Grumpy Man of Arabia

Biking Update

I woke up early yesterday but I couldn’t force myself outside until about 8:30 am. It was about 82 degrees when I headed out.  My plan was to ride 10 miles.

The wind was minimal but it was from a direction that seemed to hit me the whole ride.  At the 5 miles marker I decided to get a long ride in so I kept going. Big mistake.

Even though the temperature was in the 80s, the sun beating down on me was slowly cooking me.  By the time I hit the 10 mile mark I was hot and thirsty with no water bottle.

It was very slow going on the way home in the blistering sunlight.  Zero shade anywhere. At about the 17 mile mark I spotted some shade and headed off the levee to take a little break.  After a few minutes, three kids probably from age 6 to 12 came headed off the levee into my shade spot. They too were worn out.  I was happy to see the young kids were worn out on their 3 mile ride. 😀

Not sure they believed I had gone 17 miles. 😛

The last 3 miles were a struggle. My throat was  dry as a desert.

I was wobbly and weak when I got back to my apartment. Then I couldn’t get the stupid gate key to work so I had to ride around to the front entrance.  As usual, getting the bike up the stairs wore me down. Once in my apartment, I think I downed about 64 ounces of water in 2 minutes. 😀

Don’t worry, no more rides without a water bottle, I got one last night.

Weight Statistics

I was expecting a nice loss after Death Ride 2011, but not much movement with the scale. Grrrrr!

323/180.9/173

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Tuna and salad

Lunch – Tuna and salad

Dinner – Cheese and salad

Snack – String cheese, cheese, salad

Calories – 1200

I ran out of everything yesterday and after my near death ride 😛 I went to Wal-Mart to load up on supplies. I didn’t like the pork options so I’m giving chicken another try. I may broil it instead of using the crock pot.

Yes, I got a water bottle so I may drop from exhaustion but not thirst. 😛

Tip Of The Day

Cheats

For me there have been 2 types of cheats over my diet. Planned and unplanned cheats.

When I started this diet, I told myself it would not be 100% restrictive. I was going to eat whatever I wanted on Holidays and when I went to dinner with friends and family.  That did not mean I could go out every week.  I have been in semi-hermit mode for most of the diet. Avoiding temptation is a key to success so I have limited situations where I might cheat.

Many people advocate a planned cheat once a week. Some advocate an entire cheat day. Not me.  Four or five cheat meals can actually take you the whole month to take back off.  I try to keep it to no more than twice a month. I have had months with more, but I do try to keep it around two per month. It also does not mean you can go to the buffet and have 9 plates of food. Just have a nice regular meal.

Unplanned cheats are the bad ones. Those are moments when my brain goes all cookie monster and I become a food devouring machine.

Thanks to this blog, I am not sure I have had any real bad unplanned cheats since before February.  I can’t remember my last Taco Bell feast.  Taco Bell has been my worst offense over the last 15 months. It is the only fast food place that I have hit. I had Popeye’s once but that was at a dinner party at a relatives house. I think I hit the Chinese buffet once on my own and once with my sister but that was probably over a year ago.  As stated, Taco Bell has been my go to unplanned cheat.  I’ve probably hit Bell about 10 times in the last 15 months. 10 is much better than the 36 times I probably averaged in previous years.

I think my last big unplanned cheat was back on New Years Day when I cooked a giant pot of black-eyed peas and sausage with rice that was supposed to last me about 7 days and it lasted 2.

Last night was VERY close to an unplanned cheat. I was starved. I nearly pulled into Rally’s at the Wal-Mart, then I nearly pulled into Popeye’s on the way home but I knew I had a planned cheat scheduled for today so I pulled myself back from the brink.

I did eat 4 cheese slices, only 240 calories but 1000 mgs of sodium which is probably why I didn’t lose any real weight after my death ride.

Why cheat? It is a slippery slope but an important tool to use. If you know you can have a nice treat now and then, it makes it much easier to behave the rest of the time. If you were restricting yourself 100% of the time, you would be miserable 100% of the time. Planned cheats help you keep your sanity. Just keep them to rare events not regular.

My sanity was cracking up a bit last night which makes it perfect timing that I am off for a cheat tonight.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/06/04/grumpy-man-of-arabia/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I need to to thank you for this fantastic read!! I certainly loved every little bit of it.
    I’ve got you book-marked to check out new stuff you post…


Leave a Reply

