Troubled Tuesday

I’m having lots of trouble lately. Trouble getting motivated to ride. Trouble staying motivated on the diet. Trouble sticking to the diet. I seem to be famished 100% of the time. Not sure what to do about that. I’m eating what I normally eat and yet I seem to be hungry all of the time.

I am also having a real tough time forcing myself out on the bike. I’ve been thinking about adding another skip day so that would mean 4 days riding and 3 days resting but that seems like I would be cheating. What next, 3 days a week?

I’m also a tad grumpier than normal due to computer problems. My computer was a malware mess earlier. It took me most of the morning and early afternoon to get all the root kits and malware removed from my computer.  Everything seems to be running fine at the moment.

Tip Of The Day

No tip today. Today I want your to give me some advice. How do you get your motivation back when it wavers?

Biking Update

None. I didn’t ride on Monday. I just couldn’t get the energy and motivation to head out into the wind. It was going crazy out there yesterday. It looked like the flag was going to rip of the pole and fly away. Nope. Just couldn’t muster the energy to  marshal the forces.

I really need to get out there today but so far I haven’t found the energy to hit that hate-filled wind monster of a levee.

Weight Statistics

323/182.7/173

At least I started going down again so the phantom climb up has stopped. I am going out to lunch on Thursday and I don’t plan on behaving so the drop may be short lived.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Chicken salad

Lunch – Hamburger patty, cheese slice, coleslaw

Dinner – Tuna with avocados

Snack – String cheese, avocado and slaw

Calories – 1350

Empty. The fridge is empty. I have no choice but to head to the store when I am done with this blog. I am out of everything.  I’m sticking with chicken, hamburger and tuna as the main meals and sticking with induction.  I need to remember coffee and a water bottle.

I’m breaking one of my rules because I will be shopping hungry hopefully I don’t come home with a pizza and apple pie. 😀

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/05/24/troubled-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This has nothing to do with motivation just an idea that might help you with riding. When we lived in WA my husband biked everywhere when it was nice. When the weather was crappy he still wanted to ride so he bought a stand that basically held his bike in place, made it kind of a stationary bike, so he could ride indoors. Maybe you could try that on days when the wind is crazy or the weather is unbearable.

    • I’ll look into it. Nice idea. Thanks 😀

    • I have one of those too. One thought … can’t ride over an hour on those indoors, unless you have serious air and fans … you will over heat. They are great for keeping moving. 🙂

  2. When I’m feeling down and out I like to go on weight loss forums and read others’ success stories. The forums on BodyBuilding.com have a lot of great threads that are super encouraging.

    This thread leads to a lot of the best ones to read, and the thread itself is great:

    http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=116407641

    When there isn’t time for reading, sometimes I have to bait myself. “I’ll only do the beginning of the workout and if I don’t like it I’ll quit for today.”

    Typically getting started is the hardest. Once I can trick myself into starting, I rarely want to quit.

    You can do it!

    • Getting started is definitely the hard part. Once I am up on the levee it gets easier. It’s just that first darn step to get moving out of the house. 😀

      • On particularly bad days I’ll just tell myself I have to at least go stand outside for a few minutes. Sometimes even that is enough to get the ball rolling 🙂

      • With the heat starting to set in, standing outside could send my back inside for good. 😀

        I may need to start riding in the wee hours of the morning because pretty soon it is going to be 90 degrees at 7pm.

  3. Recently, I found an article which has saved me from overeating and a lack of motivation. I don’t know why it hit home for me, but it did.

    Here is the link:
    http://www.ponderlicious.com/ponderlicious_diet.html

    I look at it every morning as a constant reminder of what I need to do for the day. I hope it helps.

  4. The thing that motivates me most is staying healthy for my children but it doesn’t always work when the Blue Bell ice cream monkey is clawing the flesh off my back. You don’t have kids but maybe you can write down the most important reasons why you are losing this weight and read it over and over again. Nothing like a little Catholic guilt if you do cheat to keep you on the straight and narrow!

    • Grrrr. I was thinking of some blue bell ice cream sandwiches earlier. 😛

      I’ve cheated over the last 14 months but I haven’t had anything sweet in that period and with the heat picking up, I did think about some nice cool ice cream sandwiches. 😀

      If the blue bell monkey claws at my back and wins, I’m going to blame you. 😀

      The list is a good idea.

  5. You keep asking for advice. I have given it many times. I love reading your blog. Yours is one of the cutest and wittiest I have ever read. So, when you ask for advice, then delete my comments, why should I continue to read this blog? Do you only want praise for your ridiculously outstading 100+ pounds lost? You deserve it, yes, but so do others who haven’t lost quite so much. If you would prefer that I no longer comment here, then just say so. I am very DISAPPOINTED…right now…

    • You might want to calm down a bit. I did not delete your comment. If I have in the past, it was because it was listed by the site as spam. I’ve had a tip almost every day for 3 and 1/2 months. I am not sure how asking for advice today qualifies as “always” asking for advice.

      Once again if posts by you were deleted in the past it is because they linked to some fad diet site or they were listed as spam by wordpress. I don’t delete comments.

  6. You have been so successful. You have (or will)motivate hundreds of others. It is so hard to find a website or blog that doesn’t have old ladies giving diet and/or low carb advice that doesn’t bore you to death. When I found yours, I was so excited to read about someone who had a sense of humor about the whole weight loss issue! Damm, I thought “Yea, a kindred spirit!” You have such a gift of writing and expressing yourself. I would love to have that talent. Your blog will be successful for that very reason. You have already influenced and motivated others. You do not need advice. Your calling is to continue to advise and motivate others. I am so glad to have found your blog.

    • Thank you and sorry if any of your past comments were deleted. It would only have been deleted if it was blocked by the spam filter. I don’t delete comments.

  7. hard to give advice because not only are we in the same boat, we are sharing an oar! If it’s any help, your blog serves as a motivation for me and it’s nice to know that my hero is human.

    Is biking your ONLY exercise option? If so, perhaps a new route. Tie that bike to the car and go to a new location once a week!

    • I hate walking so biking is about my only option. I’ve tried the street but the roads near me are too crowded with cars and the wind wasn’t much better street level.

      I’m glad you like to see I am human. That is why I make sure I report the good and the bad to show I too make mistakes and want to pull my hair out most of the time. 😀

  8. For me I slow down any workouts, I give my body some rest, I try to get more sleep (I nap), I eat only lean proteins, when I am hungry I drink tons of water and some Diet Coke, and I give myself a treat (like tea with honey late at night or a warm glass of milk with Splenda).

    Hope this helps!

    From reading your blog for months now, one thing I have learned is that you lose a bunch of weight all in a row and then it stops and you stay at the same place for a long time — then you lose weight again. You may want to go back through your blogs and see if there is a common thread that starts the weight loss.

    • I knew I was due for a plateau. It is typical for me to lose a chunk then get stuck on a plateau for a week or two. Still frustrating even though I knew it was coming. 😀

      The lack of rain is really driving me crazy too. A few bad weather break days would be nice but since i started riding it has not rained. 3 stinking months with zero rain outs. 😛

      Would also be nice to have a day or two with little to no wind, but maybe that is just the normal weather pattern and I just never noticed how windy it is here.

  9. What advice do I give a man who has lost a 130 pounds when I have been stuck in the minus 60 range for six weeks? You are a machine. You have done amazing. I completely understand your funk. I think you have earned a funk or two. 😉

    I have a question or two for you. When was the last time you gave yourself a treat of something that you just LOVE? Not food. I think you have earned a treat. Not riding for this whole week would not be a “Cheat.” I know how you feel, but it would just be a break. If you had something that you just loved and wanted to do … that would be the thing to go do this week. I think you have earned an extra special treat!!

    That is all I can think of for a machine (hear a mexican voice say that) like yourself.

    Blessings man … I know you will be out of your funk in no time, because that is just who you are. Mr. 130 plus man! 🙂

  10. Hey, I wouldn’t be too worried about it! You have done a fantastic job! When I hit these funks where I don’t have motivation I recognize they are usually phases and I’ll be happy later if I just push through them and keep doing what has helped me to be successful so far. It sucks but it is worth it 🙂

    • I’m not too worried. I had a rapid drop there so I knew a plateau was on the way. Just been a little hungrier than normal and the heat down here is starting to kick in my extra grumpiness. 😀

      I’ll have a nice treat for lunch tomorrow and then I have a lunch on Saturday with my sister, so the extra calories should give me a little boost.


Leave a Reply

