so the wheels are down and the seat is up. That makes more sense. 😀

  2. Good luck! I hope that you are off and biking soon! Can’t wait to hear/read what happens!

  3. I have the same issue with FedEx. I’ve watched them leave the box by the door, put a sticker on the frosted glass window beside the front door and never knock or ring the door bell. Are they now afraid of human contact and assume only honest people live in the neighborhood and that the package won’t be stolen?

    • I truthfully am baffled by them not knocking on the door.

      When I woke up yesterday I looked outside to see if they had come before I woke up. Then I went to the computer and checked email and a few things and I checked the tracking on the helmet and it said delivered. I started getting real grumpy because I assumed someone stole the box before I woke up.

      I ran to the door, opened it and there was the helmet and my gloves. I really don’t get the no knock policy. I might look into that. Who would be liable if the package was stolen?

      • Notify Fed Ex that they are not knocking…they are supposed to. I had that problem with UPS and after letting them know, they starting knocking.

        Good luck with the biking!

  4. Happy to hear that you found your bike! Good luck assembling it 🙂

    Also great tip, I need to work on that more!


Leave a Reply

