Danger Zone

Danger! Danger! Danger! This weekend is going to be a bit of a minefield. I am going out to dinner tonight and then I have mother’s day tomorrow. Not sure I have the will power to make it through this minefield unscathed.

I have had almost zero fried food in the last year. I’ve had French Fries 2 times in the last year and fried stuffed shrimp once. The shrimp was spoiled so I only ate the fries. That is it. I used to have fried food all of the time, fries probably multiple times a week.

So I am craving fried seafood big time. Real big time. Super huge big time. Going to try to behave but it might be time to hit up a seafood platter and just get it out-of-the-way for the next year. 😀

I would post a picture of a giant seafood platter but that wouldn’t be helpful to any of us. 😛

My brain is rejecting the above picture. My brain wants nothing to do with salad or grilled foods. My brain is shouting out for fried food.

This guys appears to be trying to wrest control of my eating habits tonight. Be sure to check back tomorrow to see how things went. 😛

Weight Statistics

323/188.4/185

The phantom weight gain disappeared. Nice. Now I just need to do everything humanly possible to behave tonight. Short of handcuffs, I am not sure how I am going to make it.

Biking Update

What a difference the wind makes.  The wind was almost nonexistent for the first time since I started riding up on the levee. I had a pretty easy 10 miles ride. Lots of people up on the levee the last few days because the river is rising.

It won’t be that bad for us, but the folks up north have been hammered by rising waters of the mighty Mississippi. Down here, it is only up a few feet so far but the gawkers have been out in full force taking pictures and walking about the levee.

 Road Marker 410 – 10 miles

Tip Of The Day

Given my current state of mind, it is best to remember that one bad outing is not the end. If you do break down, NEVER use that as an excuse to toss in the towel. Been there done that. You need to just brush off the dirt and grime and get back up on that horse.

Dietary lapses will happen. Just make them few and far between and then get right back to work. 😀

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow and have a great weekend and Mother’s Day.


The Grumpy Man


The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/05/07/danger-zone/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sorry, I had to laugh because I saw the picture of the salad and grilled chicken and thought “mmm, that looks good” even though I have a salad just about every day! I guess it all depends on your viewpoint!
    Be strong! Or better yet, give yourself what you want, but make it a half order or share with others so you can satisfy yourself, but not overeat or binge.

  2. Please. Send. Salad.

    I read someplace that eating what you shouldn’t should be like driving. What if you ran a stop sign? Would you spend the rest of the day running stop signs because you’d already ruined your perfect stop sign record? No, you’d stop at just the one stop sign.

    Good luck, but don’t beat yourself up if the stop signs just fall like dominos. You’ll just have to do more bike rides to make up for it. In the wind…

    • Actually when it comes to diets, I don’t believe in the red light/ stop sign analogy.

      I think we should treat ourselves to something decadent from time to time. The hard part for most of us is learning to make those times RARE. If we outlaw them completely, then we have almost no chance of sticking to it. If we know we can have them from time to time, it is easier to stick to our guns.

      The hard part is learning moderation when most of us with weight problems tend to do nothing in moderation. It can be learned but it takes some serious hard work rewiring our habits. 😀

      Have a great week.


Leave a Reply

