TestyThursday

Doesn’t look like the gain was water weight or it would have been flushed out by now. So I guess it was muscle combined with a real gain.

I was expecting the scale to be back down around my low by now, but it is refusing to head much lower which has me firmly in my normal frame of mind. 😀

323/197.8/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Tuna fish, hard-boiled egg, avocados

Lunch – Chicken with onions

Dinner – Hamburger patty with salad and cheese slice

Snack – String cheese and hard-boiled egg

Calories – 1300

I still have some eggs to get rid of so I hard-boiled them and will use them up with the tuna or in my salads. Once out, I am done with eggs. We are no longer friends.

Need to make more chicken in the crock pot today or tomorrow. No bay leaves this time and half the water I used last time.  I am thrilled to be done with that watery bay leaf soup.

Bike Update

No update since yesterday was Wednesday. Until further notice I take Wednesday and Sunday off from any form of exercise.

I think I may try to add a bit of length to my ride today which I will embark on as soon as I finish this post. Hmmm, wonder if I can keep typing for the next 9 hours. 😀

Tip Of The Day

I’m short on time today so here’s a simple tip. Read labels. You need to know what you are putting in your body. I see people all the time that are not losing weight and don’t know why, yet they just guesstimate what they are eating instead of KNOWING the calories in what they are eating.

Read your labels and find out restaurant nutritional information online BEFORE going to  a restaurant if possible.

You would be shocked to see some of the high calorie salads or grilled chicken dishes that some restaurants have on their menus. Just because something sounds healthy doesn’t mean it is actually healthy.

Soup companies have been promoting soup as ultra healthy for years and years even though each can is nothing more than a sodium bomb unless it is the low sodium version.

Read labels. Take the time to actually study everything you eat.  I think in many cases where people can’t lose any weight they simply are taking in more calories than they thought.  Heck, I probably do that sometimes. I’ve become a tad lazy breaking out the teaspoon and tablespoon.

Just make sure you know the caloric impact of everything you eat so pick up those reading glasses if you need to and read all the labels. I bet some of you will be shocked by the amount of sodium you put in your body each day.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/24/testythursday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I feel your pain! I thought most of my 10 pound gain had to be water, but I’ve only managed to lose two pounds after my healthy reformation. I really did eat like a pig, I just didn’t think I ate THAT much. Ah well. You live you learn. In your case, at least you have muscle to be thankful for! Woot!

  2. I love your tip about reading labels. It has really helped me in my weight loss journey. I also almost always try to check the nutrition information for restaurants before I go, if I know where I’m going. Chicken with Vegetables listed on the menu could actually have horrific calorie, sodium, and fat counts if I’m not careful. It pays to read the label! Plus usually the restaurant servings are much larger than a “real” serving.

    Hope you have a great Friday!

    • So true about the size. In most cases you usually get a double breast when ordering chicken and the veggies aren’t always cooked in the most health conscious manner.

      You have a great weekend too.

  3. I had the same sort of issue with no loss when I started strength training. I was putting on so much muscle that I was negating any actual loss. It will all balance out and of course all that new muscle is going to burn more calories.

    Keep up the great work. At 1200 calories, minus what you burn riding, you will continue to shed the pounds and reach your goal in now time.

    • Thanks. I know the muscle gain drill. It is just so darn frustrating. 😀

      I know I am healthier and better off but I still want to toss the scale over the balcony. 😛

  4. Reading labels is something I do all the time. It is so weird to see all the added sugar to stuff that doesn’t need it. All the forms of sugar as well. Just finding a brand of pickles what doesn’t have corn syrup in it took my five jars! I just started walking so my scale has not moved at all either. So with muscle growth, they are sore, from the new activity I’m not seeing anything. I hope that changes soon. I did take some measurements so I can compare inches lost in a month. Also how clothes at fitting is a good way to notice body changes. But I’m share your PAIN! I still want those scale numbers to GO DOWN! 8)

    • I probably should take some measurements so I can see them slimming down a bit and not worry as much about the evil scale.


Leave a Reply

