Strange Saturday

Why strange? It is a strange Saturday (picture is Doctor Strange comic book hero) because I lost weight this morning even though I couldn’t stop eating last night and I skipped my bike ride Friday.

Weight Statistics

323/175.4/165

I was definitely expecting a LARGE gain this morning because I pigged out last night. Not on junk food or anything bad, but I couldn’t stop eating the broiled chicken.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Burger and cheese

Lunch – Tuna and salad

Dinner – Broiled chicken

Snack – String cheese, burger patty and cheese slice, broiled chicken, broiled chicken

Calories – 2150

I was starved yesterday, all day and night. Or was I……..

Tip Of The Day

Stress

Yesterday was a very stressful day and I think I might have done a bit of stress eating.  As stress eating goes, a little over 2000 calories isn’t bad. Thoughts of taco bell did creep into my head but I just kept telling myself that I could not cheat because I was going to have a cheat day on the 4th.

I still ended up cheating  a bit with the extra chicken and salad but that is much healthier and lower in calories than Nachos Belgrande, Double Decker Tacos and Volcano Tacos. At least I ate healthy food on my little stress binge.

If you are stressed out and find yourself reaching for food, try to find another release.  I didn’t do a very good job yesterday but it could have been worse.

Make sure you are eating because you are hungry and not because you need a little comfort and stress relief. Easier said than done. It is easy today to see I was more than a little stressed yesterday and in hindsight realize I did a little stress eating.  Harder to figure that out as it is happening but you need to try. If you find yourself overeating,  stop and just do a quick analysis of your day, take a few deep breaths, try to relax and then see if you are still hungry.

It is tough to catch this bad habit at the time it happens, but we need to move away from food as comfort.

Biking Update

None. I waited until the last-minute to head out and then I waited even longer. 😛

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/07/02/strange-saturday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It really is very hard not to use food the “self medicate” when under stress. Food is so easy, so available, and does such a good job of (temporarily) making us feel better!

  2. I can identify with this post so much, last night I ate close to 2000 calories however the majority of them were consumed within a small time period so it felt like a binge. It really messed with my head last night and made me consider carrying the on binge but luckily I convinced myself to stop.

    Great post!

    • I know that “carrying on” thought.

      Even after I ate the extra burger and the extra chicken, my mind tried to convince me that since it was already a bad night, I might as well hit taco bell too. Luckily I was able to fight off that urge.

  3. My best defense against binge eating is to have nothing in the house I would even remotely think about binging on – like ice cream. I am the cookie monster of ice cream eaters. I don’t eat directly out of the box but I go back to that half gallon of Blue Bell over and over again. So I guess my comment is not to have binge food in the house so you are forced to think about it as you drive to Walgreens to grab that stuff. Since I live in the sticks (rural Covington) it is a bit of an inconvenience.

    • That has to be a bit hard for you being married with kids. Seems like there would always be stuff to binge on.

      For the last 16 months I’ve had almost nothing in the fridge and pantry. I just ate too much chicken and salad.

      I will be eating like a pig on the 4th. It is a planned cheat. I have decided to have some ice cream. It has been over 12 months since i had anything sweet. 😀

      Have a happy 4th!


Leave a Reply

