Flat Tire Wednesday

Who knew getting healthy would be so aggravating. 😀

The fates did not want me riding my bike yesterday. Right out the door, things went wrong. My headphones on my mp3 player broke. That really stinks because that music really helps distract me from the pain and exhaustion, but I persevered and headed for the levee.

I didn’t ride Sunday and I had a short ride Monday so I wanted to have a good long ride Tuesday because Wednesday is my day off. So off into the blue I rode, with the wind apparently at my back. That was also not good because that meant the ride home would be against the wind.

I made it to Road Marker 470 about 6 miles away without a hitch. Turned around and my spirits dropped a bit as the howling winds started pounding me on the way back.

About 3 miles from home I decided to take a little rest so I got off the bike and took a little break. When I was ready to go I hopped back on the bike and noticed a wee tiny HUGE PROBLEM. The front tire was flat. 😦

I walked about half a mile to the main road and I had thoughts of walking the bike home, but a 3 mile walk after a 9 mile  ride wasn’t going to work with my legs.  I called my Mom to come bail me out of trouble and sat on a bench in front of Charlie’s Seafood.

Big mistake.  OMG! The smell of fried seafood being cooked inside almost sent me into a cookie monster transformation……

I was absolutely famished by the time my good Samaritans showed up to cart my bike home. My brain was having serious fried food cravings for a few hours after sitting outside of that seafood place for  half an hour.

So, here I am today with a flat tire. Not sure how I proceed from this point. I guess I’ll check to see if I can spot a reason for the flat.

That picture is not my tire. No nails or obvious reasons for the flat anywhere.

Then I’ll decide if I want to bring it in to be fixed or get a flat tire kit and fix it myself.

It might take me a few days to get this mess sorted out. Who knew it was so aggravating to lose weight….. 😛

323/196.4/185

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Chicken and onions

Lunch – Tuna fish with avocados

Dinner – Hamburger, green peppers, cheese slice, spinach salad

Snack – None

Calories – 1200

I’m sick of the chicken. It just isn’t working for me right now. Perfect timing as I think I have one day left.

I’m thinking of moving off Induction for a bit and just staying fairly low carb. I think I will add red beans and sausage to the meal plan for the next 10 days when my current food stores run out in a couple of days.

The only problem with red beans and sausage is that it is very hard to keep to my portion control when I make them. 😀

Tip Of The Day

This tip is for people just starting out or people who still have a large amount of weight to lose.

TAKE PLENTY OF BEFORE PHOTOS. Take pictures from multiple angles and take a whole bunch in some tight-fitting clothes.

Why? Because once you lose weight you can start to compare the photos. This is a HUGE motivational tool that I wish I had used when I started my diet. The before photos might be a tad depressing at the start but once you start losing inches and pounds, it really helps you when you look at those photos and see the slimmer you.

Anytime you starting wavering with your willpower you can pull out those pictures and see where you came from and where you are now and hopefully that can give you the boost necessary to stop you from backsliding.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

 

The Grumpy Man


The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/04/06/flat-tire-wednesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sorry about your flat tire. I completely agree with the beginning photos, I wish I would have taken more. I was too embarrassed to allow anyone to take very many shots of me and sadly I am in very few family pics. : ( The pics that I do have are an incredible modivational tool for me. When I am having a rough day, I take a look at where I was, and I then feel really good about all that I have accomplished. 😀

    You are an incredible inspiration and I thank you for being here!

  2. Don’t let the flat tire flatten you! As a motivation for getting it fixed – quickly – tell yourself that you’ll have to walk if you can’t ride! That should get the tire fixed!

  3. Too bad that’s not your tire up there. That’s a really cool square-headed nail! And I urge you to take the bike into a shop. There’s a knack to that whole fix a flat thing and having a professional show it to you the first time will save you TONS of aggravation down the road. And you might think about some Mr. Tuffys (http://mrtuffy.com). They protect your tube from all sorts of road garbage. Indispensable in my world, aka Land of Goat’s Head Thorns.

    Good luck


Leave a Reply

