Tremulous Tuesday

I am a little nervous about my weight in today. I was already up about a pound yesterday and yesterday I went out with my dad for my birthday lunch. As I have said before, when I am out on special occasions I don’t force myself to behave. I allow myself to have a nice treat guilt free.

It has been about a month since my last treat so I was chomping at the bit. Off we went to my favorite Mexican restaurant for fajitas. They were fantastic. Also split the basket of chips and salsa with my dad.  So the number is probably not going to be friendly. Lots of calories and even more sodium will probably cause a pop up.

BREAKING NEWS! My stupid browser crashed and I just lost a giant paragraph and have no memory of what I wrote. What if it was figured out the meaning of life in that paragraph??? Oh wait no, it was just about me being nervous and afraid to head over to the mean evil scale.

323/198.4/185  Ouch!

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Tuna fish with avocado

Lunch – Massive fajitas fest and chips with salsa and bean dip. 😛

Dinner – None

Snacks – String Cheese

Calories – Approx 2000

It could have been worse but it also could have been better. I should have kept my hand out of the chip basket, but O how I love thee, salty snack.

Oh well, a little brush off and back to work.

Bike Update

So I woke up at 6:30am on Monday with the plan to hit the bike before my lunch with dad. I figured once I had lunch I would be too bloated to hit the bike.

So I got out my bike helmet and sunglasses, put them on and ….. oh no……what’s happening……. I realized I had not grabbed my bike helmet and glasses. I had in fact grabbed……

Somehow it went from 6am to ten minute of 6pm.  Somehow I was in my sisters apartment asleep on her couch. (ran by to get a few things for her. She is fine now)

I got back to my place at about 6pm and was all ready to toss in the towel. No way I can muster forces to get out on the road at this point. I’m still half asleep and my heart isn’t in it.

Then I thought about you guys and gals and how you would feel reading that I had let you down.

I kid. I know you wouldn’t have been upset. 😛

I still didn’t want to slink back onto the internet with my tail between my legs and report I missed a bike ride after my day off.

So off I trudged down the stairs. I rode the first 2.5 miles on the road then cut over to the levee because I knew I would have a tail wind home.

I actually felt a little stronger yesterday. Not sure if that was the extra food or some newly built stamina. Possibly both.

5 Mile Ride

Tip Of The Day

What to do after a real bad eating day? Well first off, don’t use this as an excuse to quit. I’ve jumped 3 pounds up so far this week. In the past that would be frustrating enough for me to use it as an excuse to quit.

The logic being, I’ve cheated and gained weight so this is too hard so I should just quit. Been there, done that, wrote the book, sold the movie rights, attended the Broadway show. 😀

Back around July, I almost did quit. I had an especially bad week and hit Taco Bell like 4 times. My diet was crumbling all around me as I reached for my keys to hit taco bell a 5th time but somehow I said enough is enough and stopped myself.

And I started over. Lots of water to flush out all the sodium from the binge.  And then I simply started over again. You just pick yourself up from the ground, brush yourself off and start over.

After my big gain this morning, I’ve already had about 32 ounces of water. I’ll simply go back to my normal meal plan and exercise routine. In a few days, that evil weight gain will be gone.

Thin people aren’t thin because they never eat food that is bad for them. They are thin because after eating those bad meals, they then make up for it the rest of the week by watching what they eat ( a mini-diet).

We just need to learn to have fewer bad days and more moderation in our lives. Yeah, I know. Easier said than done. 😀

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

 

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/tremulous-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Do not let your weight increase get you down, muscle weights more than fat, the increase may be from the bike riding.

    • Thanks.

      I know it is just water and muscle building but still hate the evil scale some days.

  2. You are wonderful! Thank you, I needed that reminder to dust myself off and keep going! I am usually a trooper but the past week or so could have left me on the floor of my local Safeway store stuffing bagels in my mouth and slurping their milk out of the carton…
    ; )

  3. LOL, I totally get doing it for the readers b/c I do it too! Blogging is great accountability, isn’t it? Well, the good news is that you’re still under 200! To me, it’s a win that you were able to gain 3 lbs and still not go over 200! You’re kicking some butt and I know your weight will go down as you pee off the sodium. 🙂 I’m at that turning point right now, where I went off the weight loss wagon and am getting back on, so thanks for today’s tip–it’s especially appropriate for me right now. ❤

    • Climb back up on that wagon. The seat is still warm. 😀

      • hehehe, you’re right! I’m back on it and it’s been easy since I didn’t let myself stay off too long. Thanks for your inspiration!

  4. Dieting is like driving around town. If you run a stop sign, do you tell yourself, “well, I’ve already run one stop sign today, I may as well run all the rest of the stop signs”? No, you stop running stop signs after the first. This is what I tell myself when I MUST eat chocolate.

    Good for you for getting on the bike, even though.

    And I like how you’re using the internet as a tool to keep you on track. That was my thinking when I started my blog.

    • Great analogy. This blog definitely keeps me accountable which is why I set it up. 😀

  5. Great tip, when we make mistakes we just need to start over 🙂

  6. It’s okay if you didn’t lose weight this week. Don’t forget, you’re biking more and some of it could be muscle weight. It’s a trade off, but a good one. Just keep plodding along.

    As for dinner out with your dad… who cares? Once I’m back on real food, my family is celebrating a delayed birthday for me and I make no apologies for what I will eat. You only get one birthday a year. It’s okay to fudge the plan that day.

  7. You definitely haven’t let us down. You inspire us by staying motivated, even after you’ve had a difficult week. I can just hope to be able to do five mile rides some day – I’m working my way up to it.


Leave a Reply

