Another Tuesday

I am busy most of the day so this one is going to be short and probably not too sweet. ๐Ÿ˜€

Weight Statistics

323/189.5/185

Nice to see the weight gain from Sunday gone and I hit another low. I need to hit the store today and I am thinking I will stick with the same meal plan because I have been losing weight on it.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Red beans and sausage

Lunch – Hamburger, cheese slice, salad

Dinner – Tuna and avocados

Snack – Red beans

Calories – 1500

That is a little higher on the calorie count than I normally want to be. I mowed down a whole avocado instead of half with the tuna.

Biking Update

Sunday’s effort was dismal so I was really in the mood to get my long ride of the week out-of-the-way. ย The wind was nasty as usual on the first 3 miles but once it stopped blowing directly in my face things eased up a bit and I hit a new long distance.

Road Marker 570 – 15.2 miles

Tip Of The Day/Rant Special Edition

I got in an online tussle once again last night. Some idiot wanted to tell me how I was doing everything wrong and my advice was hurting people.

For 25 years I combined strenuous exercise with diet and for 25 years I failed. I would always eventually burn out because I did too much at one time and I simply couldn’t take it.

The argument started because someone was telling a 350 pound man that he needed to be walking 3 to 5 miles a day. ๐Ÿ˜›

Right! I would burn out now walking 3 miles a day.

Yes, exercise with diet is the best for your body but most people go overboard just like we do with eating and after 2 months they quit. Not everyone, but most people. So I think it is better to tackle the weight issue with diet alone and then when you have a serious head of steam behind you, then you can SLOWLY add some exercise.

Doctors,ย dietitiansย and health nuts have been forcing us to exercise and diet through all time and yet 99.9% of people quit. So maybe the steps to lose weight and get healthier need to be re-evaluated.

Which is better? Losing 133 pounds and then adding exercise or starting out with exercise, losing 25 pounds, then gaining it all back when you burn out.

Every person is different and in truth if you can keep your exercise to small amounts I have no problem with it early on, but we never seem to do things in moderation.

Heck, our metabolism burns most of the calories we consume. Unless you are doing a seriously insane workout, you really don’t add many calories to you daily burn by working out.

Will you be healthier yes. Could it lead to burnout? Yes.

So don’t push yourself too hard until you know you can take the additional mental pressure. I am sticking with that and I will preach it from the mountain tops.

The idiot told me I dug myself a hole by waiting so long to add exercise. What the heck does that even mean? I guess 133 pounds is not good enough. He must think I should have lost 175. ๐Ÿ˜€

Exercise if you feel you must, but keep it manageable. Keep it slow. Don’t go overboard and burn out.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/05/03/another-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. John your an inspiration to me, I have struggled with weight for several years. I enjoy your efforts and sharing your journey.

  2. I cannot believe someone can see that you’ve lost over 100 pounds and have the nerve to say you’re doing it wrong…seriously…I made a note about you in my latest blog saying that you are really doing it, making it happen. I’m glad that you know that that guy has no idea about what the right way for you to do things are, thank goodness that you do. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I can’t believe anyone would tell you that you are doing it wrong. To me, you are doing everything right. You are very inspiring and have found a plan that works for you. On my down days, I wish I had your dedication!

  4. Tell that dude to lay off! What you are doing is clearly working and don’t let anyone lead you astray from what’s working for you!

  5. Well, Grumpy, you are right the guy is an idiot. I love exercise — I love working out a LOT. I don’t burn out. But as soon as the let me add it back in I have stopped losing.

    They realize that I might have to cut back. In fact my Doc made me QUIT exercising and I lost the most when I did NOTHING. I just get so stiff in my joints that I can barely move if I am not active. I just have to take the intensity down a notch. =PPPP

    I will probably have to cut mine WAY back. I hate it. I want to play and play hard, but my body freaks out and goes into storage mode. So … for three weeks I have barely lost since I started working hard again. I am about to cut it off, because I want to get to goal before taxing my brain to death trying to figure how much more food I have to consume to loose.

    So ignore the dummies and keep on keepin’ on … You are Tha Man! That’s just my two cents.


Leave a Reply

