Too Many Carbs Thursday

I’ve been eating too many carbs. Maybe not as many as the guy up there but as usual I’ve been eating too  many beans. Anytime I make these darn things, I start out eating the correct portion and then I slip up and start eating more than one portion.

I’ve moved from half a cup to a cup and a half which is way too many carbs. So once this meal plan is used up, I’m back to chicken and I will be back to Atkins induction.

I took my own advice and analyzed my diet and I do think I am taking in way too many carbs to be in ketosis so I am not truly low carbing enough at the moment.

I have now been stuck in a weight range between 195 and 199 for about a month. It has been so long since I had a downward trend I bet some of you are starting to wonder if I have a clue what I’m talking about when it comes to weight loss. 😀

I know I have put some muscle on from the bike riding but at what point does that extra muscle start to burn extra fat like everyone keeps telling me? 😀

Weight Statistics

323/196.2/185

Yesterday’s Mean Plan

Breakfast – Red beans and sausage

Lunch – Hamburger, cheese slice, beans and spinach

Dinner – Tuna with avocados

Snack – Wasabi peas

Calories – 1350

Too many carbs.  Too many portions of beans and the wasabi peas didn’t help either.  All those carbs are keeping me from moving down on the scale.

Biking Update

None. Blissful, peaceful day off from the daily windstorm on the levee. I’m going to head up there today as soon as I finish this update.

Tip Of The Day

There is a light at the end of the tunnel. No matter how much weight you have to lose, there is a beginning and an end to that darkness that is the diet once you reach your goal.

The same can be said of plateaus. They will eventually break as long as you keep doing what you need to be doing which is eating the right foods and keeping a deficit caloric intake along with getting a little exercise.  Eventually you will get to the end of the tunnel and back out into the light.

Some people have a long way to go and they can barely see the light as anything more than a speck off in the distance but even then you need to realize there is and ending. You won’t be on the diet forever.  Yes, your lifestyle needs to change for good if you want to keep it off but the darkness of the calorie deficit portion of your life will come to an end.

When I started out, it seemed pretty hopeless since I needed to lose more than 100 pounds but I just told myself I would give it a year and see what happens. In the over all scheme of a lifetime, one year really isn’t that big of a deal , especially since I allowed myself to eat normal on holidays, special events and a few times here and there with friends.

Here I sit nearing my goal with the bright light all around me. It can be done. Just take one day at a time.  Don’t worry about that far off future date, just get through today eating the best you can and moving around a little more.

No matter how frustrated you get, it is always better to keep plugging away and moving forward than backtracking and going back to your old ways. There is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow


 

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/04/14/too-many-carbs-thursday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I had to laugh at the cartoon of the scale in the garbage because I did actually throw away my scale yesterday! (it was an old one that stopped working and was beyond repair)

    • Mine would be so lucky to make it to the garbage. I would like to toss mine off the 3rd story balcony of my apartment and watch it shatter into a millions pieces on the parking lot below. 😀

      • LOL!

  2. I was wondering what the deal was with the beans. Throw those bad boys away!

    I’m really glad I stumbled across your blog. It makes me realize that it CAN be done.

    • I add beans to my meal plan cause they are cheap and I love em. Plus they are good for you unless you are doing Atkins or low carb. With only half a cup, I can still be near induction levels of carbs, but the problem is keeping my portions under control.

      I figure 10 more days and I’ll have beans out of my system and I’ll be ready to go back to chicken.

  3. Good luck going back to induction!!

    • I’ve postponed that for another 10 days. Then I’ll get back into induction. Just not ready for more chicken.


Leave a Reply

