Tired Contentment Tuesday

Biking Update

I actually was able to fix the back brakes to 100% yesterday! Yay me! The front brakes not so much but I didn’t have much time to fix them. I procrastinated yesterday and then I ran up to the hospital to see my dad.

When I came home, I really thought about using a few dark clouds as an excuse not to ride my bike. There was about a 30% chance of rain and with those dark clouds, I was all set to skip my ride.

Then I saw all your sad little faces in my head and you guilted me into heading back up to the levee. πŸ˜›

Now I know I complain about the wind. So much so that I have probably lost 72% of my readers because they are tired of me complaining about wind but…. the wind yesterday was insane. Β Steady 15 to 20 mph with gusts up to 25.

The tail wind going out was so strong that I felt good enough to blow past my previous record distance by almost a mile. Β I knew it was going to be bad when I turned around because all of the flags, trees and wind socks were anchored upright and in the direction I was riding.

Turning around was hell.

I felt like I had slipped into this guy’s realm for most of the ride home, but eventually I made it back home. Tired but quite contented with the effort.

Road Marker 510 – 13.4 miles

5 heart attacks out of 5 on the Wind Scale.

There would literally have to be a massive storm or tropical depression for the wind to have been any stronger. πŸ˜€

Aquarium Update

Blue II has been renamed to Bluto. Bluto appears to be doing just fine. He is definitely much stronger than the night I brought him home. He zips all around the tank now constantly looking for food.

Weight Statistics

323/196.6/185

It sure would be nice if just one darn time after a long difficult ride, I could LOSE WEIGHT!!! 😦

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Red beans and sausage

Lunch – Hamburger, cheese slice and spinach salad

Dinner – Tuna with avocados

Snack – Small sample of step-dad’s red beans.

Calories – 1200

I’m loving the red beans and sausage and so far I have been able to keep my portions under control which sometimes I can’t when I make them.

My sodium intake is slightly higher but only slightly.

Tip Of The Day

Friendly competition. On another forum I am racing someone to 185. We were both at about the same weight when we started the competition and we had the same goal so we decided to race to 185.

Unfortunately for about the last month we have both been stalled. Well, unfortunately for me that I have been stalled and good thing he did too or he would have crushed me.

I was way up on him for a while and then I started riding the bike which keeps replacing lost fat with muscle thus I can’t seem to lose anything on the scale. He too rides a bike but he REALLY rides a bike with races and stuff. Β So he is in MUCH better shape than me.

Try to find someone to be your weight loss competition. The friendly competition can help keep you interested and motivated to keep moving forward with your goals.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/04/12/tired-contentment-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well done on going out when you really didn’t want to, it always feels better afterwards doesn’t it.

  2. I’m so proud of you for going out there and making that bike ride happen. It’s all in about pushing yourself to the limit. So congrats on accomplishing that this week. I’m sorry to hear about your dad as well, I hope he has a speedy recovery.

    http://anubianqueen.wordpress.com

  3. Wow – I am so impressed with your commitment! Especially when other things in life are not going to great – I wish your dad a speedy recovery – my mum has been in hospital with a broken foot and ankle 😦 with your weight stalling – it will catch up! You have done so amazingly well! Keep up the good work xxx

    • Thank you. My dad is out but they are still running tests to figure out what is wrong. Hope you mum gets out soon.

  4. My competition are the other folks in my program… they just don’t know it! πŸ™‚

    Beth

    • Ha! It is more fun if they know it. Well as long as the race is close or you are winning. πŸ˜›

      I’ve fallen behind on my race, but hopefully my plateau is broken and I can move down some before the next one.


Leave a Reply

