Monday Monday!

It has been one of those weekends. Between unemployment stress, diet stress, family emergency stress, financial stress,and general life stress, I am a bit stressed out at the moment. 😀

323/197.3/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Tuna fish with avocados

Lunch – Chicken with onions

Dinner – Hamburger patty, mushrooms, peppers, cheese slice and salad

Snack – None

Calories – 1200

My dad wasn’t doing too good yesterday so off to the emergency room he went. They weren’t sure what was wrong so they decided to keep him overnight and will be running various tests today.

Leaving the hospital, I definitely had a bit of a stress eating binge sneaking into the back of my mind.

Images of Popeyes chicken started dancing in my head. My brain kept telling me, it’s just chicken. Chicken is good for you. Nothing unhealthy about fried chicken, a biscuit and some red beans & rice.

Luckily for me, I have been on this diet long enough to know the perils of stress eating. I’ve given in to stress eating many times over the last year, but the longer the diet lasts, the better you get at pinpointing stress eating and avoiding it.

Tip Of The Day

I read a blog this weekend that discussed the issue of “Am I really hungry” which ties into my stressful eating problem.

We do need to take back control of our eating habits from our bodies. Eating Popeyes yesterday would have changed nothing. It would have been 5 minutes of pleasure followed by guilt and possible weight gain which would then cause anger and frustration. And my dad would still be in the hospital and all of life’s other pains would still be hanging around.

 

Nope. A candy bar won’t make you feel better. It will send some pleasure signals to your brain for about 45 seconds and then BOOM! Guilt will take over followed by his pals Anger and Frustration.

So we really need to ask ourself if we are really hungry before eating and then we need to make the right choices and bypass Popeyes and the snickers bar at the checkout counter.

We also need to stop eating dinner by the TV and munching on snacks by the computer. We have done this for so long there is an actual built-in Pavlovian response that when we sit on the couch or sit at the computer our brain immediately sends out signals for food, even if we are not hungry.  Simply because our brains have been trained to think we are hungry anytime we are near a TV or computer.

You need to ask yourself if you are really hungry or if it is stress or a trained reaction that is giving you the signal to eat. Then you need to react accordingly which is of course easier said than done.  If I had the perfect stress relief tips then I would put them in a book and be as rich as this guy.

Biking Update

No riding yesterday because of the trip to the emergency room. Not sure if I will be able to hit the levee today or not. I will try but I may be back up at the hospital soon.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.


 

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/monday-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very sorry to here about your dad! Kudos to you for not reaching for the Popeyes chicken at such a stressful time! I often times need to remind myself that the 5 minutes of pleasure that I seek is so not worth the weeks of guilt and anger that I feel toward myself….thanks for this post!

    Beth

  2. Sorry about your father. My most recent road to ruin began when my father was in his last six months of life – between trips to the emergency room, hosting relatives come to say goodbye, skipping meals to take care of him and then being so ravenous I would have eaten a shoe, but I settled for KFC Chicken and an M&M shake! That was also when I quit walking regularly. Now four years later I’m struggling to take it off, take it off, take it all off! If you don’t give in to Popeyes I’ll try not to give in to KFC!

    Abbie

    • I did spend about 5 minutes today drooling over the popeyes coupons in my mailbox but I tossed them in the trash. 😀

  3. You are strong in this trying time. I agree with your sentiments… snacking under stress is not the solution. Best wishes. Keep on going!
    -Nanette

  4. So sorry to hear about your dad, keep being strong 🙂


Leave a Reply

