TGIF!!!

Uh oh. Seems we might be back in that horrible place dieters find themselves from time to time.   Plateausville!

Even if I am putting on muscle while losing weight it is still starting to feel like my old nemesis the plateau. Plateaus are common on longer diets and they probably are one of the top reasons most people end up quitting their diet. There are many theories on how to break through a plateau but at the end of the day it comes down to your resolve to wait the sucker out until in breaks.

323/197.5/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Tuna fish with avocados

Lunch – None

Dinner – Brisket with salad

Snack – None

Calories – 1350

I ran out of time for lunch yesterday and couldn’t get to it. I decided to pick up some brisket from Hillbilly BBQ, no sauce.  I’m sure the rub they use had higher than normal sodium so once again I might have held on to excess water but, I had very little sodium the rest of the day so I don’t think the excess from the brisket did anything.

Biking Update

Road Marker 320 – 6.4 Miles

I headed back up to the levee because from all appearances  my good friend the flag told me the wind wasn’t too bad plus I hate riding on the street.

The way out, there was some wind but nothing I couldn’t handle. As I said I was going to do, I extended my ride from road marker 290 to 320. I was feeling pretty good and probably could have gone a little further but I noticed some guy headed the other way and he was struggling on his bike.

He looked fit and had a fancy bike, what could he be struggling with or should I say against…….

The angry wind monster. It really is amazing how I don’t feel a bit of wind at my back but the second I turn around it feels like a hurricane. 😦

So there I was 3.2 miles from home, my longest distance to date and I had to head back into a nasty headwind.

Amazingly enough, I was able to get all the way home with no stops and I didn’t need to drop to the lowest gears. It still nearly killed me, but I am seeing progress in the stamina department which is good news.

I took a little time out on the stairs before carrying the bike up because I was too worn out to head up to the apartment.

I may have set the bar too high yesterday. Repeating the 6.4 mile ride will be a bit hard. Where is a good rainy day when I need one to get out of my ride? 😛

Tip Of The Day

Plateaus! They sure stink and cause most people to quit. How do you get through  a plateau? Be sure to post a comment and let me know and let others know how you get through several days or longer with no loss.

Over the last year, I have handled them differently.  I have just kept going on without making any changes, I have had a massive calorie shock, I have changed my diet and I have increased exercise.

I had several people tell me about the calorie shock. Essentially you eat about 3000 calories to fool your body into thinking the famine is over. I have no idea if this works or if it is an excuse to pig out.  I tried this twice and both times I gained weight. By the time I lost that new weight, I probably would have broken through the plateau anyway.  I haven’t used this method in months because I feel it was just an excuse for me to pig out.

There is some logic behind it, but I am not sure 1 meal would really shock your system back into normal behavior. Seems to me your body would just store every last calorie it could because it would think you got lucky with one good meal during the famine.

Breaking a plateau just takes tons of patience which could be in very short supply when we are already cranky and grumpy from being on our diets.

That is why it is so important you have an outlet to vent frustration, like a blog or a weight loss forum or friends. Weight loss forums and blogs are better suited for venting because the people there have the same frustrations.

Since I am probably putting on some muscle I am not sure this is a true plateau, but I think if it looks and feels like a plateau, it is one. Even if it is a muscle gain plateau it is still aggravating the dickens out of me . 😀

Be sure to let me know how you deal with these stinkers.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/25/527/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You definitely have the right idea in waiting it out, as it will pass. If you know you are exercising suffciently and eating the calories needed for weight loss, it’ll come. They do say changing your workout a bit (i.e., if riding an exercise bike try the elliptical for a couple of weeks; if doing aerobics, try Zumba). They say the change in exercise and motion for your body, even if at the same calorie burn does cause a bit of a metabolism change and should knockout the plateau. I’m on a bit of a plateau now (though I’ve lost 176 pounds and I’m only 4 pounds from a healthy BMI) and I’ve decided to do the P90X workout. Not sure it will rev up my weight loss for those pesky 4 pounds but it certainly increased my exercise motivation, as I love it. If nothing else, I’ve lost an inch or so and I feel great, so that number on the scale isn’t such a big deal. Good luck!

    • Wow. 176 pounds. That is fantastic. Congratulation on nearing a healthy BMI! 😀

  2. You were very encouraging to me when I was super-frustrated with a lack of weight loss. I’d like to encourage you, but you seem to not need it. You have a great perspective on things. So I’ll just say “Way to walk the walk!”

    • Ha! 😀

      Thanks.

      I know I had zero muscle in my legs from years of inactivity so I know it is just muscle coming back. Still want to kick the scale. 😀

  3. LOL–I know what you mean about the wind on your back vs. front. I don’t ride a bike, but even just with walking and running it’s harder to do it against the wind. As for plateus, I have no advice. I almost always gain weight when I hit a plateu b/c I’ve always given up before breaking through it. The logical part of my brain tells me that just sticking with it will get you through. I have heard about eating more for a few days, but it was more like 500 calories more than usual. 3,000 seems extreme.

    • Well, the theory is you need to convince your body there is no food shortage so 500 probably wouldn’t do much. Each time I did it, I gained a pound or two but I didn’t eat healthy food. I used the calorie splurge on fast food. In truth when I got back to the plateau weight I broke through, but I mights have busted through the plateau without the calorie shock with the extra days it took to lose the weight I gained.

  4. Yeah, that makes sense. We just need to persevere! BTW, I saw your comment on my food blog and you prompted me to post a delicious low-carb recipe I’ve been hanging onto: http://reciperhapsody.wordpress.com/2011/03/25/chicken-in-basil-cream/ It’s so good!

  5. Well I think a true stall last about 6 weeks, so maybe it just a body on hold? Trying to see if they need to let the weight go or just hang on to it for a few more days. Also when your empty-ing out fat cell they fill with water first and then they let go of the water and you will get a whoosh. “Whoosh Fairy” as I like to call her. lol
    Have you ever tried IF? Itermediate Fasting? (sorry spelling) That helps me break a stall. I have also done a 24 to 36 hour fast just to rest my body, just flush it with my coffee, black, and water. This seems to really helps when I’m holding onto water weight. You could always try this on one of your resting days if not sure about exercise on a empty stomach. Just a thought.

  6. I would suggest keep doing what you’re doing eating wise and up the exercise. When I plateaued the first time I upped from running 1.5 miles straight to 3 miles straight. Very hard but it pushed my body right on through the plateau!

    • I’m already upped about as far as I can up it. I’m out of energy when I am done. At some point I may add a few more exercises into my routine but for now It is a struggle just getting my bike ride done. 😛


Leave a Reply

