Rain!!!

Biking Update

So I head out to do my bike ride late in the afternoon yesterday when all of a sudden a small angry cloud starts dropping rain on me. I decided the small cloud was not a good enough excuse to call it a day. I headed up to the levee in a light sprinkle.  The flag appeared to be blowing to the east so the storm should have been moving away from me.

It didn’t.  There were black clouds to the left of the levee and to the right, there were a few clouds and the sun. Even though there didn’t appear to be any clouds over my head, I kept getting rained on. About 3 miles into the ride, I finally came to the realization that once again that stupid flag was a liar. Even though it was blowing in one direction, the storm seemed to be moving in another.

It rained on me for about the first 4 miles which wasn’t too bad because it kept things cool. By the time I turned around, the rain had stopped and the humidity spiked as the rain began to evaporate.

I stayed on the middle front gear now that I have a slight clue on how to change gears. The bad thing is I now feel like I am starting all over again. My legs are weak and get tired fast on the middle front gear.

Road Marker 410 – 10 Miles

Overall, not a bad ride considering I still didn’t feel 100% and I could very easily have used the rain as an excuse to head back into the apartment. I wanted to get a good start on the week so I forced myself up on top of that evil levee.

Weight Statistics

323/175.6/165

I had a feeling I would gain some weight back from the Saturday night illness loss. I knew I was probably a bit dehydrated yesterday morning, so I was expecting a little bounce up. It still makes me a bit grumpy even though it was expected. 😛

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Burger and cheese slice

Lunch – Tuna and salad

Dinner – Broiled chicken with salad

Snack – None

Calories -1200

I was able to stay away from extra burgers last night. I wasn’t hungry so I didn’t have any snacks last night. I need to keep that up.

I may be moving off of Atkins induction for a bit. I think my stomach problems could be a bit fiber related so I may go back to the beans for a bit with my next trip to the store.

Tip Of The Day

Supplements

No matter what diet you are on, you will need to take something to make up for the vitamins and minerals that are no longer part of your regular diet. I take a multi-vitamin and some fiber supplements although I forget the fiber supplements way too often which can lead to stomach problems because I do low carb.  Low carb doesn’t have much fiber so I take psyllium husk supplements.

I’m not a doctor so I have no idea which are the best to take. My doctor just told me to take a good multi-vitamin and many people suggested the fiber supplements. What do you take?

Sometimes the supplements aren’t enough and then it is time to change the diet a bit. In my case, I think I might move back to beans for more fiber. The problem with that is I always end up eating too many and stalling my diet.  😦

Make sure you take your vitamins every day and make sure you are getting enough fiber.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

The Grumpy Man

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/06/27/rain/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I really liked this post as I agree that everyone should take a vitamin supplement. I take a multi and Calcium supplement.

  2. Good for you Grumpy! Goin’ out in the rain when you didn’t feel your best. I love rain on hot summer days. Everytime you talk about riding on the levee you take me back to childhood — growing up in Louisiana — you do all kinds of playing on the levee. Thinking about that makes me smile. My folks always walked/ran the levee in New Orleans.

    The other day when I was feeling puny the sprinklers were on at the middle school and I went and sat myself between two until I was soaking wet! YUM! It was like airconditioning. I actually got a bit of a chill until the water on my skin evaporated. My rides have been HORRIBLE since I got the sinus infection! Boo Hiss!

    Sorry about the weight bump. I can eat tuns of raw bell peppers (I preferr the red ones), celery, 1/2 cup raw baby carrots, blue berries, strawberries, figs, and a half of an apple without causing cravings and weight stalls. I didn’t know if you had tried that? All the berries have lots of fiber and don’t spike blood sugars … I am diabetic and have to live low carb.

    I take a chewable mulit-vitamin they get in my system better. I also take fiber supplements and vit-E, C, D, and complex B shots to keep myself moving.

    • The rain definitely made things much cooler. The only problem is that being up on the levee on a large chunk of metal in a thunderstorm is probably not the best idea. I made it home today right before a massive lightning storm.

      • Rain is wonderful, but lightening would be VERY scary. Glad you got back home before that started. Being on a hunk of metal in a lightening storm is a very bad idea. 🙂

      • I am glad I got back before the storm hit. I would have been in a panic with all that lightning.

  3. Supplements….hmmm….thank you for the reminder. I should probably be taking something since my my Vitamin D level was quite low before I even started dieting. Gotta love the Northwest.
    You are doing excellent by the way! : )


Leave a Reply

