Finally!!!

After almost a month, yes a stinking month, I have finally broken through my low point to a new low. ( Picture should be Orson Welles clapping. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. Not sure why it always works in the new post screen but almost never works once posted)

323/194.8/185

Took me long enough. Hopefully I can drop a few pounds before I run into my next plateau. My race with Cad to 185 is not going very well. He was also stalled out during the last month but he is down to 193. So  I have my work cut out to catch him.  He races a lot so his weight fluctuates when he eats and when he bikes.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Red beans and sausage

Lunch – Hamburger patty, slice of cheese and spinach salad

Dinner – Tuna and avocados with spinach

Snack – String cheese

Calories – 1200

I was able to stick to normal portions yesterday. From now on when I am on the red beans meal plan, I need to keep any excess beans frozen. That way I have to thaw them out and take a few extra steps to cheat.

I will probably stick to the beans for 10 more days then move back into Atkins. I’m just not ready to add chicken back onto the menu.

Biking Update

My engine was totally out of steam yesterday. Early in the day I procrastinated once again dreaming and praying for the storm clouds to actually release some rain so I could give you guys and gals an excuse. But alas no rain.

Around 4pm I was working on something in the apartment and 4pm somehow turned into 6:30pm. Uh oh!  I was out of time if I was going to ride so I ran out of the house without my sunglasses (bug protectors) and I hit the levee.

The wind was god awful as usual but the real problem was I just had no steam in the tank. I was spent. My plan was to make the ride short but I just keep plugging away and soon I was at the 5 mile turnaround spot.

Woe is me, I was already tired but I was not ready for that wind. It literally was blowing hard enough to move the bike around a bit. I moved the bike into lower gear and crawled for the 2 miles back to where the levee curves out of the headwind.

I was exhausted when I got back, but at least I got my 10 miles in.

Road Marker 430 – 10 miles

Tip Of The Day

The enemy. Yup, coca cola is evil. All sweet sugary drinks are evil. Maybe in moderation they aren’t too bad although I did just read a long article on the Times that said all sugar was actually poison. Not just bad for you but outright poison.

If you want to lose weight and get healthier, you need to take all the sugary sweet drinks out of your life and never let them back in. They are nothing more than wasted calories that help those pounds get packed on.

Believe me, it can be done. I was a SERIOUS coca cola addict. Loved the stuff. I drank it all the time. At least 2 to 3 a day. Heck I switched to the cheaper brands just so I could drink more each day. Loved the vanilla coke. Hey, lets take a coke rip off and make it even sweeter with vanilla. 😛

Water is your friend. Ice tea and coffee can be your friend although some people don’t like the caffeine, but the alternative is worse so I have no problem with some nice green tea or coffee.

Fruit juices are high in sugar so I would avoid those too. Diet sodas are okay as an alternative but there are still unhealthy chemicals in diet sodas but once again, it is better than drinking a regular soda.

Just stay away from regular sodas as if they were the bubonic plague.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

The Grumpy Man


The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/04/16/finally/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like a congratz are in order for you. I’m so happy for you. I’m sure that you’ll continue to move in the right direction and surpass your friend and his challenge. I honestly think that you’ll lose more than the goal that you’re trying to reach. Just hang in there you’re almost at the finish line. I know you can do it. You’ve come so far in your weight loss journey. You have something to be proud of. Wow I’m so happy for you right now,that I actually wish that I could throw you a party.

    • Thanks! My current goal is 185 but once I get there I plan to get to 175 and then maintain at 175.

  2. Hey, really great blog post… I’ve enjoyed reading through your blog because of the great style and energy you put into each post. I actually run AceHealth.org, a blog of my personal research and experiences. If you’re interested, I would love to have you on as a guest blogger. Please send me an e-mail: bob.mauer65(at)gmail(dot)com, and I can give you more information. Looking forward to hearing from you.


Leave a Reply

