Phantom Weight Loss

Hmmm…… I’ve had several unexpected weight gains over the last 15 months, but not many unexpected losses.

Weight Statistics

323/177.9/173

I wasn’t expecting a dip today. In fact, I fully expected an increase back up to the 80s. The weigh-in this morning was a pleasant surprise.

Last night was tough. Once again my brain was screaming for food all day and night. The dreaded Taco Bell thoughts were bouncing around my head. The only thing that kept me from hitting Taco Bell was that I had JUST crossed into the 70s and I didn’t want to bounce right back out of the 70s.

There was a huge battle in my brain last night between the forces of evil wanting a Taco Bell binge and the forces of good wanting to stay the course and hold my weight.

Glad to see the evil minions of Taco Bell did not win out and I ended up dropping even further below the 80s.

My race with Cad to 175 appears to be nearing an end with ME as the victor once again. I think he is still fighting to get below 190 but in all fairness he is in MUCH better shape than I am. He actually races his bike and finishes in the top 10, so in the health department, he is kicking my butt.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Burger & cheese

Lunch – Broiled chicken and salad

Dinner – Avocado salad

Snack – Broiled chicken, hamburger and cheese slice

Calories – 1775

 

Even after almost 1800 calories, I still thought about slipping out to Taco Bell. Pizza also popped into my head. I haven’t had a slice of pizza since May of 2010 for the Lost finale. Wow, that boggles my mind that I have gone over a year without a single slice of pizza.

Aquarium Update

“Chicks and ducks and geese better scurry
When I take you out in the surrey
When I take you out in the surrey with the fringe on top

Wow, carriage rides are no longer allowed by PETA.

I didn’t want you guys and gals turning me in to PETA so I did drain about half the water out of the tank and replace it with nice clean water. (yes I know you aren’t supposed to drain that much at once but it had been so long since the last cleaning, it needed it.)

Blutto is swimming in cleaner water and happier for it although he is sad he has no shrimp to kill.

Biking Update

Normal summer weather has slowly returned to New Orleans.  I tried to go out twice yesterday but both times, the angry storm clouds sent me back inside.

I feel a little guilt  skipping the ride but riding a giant hunk of metal on the top of a levee in a storm with lightning isn’t very smart.

Wednesday is “ALWAYS OFF” so I am not sure what to do. I want a makeup day but ALWAYS helps keep me sane knowing I always have hump day off.

Tip Of The Day

Are there any questions you guys and gals have for me. I’ve been regurgitating the same tips over and over but have I missed something that you would like to know?

Right now my main issue is hunger. Duh! Well, not really duh. I actually haven’t been hungry often over the last 15+ months.  Low carb diets are pretty good at keeping you full. It is the cheats that send you into a cookie monster frenzy of hunger.

It is a  fact that eating carbs causes you to crave more carbs.  I’ve been pretty good the last couple of weeks watching my carbs so I am not sure what is making me so darn hungry lately.

Hunger does pass for the most part. You just need to fight through the initial pangs and eventually it dissipates.

A diet is all about managing frustration and hunger. For me, I tend to vent online when frustrated and browse the net or watch a movie or play a video game when hungry. You just need to distract yourself until the hunger withers away.

Let me know if you have any questions that have been on your mind since you started reading this lowly blog.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/06/22/phantom-weight-loss/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love the graphic for your “battle” – glad the forces of good won! I know what you mean about pizza. I walk by a pizza place often at lunch (unfortunately) with people at tables outside chowing down into huge slices, and just wondered today if I would EVER eat pizza again. And I know what you mean about hunger. Sometimes at our Optifast weekly group meeting a doctor or other speaker will say to the group something about “now that you are on a roll and no longer hungry” and I give meaningful looks to others in the group. Maybe in an ideal world, but not in mine!

    • I will eat pizza again one day. This whole diet has been about getting to a weight where I can eat things in moderation. Hopefully the last 15 months have taught me moderation.

      Back in the dark days, I would eat fast food almost daily. Sometimes even more than once a day. So pizza once a week won’t hurt me as long as I have truly learned the moderation skill. 😀


Leave a Reply

