Wrong Way Monday

Weight Statistics

323/183.2/173

The scale has been moving in the wrong direction lately. I’m surprised by the move up today. I was expecting a drop down but got another bump up. Monday already makes me grumpy by just being Monday so a phantom weight gain + Monday equals an even grumpier grumpy man.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Chicken salad

Lunch – Hamburger patty, cheese slice, coleslaw

Dinner – Tuna with avocados and coleslaw

Snack – String cheese

Calories – 1200

Back to my regular calories for the day, so the phantom weight gain has me befuddled.

Biking Update

All the crowds on the levee are bugging state officials and they have now closed the levee to onlookers. Doubtful this will be enforced, but they have closed the levee to anyone but the levee police force and government officials. I wish I could use this as an excuse not to ride but from my ride yesterday, it appears at the moment they aren’t even trying to enforce the closure.

What a seriously stupid thing to do. How exactly are people walking on the levee doing more damage than government vehicles going up and down the levee all day? Heck, even though I have been complaining about the gawkers, it is not like there are thick crowds of them.  I guess one could argue they make the government vehicles slow from 5 mph to 4 mph. 😛

Maybe they will post some signs telling people to stay off the levee until further notice and I can use that as an excuse to skip a day here and there. The rain sure hasn’t given me any days off.  two and a half months of bike riding and we still haven’t had a full day of rain or even a good late afternoon thunder-storm that I could use as an excuse to skip a ride.

Blah blah blah, wind, yadda yadda yadda. 😛

Yes, the wind wrecked me as usual on the first 3 miles then the rest wasn’t so bad.

Road Marker 410 – 10 miles

Tip Of The Day

Grumpy days can be tough. If one is in a foul temper one might be tempted to shift their mood by heading over to the Chinese buffet for lunch. 😀

Of course this is not the correct solution.  Hitting the buffet would only give me temporary pleasure followed by guilt and even more anger when I step on the scale tomorrow and it explodes.  It just isn’t worth it.

If the scale is not moving in the right direction then you need to analyze your food diary to see what might be causing the gain. If you can’t find anything wrong with your food intake then there can be numerous other factors contributing to the gain.

I might be putting on more muscle in my legs from the bike riding. Muscle is heavier than fat so even as I burn fat I could still be gaining weight from increased muscle in my legs.

My body could be shifting the amount of water I retain. I might not be properly hydrated so my body might have freaked out and held onto all the water I drank last night.

You need to learn to shrug off phantom weight gains. Once you have checked your food log and determined that your caloric deficit should have the scale moving downwards, then there isn’t much you can do so don’t beat yourself up for something not under your control..

Just keep working hard and eventually that scale will move back downwards.  Don’t use a grumpy mood as an excuse to cheat.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/wrong-way-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Great tip, have to keep moving forward no matter what the scale says!


Leave a Reply

