Gone Fishing

Going to be a real long day. Tried to go to sleep at 10pm to get some shut-eye before I head out at 4am to go fishing but sleep did not come. Going to be a big coffee day. ๐Ÿ˜€

If you didn’t read my post yesterday, I am going fishing today so I won’t be posting. Oh wait…… ๐Ÿ˜›

I didn’t want to ruin my every single day with a blog post since February, so here you go.

Weight Statistics

None. ย Not going to weigh myself since I didn’t have a full 24 hours in between weigh-ins. Plus I had a late night snack.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – None

Lunch – None

Dinner – Broiled chicken and salad

Snack – Broiled chicken

Calories – 950

I was out of everything. All I had left was one string cheese so breakfast and lunch were coffee. I couldn’t motivate myself for the grocery trip until afternoon. I did have a big dinner with lots of chicken and salad. Yum. When I finally gave up on trying to get some shut-eye, I grabbed another piece of chicken.

Biking Update

No ride. I haven’t been fishing in a very very very long time and I did not want anything to ruin the trip. I didn’t want a pulled muscle or bicycle mishap to cause me to miss my trip so that is my excuse and I am sticking to it. ๐Ÿ˜›

I won’t be riding today either because I will be in a boat in the sun most of the day and will be exhausted when I get back. Plus it is “always off” Wednesday.

Great Blog

Anyone that has ever feared sitting in a booth or a weak looking chair, you must read this blog.

http://optifastloser.wordpress.com/2011/06/13/the-chairs-of-my-former-fat-life/

Optifastloser has done a tremendous amount of great work in a short time and I love reading his blog. I really do love that post. One of my favorite since I started reading blogs.

Tip Of The Day

If you follow my blog you will see that tips of the day tend to repeat a lot. Truth is, there aren’t 365 diet tips. I need to start getting ready for my fishing trip so here is a list of many of my tips to date.

1. Pick a diet plan that works for you and run with it. Don’t listen to the haters, but you may want to check with your doctor first before starting. In all likelihood, he will tell you to run with it no matter what you choose unless you choose the twinkie diet.

2. Start a food journal. ย http://www.myfitnesspal.com/ย This site is fantastic.

3. Find a support group online or through something like weight watchers.

4. Clean out all the bad food if you can. If you have a family, you can still clean some of it out and take the family out for treats when needed.

5. Make sure you have a good digital bathroom scale.

6. Take before shots from the front and side. Then each week or month you can take more pictures and see the changes. You might not want to have some before shots but it really helps to see the change. Just check out mine on my ABOUT ME page.

7. Make sure you have a good set of measuring cups and spoons or even a kitchen scale. It is ALL about portion control and calorie counting so you need to be able to accurately measure calories. No eyeballing it.

8.Take exercise very slow. I argue with people all the time on this issue, but you can lose weight with little to no exercise. I did. It is very easy to push yourself too hard and burn out too fast with exercise. Yes it makes you healthier, but it can lead to burn out so take it slow.

9.Don’t restrict yourself over the full term of the diet. Cheats are fine if they are few and far between. The occasional cheat helps keep your sanity. Knowing that you can have a treat now and then really helps alleviate the pressure. Just make sure you keep it to now and then and not now now now and now.

10. Stay positive. You are making a huge change in your life. There will be ups and downs but make sure you don’t beat yourself up over mistakes. Just get back to work and stay positive. The support groups help with this one.

11. Cheats are fine now and then but do not use food as a reward for a goal met or a great work out. Find some other way to reward yourself other than food.

12. Find ways to distract yourself when hungry. I hop on netflix or find a game to play. I’ve tried reading but hunger messes that up. For each person it might be different but video games actually help take my mind off of food. Hunger will go away most of the time after a few minutes so a good distraction can help a lot.

13. Never shop hungry. That can lead to disaster.

14. Move more, eat less. ๐Ÿ˜›

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/gone-fishing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for the shout out — I appreciate it. Yes, the post about Chairs really hit a nerve with us big people or former big people. You and Shonnie (Angry Angry Fat Woman) really made a difference in my life and on this journey. When I found out there was someone else who had lost 100 lbs. out there, it made really inspired me.

    • And you too inspire others with your story and the great pics.

      I’m jealous I never thought of the chair post especially since I am always terrified of restaurants and going to friend’s homes for dinner because of the chair situation.

      Heck, I always used to make sure I was first when walking to a table in a restaurant so I could find the best side of the booth or best chair that wouldn’t wedge me into the next table.

  2. Forgot to add — How was the fishing?

    • Well, lets just say it is a good thing I just like being out on the water and don’t get too grumpy if the fish aren’t biting.

      I caught one big red fish and a decent sized speckled trout. The guide caught a monster red fish and a small trout and my step-dad caught a small red fish.

      I haven’t been fishing since before hurricane Katrina in 05 so I was just happy to be out there but my step-dad was paying so he probably was more than a little grumpy with one fish and a big bill.

      Ate the trout for dinner with a little olive oil and lemon pepper and omg it was delicious.

      I had lots of fun, just hope it isn’t 6+ years before I go again. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Glad you had a good time. I was wondering if you live in Louisiana — talkin’ about levies. I grew up there. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

