All Good Things Must Come To An End…

It is with great sadness that I announce the end of  the Grumpy Man’s Guide To Losing Weight and Keeping it off.

It has been lots of fun spending time with all of you but unfortunately I have been spending too much time on here when I need to exert my energies elsewhere.

I’ve also hit a few too many road bumps lately and I need a break from dieting, exercise and the whole blog lifestyle.

I will always treasure my time here and all of the great friends I made.  I wish all of you the best and hope you all reach your goals and achieve your wildest dreams……

The

Grumpy

Man

.

.

Message below

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Hehehehehe! The Grumpy Man doesn’t play fair. Why on Earth would I hit you guys and gals with an April Fools prank on April Fools when you might be expecting it? I don’t roll that way. 😛

Happy 2nd Day of April Fools.

323/199.1/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Tuna fish with avocados and mushrooms and peppers

Lunch – Chicken with salad

Dinner – Hamburger with mushrooms and peppers and salad

Snack – None

Calories – 1250

Wow. No wonder rotisserie chickens taste so good. Checked out the nutritional info and they have about 700 mgs of sodium per serving and each serving is slightly more than one piece.  I cleaned out my sister’s fridge since she isn’t home yet and grabbed a chicken that was in there.  Tasted great but way too much sodium.  No wonder it tasted so much better than my crock pot chicken.

She also had lots of peppers and mushrooms that needed to be cooked immediately so I did.  Alas the avocados were past their expiration and all grey on the inside.

Even with the shrums and peppers I was under my Atkins limit and those shrums and peppers made everything taste great.

Biking Update

When I got my bike the first goal was to get to the Huey P. Long Bridge.  At the time I got the bike I figured that would be a piece of cake. Easy peasy. Not a problem.

Then of course came the harsh realization that I was really out of shape and of course my near death experience taking a tumble before even getting out of the gate of my apartment complex made the thought of getting to the bridge seem near impossible. 😀

Thar she blows. As usual my cheap MP3 player takes pictures like I am on a Martian landscape, but there is the Huey P Long.

Here is a slightly better shot underneath the Huey.

And there is a picture of the route.

I hit my longest spot at around 8 miles and decided that I felt pretty good. It appeared that there was no wind so I kept going and I kept getting closer so I kept going further…. until I was past the Huey.

I hopped off the bike to take a little rest and it was at that point that I felt it…..the wind. Of course I felt great the whole way there.  I had the wind pushing me along from the southwest blowing northeast.  So for that nice long stretch, I was wind aided and now I needed to head back into the maw of evil.

That wind was just brutal. I stayed in 6th gear most of the way but my legs were not happy and after about 10.6 miles my keister was even more angry. So I took a little break to give my legs a rest and laid out on the grass to get a little sun.

That’s when these guys showed up.

Ok….ok….ok…. they weren’t army ants and it wasn’t a swarm, but something nailed my arm twice so back on the bike I went for the final mile.

Road Marker 460 – 11.6 miles

Tip Of The Day

When you finally decide to add exercise to your diet routine, make sure you add something that you like to do.

I was miserable walking back in September and October. I hate walking! Simple truth. Can’t stand it.  Every second from the point I woke up each morning I dreaded my daily walk.  I also had trouble keeping a pace that would actually get my heart working.

In two months I really didn’t see much improvement because I was probably walking too slow.

Cold weather stopped the walking experiment and once things looked like they were warming up, the new and much better exercise routine started with the bike.

I no longer dread my exercise routine, not to say I look forward to it, but I don’t dread it like I did walking.

Find something you like to do. Swimming, jogging, walking, biking, whatever. If you don’t like it, you will not stick to it. So find something you can at least tolerate.

Oh and get yourself an MP3 player if you don’t have one yet. I am not sure how I lived so long without one. It definitely helps keep your mind occupied so you aren’t just stressing out over the DARN WIND! 😛

Have a great weekend and hope the prank didn’t scare you too badly. 😛

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

The Grumpy Man


The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/04/02/all-good-things-must-come-to-an-end/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Does anyone have a portable AED to jump start my heart? I nearly began writing some long heartfelt “No Mr. Grumpy Man, please, please don’t go, I need you!” letter. Yeah, you got me before my prevacid had a chance to kick in this morning and now the stomach acid, from the stress of your make believe close down, nearly ate my tongue off. I now swpeak a wittle fummy but hey, you had yow fum wight?
    *sticks whats left of tongue out at Grumpy Man
    : )

  2. haha you terrified me there for a second! I’m glad you’re still here 🙂


Leave a Reply

