Out Of Gas!

Biking Update

I didn’t ride Monday because of the wind and then yesterday afternoon as I was headed out the door to ride my bike, my stomach said no and kept me occupied until the evening, so I did not ride Monday or Tuesday.

Feeling a bit guilty I decided to make it up a bit with a longer than normal ride today. I already did a long ride for the week which was 20 miles, so I initially planned on going to the bridge which is about 12 miles.

Once I got the bridge, I kept riding. One thing led to the next thing and all of a sudden I was at the 10 mile mark.  Thank God there wasn’t much wind today because I had ZERO energy on the way back.  At the 15 mile mark, I pulled over and listened to tunes for a while. Usually this gives my body time to catch up, but not today. Today my body wanted a nap and I might have taken one had it not been for the ants deciding to attack me from all directions.

Back on the bike I crawled the last 5 miles home. I’m so exhausted that I sit here in my chair typing this up dying of thirst but I simply don’t have the energy to head to the kitchen to get something to drink……

Ok….. I didn’t want my little friend over at Leaner Me chastising me for dying of dehydration so I just chugged 16 ounces of cold green tea and I have 32 ounces of ice water next to me now. So I am well on the way to being fully hydrated again.

Just a warning. After the 20 mile ride I may skip tomorrow. I’ll see how my legs feel but my hammys are sore as heck right now so tomorrow they will probably be very angry with me.

Estimated Road Marker 660 – 20 Miles

Weight Statistics

323/182.1/173

The weight keeps tumbling down. The combination of Atkins and bike riding is really causing the weight to evaporate. This doesn’t always happen. I’ve been in and out of induction several times in the las 14 months.  When I first started the diet, I had a big loss. Around September, I had a pretty big loss over a 2 week period.  This time I have dropped about 10 pounds in 8 days. 😀

The other times the weight loss was gradual and nothing like the 3 I mentioned above.

I imagine the loss is about to stabilize and maybe even plateau a bit. If not, I could be reaching my final destination much sooner than expected. 😀

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Chicken salad with coleslaw

Lunch – Hamburger patty with coleslaw

Dinner – Tuna and avocados

Snack – String Cheese

Calories – 1100

As I mentioned before, Wal-mart doesn’t currently have their normal baby spinach and the salad offerings looked horrible so I went with the coleslaw. A nice change of pace after eating spinach for a year.

Joyful News Of The Day

Coffee is good for you to drink!!!

One cup cuts blood pressure, two stave off dementia… and six reduce your skin cancer risk – the GOOD news about coffee! 

Drinking cup after cup of coffee could more than halve the odds of developing a deadly prostate tumour, research suggests. 

A 20-year study of almost 50,000 men found those who drank at least six cups a day were 20 per cent less likely to get prostate cancer than those who never touched the stuff. 


Strikingly, they were 60 per cent less likely than the non-coffee drinkers to die of the disease 

The report was published in the May 17 online edition of the Journal of the National Cancer Institute.

Tip Of The Day

Drink coffee! Ha! Okay, I’ll think of something else.

Drink green tea! Ha! Okay, I’ll think of something else.

Hmmm, I might be on to something here. Those are two beverages that can actually benefit a person on a diet. Did you know there are some foods that actually burn more calories in digestion than they offer? Thus you can’t gain weight eating them.

MYTH BUSTED!!! Not true.  Don’t get fooled by the trendy Negative Calorie diets. Yes there are some foods that are mostly water with fiber (onions, celery, lettuce, cucumber, etc.) but the calories burned to digest those foods is not higher than the calories within the food. Plus the nutritional info already takes into account that 10% of the calories will be burned by digestion.

Not sure how this fad/myth started but it originally listed mostly vegetables but then moved on to add citrus fruits such as grapefruit and oranges along with straw berries and water melon. How they convinced people that all that sugar in fruit somehow netted a negative caloric intake is beyond me.

I guess this tip is about doing your due diligence.  Before you try out a new diet, make sure you have fully investigated it. And yes, make sure you read some of the negative articles to see both sides of the coin.

The first two articles I pulled up were Pro negative caloric intake articles. Then all the rest destroyed the myth.  So be careful when choosing your diet plan and make sure you have all the necessary facts.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow, maybe 😛

 The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/05/18/out-of-gas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow… you are the incredible shrinking man!

    • Yup, that’s me. Hope I can keep it up at this pace for a bit longer and I’ll reach my final goal and be able to work on maintenance. That is going to be interesting to see how that works as I add a few banned foods back into the rotation.

  2. Way to keep at it!! 😀


Leave a Reply

