Back On The Saddle Saturday

This is about how I spent Friday. I was exhausted and totally out of energy.  I said I was going to take 2 of the next 3 days off so I decided to take Friday off. No bike riding. I’ll get back on the saddle later today.

323/195.7/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Chicken and onions

Lunch – Tuna fish with bacon

Dinner – Double burger patties with salad.

Snack – String cheese

Calories – 1300

OMG! The tuna fish was so good compared to those eggs. I have a little bacon left over so I will use that up while the avocados ripen. Yum! So glad I stopped eating those nasty eggs.

I was really feeling run down yesterday.  Probably more than I have in the last year. Could be the diet and exercise or could be I’m about to get sick.  I decided to add a few more calories to the menu. It was probably a little over 1300. I was definitely feeling better in the evening with more calories and no bike for the day.

I would certainly be feeling much better if I could fill a nice mug like this one with steaming hot community dark roast. 😦

Someone remind me why I gave up coffee for Lent at the same time I started exercising when I was already on a restrictive diet. 😀

Oh well only a 1000 days to go before I can fire up the coffee maker. I need to mark the date on my calendar.

Well, I may not be as small as that fellow but I have finally said good-bye to the 40s.

Picked up a pair of size 38 shorts today and I probably could squeeze into a 36 if I had to.

I’m not sure when the last time I was able to fit in a 38. Probably early high school. The bike riding is going to help slim me down more.  I only bought one pair of the 38s because I don’t intend to be here for long.

Wow! Clothes sure are much cheaper for the normal weight crowd. Only $8.00 for a pair of jeans shorts. It is so nice to be able to walk into most stores and find something to wear after 20 years at the big and tall store.

I’ve been going to Ferrara’s Big & Tall in Metairie, Louisiana forever. I’ll give those guys a nice shout out because I went in there last month just to have them measure me for my shirt size and the owner Big Al, gave me two really nice leather jackets of his that he could no longer fit in. Thanks Al.

Tip Of The Day


Hermit Mode

You don’t have to move out into the middle of nowhere like the fellow to the left but I think hermit to semi-hermit mode is very important for a successful diet, especially at the beginning of a diet.

If you are out with friends at a bar drinking beer and eating cheese fries your diet never really started and being around friends drinking beer and eating cheese fries is going to make you miserable. Plus those friends will continue to coax you into having a beer until you finally relent.

Early on, you should stick to your home and skip social engagements at all cost. Not everyone agrees with this step but missing your social life for a finite period of time is well worth the end results.

Going out to dinner with friends is just as bad as bad as going out for drinks. Until you have a full head of steam going, it is sheer folly to head out to dinner with friends. You may be able to have one good night out but the continued temptation can simply be too much for the average person.

This doesn’t mean you need to hide up in your home and board up the windows. It just means you need to limit the number of times you go out. For the last year, I’ve kept it to no more than once or twice a month. Yes it has been boring but I would rather be bored 1 year and drop 126 pounds than go out and still weigh 323.

Use your head. You know which social events you should skip and which ones you can withstand.  Make sure all your friends know about the diet so maybe they will be willing to head to healthier restaurants or have healthier food when you go to a dinner party. Also throw your own dinner party with healthier food.

The main point is that you need to avoid situations with massive temptation. I know It can’t always be done. There are some events you can’t get out of. You just need to muster all your energy and willpower at those times.

If you only go out on rare occasions like me, you can even have a treat from time to time.  My dad is taking me out to lunch for my birthday on Monday and I will eat just like I normally would. I’m not going to pick a salad. I can do that because I haven’t cheated in over a month. So the rare cheat is okay as long as it is rare.

Pick your moments to enjoy your social life but once again, if it is early in your diet you should hunker down in the bunker.

Enough ramblings from me for the day. Happy Dieting and see you guys tomorrow with my latest woes from the bike trail. 😀

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/19/back-on-the-saddle-saturday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I found I could still be social if I went out of my way to make plans that didn’t involve food. My friends understood once I explained and we’d go to the movies and they wouldn’t buy anything to eat. We’d get two bottles of water and go watch the movie. Or go to a baseball game and, again, just have water at the game. I still got to enjoy the company of my friends, but I didn’t put myself in a situation to fail. Thankfully, I have some fabulous friends who want to see me succeed!

    I still had a semi-hermit existence at the beginning, but I’m also an introvert so I’m not sure how much more of a hermit I was than normal. 🙂

    • The movies can be a bit risky for some people. The smell of butter permeates the air. One giant box of popcorn can ruin the day. I think I went back last May when my diet was still new and I talked myself into having some popcorn.

      I definitely wouldn’t make it at a baseball game with the hot dogs, nachos, candy, peanuts and other things. Heck most ball games now have tons of horrific options to tempt you with. Some people may be strong enough but do they want to test fate to see if they are.

      As I said, you don’t have to hide forever, just limit the times out early on until you have more control over your temptations.

      Having friends willing to tone things down like you have definitely can make things easier. You just need to watch out because sometimes there might be a friend that is a little jealous of your weight loss and they might keep asking if you want a bite of the funnel cake. 😀

      • Go someplace with food you hate? Ask them to smother their food with something they love that you detest? That works for me… if we go to a sushi restaurant, I’m way okay. I don’t eat fish bate. Not on principle, on taste. Yuck! Or, if someone orders food with onions I’m cured. There is no way I’ll take a taste. I DE-TEST onions! I loathe, abhor, hate, detest… whatever adjective suits. Blech. No temptations to taste, though.

      • It’s funny. After a year of dieting, there are MANY foods that in the past I would never think of eating but now I salivate over them. About the only restaurant food I couldn’t stand to eat or watch people eat would be big huge piles of broccoli.

        I too don’t like sushi but the place my friends like to go to has plenty of cooked and fried meats and fish to go along with the Sushi. I actually looked on the menu a few weeks ago and noticed there were plenty of options that I would love to devour that were unhealthy.

        I can’t wait for Monday for my postponed birthday lunch with my dad. I will not be worrying about calories that day. 😀

  2. Great work man, keep it up 🙂

  3. You are such an inspiration!


Leave a Reply

