Scared Saturday!

I’ve already had a bit of a rough eating week with the Mexican pig out and a little too much brisket. Now I have another outing I can’t skip. Hopefully I will focus on the sensible options on the menu but my willpower has a few cracks at the moment.

No, not that many cracks. ๐Ÿ˜€

I have had a tougher time keeping my calories where I want them but I am sure the 6 mile bike rides are revving up my hunger a bit.

Tonight could be rough though because I have been craving pasta for about oh I don’t know, A YEAR!!! So there is a good chance we will hit an Italian spot for dinner.

323/196.8/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Brisket

Lunch – Brisket with salad

Dinner – Hamburger with salad

Snack – Wasabi peas

Calories – 1500

The brisket was insanely good but ย a little higher in calories than I normally eat. I also couldn’t keep my hands away from the wasabi peas. Those things are a bit dangerous for me to have in the house although I guess I should be happy I’ve had the can for about 45 days and it is still half full. Hey, look at that, I must be an optimist I said half-full, not half-empty. ๐Ÿ˜€

Biking Update

I knew things were going to be rough on the levee yesterday because the blinds in my apartment were flapping about from the wind blowing through the open windows.

No sneakiness by the flag. It was definitely indicating a strong head wind on the ride out.

The good news is that I didn’t need to drop into the lowest gear and I didn’t need to take a break. So in 2 weeks, I’ve definitely seen some improvement.

Road Marker 320 – 6.4 Miles

Tip Of The Day

What to do when you feel your willpower cracking?

Heck if I know. If I had a great tip for this I would have my own line of books, tv shows and guest spots on Oprah and Dr. Phil. ๐Ÿ˜€

Maybe even a Grumpy Man: The Movie in 3-D!

There are no magic bullets when that desire and willpower take a bit of a dive. It happens to everyone. You reach that point where you have nothing left in the tank.

This is another point where lots of people just toss in the towel for good.

They should look at it another way. We don’t take a vacation from work and then toss in the towel on work, even though we may want to. ๐Ÿ˜€ย We have a nice vacation then feeling refreshed, we head back to work.

If you are at the breaking point and feel like tossing in the towel then take a little vacation from the diet. ย I do mean little. Any prolonged vacation will cause you to toss in the towel. So make it a very short break to recharge the batteries.ย Treat yourself to your favorite meal and take a day or two off from exercise.

One way I have avoided getting to this point of cracking is to periodically give myself a nice dinner out. As I have said before, when I started the diet, I told myself I could eat normally on holidays, birthdays and at least once a month with friends. This keeps the mental batteries charged as well as keeping your body from thinking a famine has started.

But, I try to keep that to once or twice a month. Normally I wouldn’t be too concerned with dinner tonight but I just don’t like having 2 dinners out in one week when I normally only like to have to cheats max in one month.

If you feel more like a socialite than a hermit, you are probably going out too much. ๐Ÿ˜€

You just need to be really careful that the occasional rare treat doesn’t become a normal regular happening. If you can walk that tight rope successfully, then you won’t have to worry too much about cracks forming in the diet.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/scared-saturday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Isn’t it funny how going out and having a nice time with friends/family can cause such anxiety. Since I’ve been counting calories and really trying to loose weight going out causes me heartburn before I even eat anything. I try to look up the nutrional values before I go which helps but makes my husband want to make me sit at another table when I whip them out at the table. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I don’t stress too much because I know whatever I gain I will just lose again. BUT, I am in a race to 185 with a much younger super fit bike rider and I don’t want to lose the 4 pound lead I have on him. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. It is hard to maintain motivation. I ask myself continually why I decided to lose weight. It has become habit fortunately as I have incorporated small habits that are healthier into my life that now feel natural. Keep up the great work ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

