Tired and Sore Tuesday

I’m tired today. Tired because I couldn’t fall asleep last night. My energy cycle seems to be all wonky. I have no energy during the day then it kicks on at 1am and I can’t sleep. 😦

Don’t think I feel asleep until about 5am.

I’m also tired of the stupid scale sitting on 199.

323/199/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Chicken with onions

Lunch – Tuna fish with avocados and salad

Dinner – Hamburger patty, slice of cheese and salad

Snack – String cheese

Calories – 1200

Biking Update

I was definitely worried that I would use the bike repair as an excuse to miss a few days of riding so I wasted no time in forcing myself to work on the bike.

Actually, the repair was easy. Just loosened a bolt and the thingamabob popped back in place on its own. Then I just had to tighten the bolt back up.  Repair time was a total of 2 minutes.

The wind was tricky again. I thought I had a head wind but that was just some random swirling wind. I actually had a tail wind which made the ride home a real pain. My legs are still feeling it today.

Road Marker 350 – 7.2 miles

Tip Of The Day

Don’t over do it. Don’t push too hard too fast. This can be a fine line to walk because you need to push yourself some to see some improvement but if you push too hard, you can end up burned out and miserable which leads to the end of your diet and workout plans.

If you combine workout burnout with plateau frustration then  you have the perfect storm for quitting.

So, you need to keep yourself from getting burned out. If you are exhausted from a workout on the previous day, then simply take a day off. Don’t push yourself to total exhaustion. Or have a light workout day. Just be careful that if you take a day off, it doesn’t stretch to more than one day. As I said, it is a fine line to walk. Teeter to far to one side and you burn out and teeter to far to the other side and you get used to taking the day off.

I have two off days scheduled each week, but if one day I am simply too tired to hit the bike, I have no problem just taking an extra day off.

Just remember, if those batteries are on empty, give them an extra day to recharge.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/03/29/tired-and-sore-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sleep advice from a person with sleep issues:
    If your sleep cycle is out of wack, go to your local store and pick up a bottle of Melatonin. Take one around 5pm if you want to sleep around 9pm (this is not a sleep aid), Melatonin helps promote the body’s natural sleep rhythm.

    That is the sound advice my sleep doc gave to me and my son for our sleep problems. If this does not work we will all show up in sheep suits and take turns hopping over your bed and you can count…
    : )

    • Thanks for the tip. I’ll check some out next time I am at the store.

  2. I also heard melatonin works well! My personal favorite is Simply Sleep – it’s got the same stuff that’s in Tylenol PMs, but without the Tylenol. I’ve also been having weird sleep issues lately. Ever since Day Light Savings hit a couple weeks ago I’m all wacky.

    And 199 lbs is awesome!! Keep up the good work! 🙂

  3. You may still be at 199, but it’s still down from yesterday! Small victories are still a victory! 🙂

    • .2 is pretty small as victories go. 😛

      • And yet it is still a victory 😉 I understand the sleep issues well, I have finally started getting a sleep schedule worked out myself 🙂

  4. The WSJ recently had an excellent article about the connection between lack of sleep and weight gain. I know for myself that the most weight I lose is during my sleep. Even if you take sleep medication, you have to get some sleep.

    I know it is hard right now getting stuck on a number, but from what I am reading your exercise level has to be building muscle. Muscle weighs more than fat, so my thought is you are losing fat but gaining muscle. Relax, get some sleep, and realize that they weight will come down it just may take a while as you build up your muscle mass.


Leave a Reply

