Happy Monday

What a nice way to start off the week. I had a nice dip in the weight from yesterday so I get to start Evil Monday with some happy news.

Weight Statistics

323/193.6/185

I might have pulled back into the lead in the race with Cad to 185. He had a bad Saturday and ate like a 12 thighs from KFC. πŸ˜€

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Red beans and sausage

Lunch – Hamburger with cheese slice and spinach

Dinner – Tuna with avocados

Snack – String cheese

Calories – 1200

I forgot about some beans and sausage in the freezer so I have 3 more days of this meal plan before heading back into induction. Probably won’t hit the store until Wednesday maybe even Thursday.

Woot! Woot! Woot! Less than a week until I can once again jump all over my coffee pot. I will never ever never never ever ever never give up coffee again for lent. Next year it will be broccoli or brusel sprouts. πŸ˜›

Biking Update

Okay, okay, okay….. it wasn’t a mountain range but I did reach a new long distance on the levee yesterday. Good to get my long distance ride out-of-the-way on the first day of the week so I can take it easy with just 10 miles a day the rest of the week.

The wind was crazy on the ride out but somewhat easier on the way back in.

I am getting more and more grumpy over people zipping past me like I am not even moving. It is one thing when it is some young biker stud or studette on their fancy schmancy racing bike.

It is entirely another thing when it is someone 200 pounds heavier than me and in the 90s on the same type of bike I am riding. Β πŸ˜›

When am I going to get more endurance? At least I will get Β a bit of an energy boost once I start drinking coffee again next week. πŸ˜€

Road Marker 540 – 14.5 miles


Tip Of The Day

This cartoon says it all. On a diet we need to learn to be patient. We need tons and tons of patience. Β We didn’t gain the weight overnight so it is going to take some time for it to drop off.

You will experience plateau after plateau so learning to be patient is key to managing the frustrations of a diet. Easier said than done, I know.

You need to set realistic goals to keep the frustration away. When you do hit those horrible plateaus, you need to vent some frustration with weight loss buddies, forums and blogs. Share your frustration with people who are having similar frustrations. In the end, you really do need to be patient. It took years for most of us to gain all the weight we need to lose so it is going to be journey to remove that weight.

Just try to be patient and understand that it will take time, but there is that light at the end of the tunnel. Yeah, I know, I say this all the time, but it is true and it is important. Managing frustration and being patient are two of the biggest keys to success in a long-term diet.

Have a great week, Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

The Grumpy Man


The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/04/18/happy-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh my Goodness this is such wonderful news. This is like music to my ears. See I told you that you beat your friend in your competition. How I feel like celebrating your success. So to you sir I say congrats honey because you deserve it.

    Thanks for sharing this most wonderful and exciting news!

  2. Yea!! Grumpy!! Congrats on breaking your plateau and on your distance ride.

    Just a word of encouragement about the bike riding. It gets easier and easier to go further and faster as you … Just do it as Nike sez. Just because their bikes look similar to yours (unless they are exact) they could be made of a MUCH lighter material and have better gears. These things Make a HUGE difference.

    When Mike and I first started riding bikes we started with cruisers at the beach. We had a blast but were worn out fairly quickly … still we pressed on. When we got back home we borrow our daughter and son-in-laws mountain bikes and they were SO MUCH faster and nicer to ride. That had us hooked, and we went to the bike shop and got our own. We paid more than wally world, but what we go was far beyond our children’s bike than we could have even imagined.

    Mike and I did an adventure race tri. He ran, I rode 16.5 miles and then we both rowed a canoe. For this race we purchased me an italian Cervelo. The difference in that bike and our others was like a VW Bug and a Porsche — completely amazing. I could beat Mike with little to no effort.

    So … Don’t beat yourself up … they may have better and faster bikes. You are kickin’ it! =D

    • Thanks. I needed to hear that. πŸ˜€

    • I did finally pass someone yesterday in the howling wind storm. Of course he was probably 92 years old but at least he didn’t pass me. πŸ˜›

      • Yea Grumpy!! hey … just cuz they are old don’t mean a thing. Bikers are bikers and sometimes they are quite old. Which gives me a LOT of hope. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

