No Weight Loss Wednesday

Mr. Evil scale is not playing nice. After a big meal and gain, I usually drop some weight the next day. Nope not this time. It’s all sticking to me.

323/198.4/185 😦

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Tuna fish with avocado.

Lunch – Chicken with onions

Dinner – Hamburger patty with salad

Snack – String cheese

Calories – 1250

I have been very happy with the tuna fish and avocado.  I’ve gone from hating breakfast to looking forward to breakfast now that I have removed those eggs from the equation.

Hmmm…….seems I have to actually take my own advice here. I know I didn’t gain 3 pounds this week from eating. I certainly didn’t have a 10,000 calorie surplus so the gain has to be water or muscle gain.

I’ve told people countless times that muscle gain is fantastic and nothing to be frustrated about….. I think they are snickering a bit with the shoe now on the my foot. 😀

I am happy enough with my slow bike progress to somewhat offset the grumpiness of my gain this week.

Biking Update

5 Miles.

Once again woke up early to get outside on the bike and one again Mr. Procrastination showed up to convince me everything else was far more important.

Once again, I hit the road at about the last-minute possible to get home before dark.

It has been just about 2 weeks since I started riding and I think I am feeling a bit stronger on the bike. There was some wind down on the road but I didn’t have to drop down to the lowest gear like I was doing the first week. The ride back to the apartment I had the bike in 6th gear the whole way which was a first. So I definitely am getting a bit stronger, thus the stinky weight gain.

When I get frustrated I just need to pull out the pictures and check this out.

 

Before

 

 


This was back in June of 2007.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this was in February of this year. So anytime I get a little extra grumpy because of the evil scale I can just take a look at the before after shots.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tip Of The Day

Water.

This is right up there at the top of the golden rules of weight loss.  You must drink lots of water.

I know some people think that drinking too much water will lead to water gain bloating but nope. The more you drink, the less stressed your body is and the less water your body will actually retain. When your body thinks there is a  drought because you aren’t drinking enough, then your body holds on to more water. So drinking plenty of water lets your body know there is an ample supply.

Water is needed to flush out all of the daily toxins we put in our bodies. After high sodium days it helps to drink a little extra to speed up the process of removing the excess sodium.

And finally being completely hydrated helps the actual fat burning process. If you aren’t properly hydrated, it is more difficult for your body to burn fat.

If you hate water, join the team. I’ve never been a big fan of water but I drink between 64 and 128 ounces a day.

I actually make my lunch and dinner EXTRA spicy to help me drink water.

Only problem is that after a year of eating lots of cayenne pepper, I seem to be immune. It did however help me get lots of water down in the early days of my diet.

 

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

 

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/no-weight-loss-wednesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Grumpyman,
    Been a little busy lately and haven’t been blogging much either but I check your blog out, I really enjoy it.
    I keep telling myself as long as I am doing the right things it will all even out. It has too. If it is muscle gain then you can look forward to even more fat burning, right?
    Hang in there, you’re doing fantastic and I’m happy the tuna and avocado is working out 😉

  2. Sorry about the lack of loss … I know that is hard! I am impressed with how far you have come and how much you have lost. I needed to lose 105 pounds to get where I want to be … little more than half left.

    You keep that Riding up and it will pay off for you in great body shape … even if you weigh more! I know it has my hubby! Biker bodies Rock … well … mine doesn’t … yet. 😉 It will though … soon! 🙂

  3. Ooooh, that dirty rat scale! But at least that extra muscle will help you burn more calories throughout the day! Great before and after pics–such an incredible difference!

  4. water is a great tip! I would bet the weight is water or muscle 🙂


Leave a Reply

