The Return Of The Bean

I am powerless over the bean. I’m already wishing I hadn’t added beans to the menu. I simply can’t stick to portion control with beans and sausage. I ate like a pig yesterday and I ate like a pig again today.  I guess that is a bit of an exaggeration.  Eating a few extra portions of red beans and broiled chicken isn’t exactly going crazy.  It is definitely better to eat a few too many portions of beans than to run off to Taco Bell or call up Dominos.

Weight Statistics

323/173.4/165

A gain. No surprise here. I ate too much and I ate late late late in the evening.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast –  Beans and sausage

Lunch – Burger and cheese

Dinner – Broiled chicken and salad

Snack – Beans, Beans and more beans and sausage. (out of control) 😛

Calories – 2200

I didn’t do much better with my control today.  People laugh when I tell them I lost over 100 pounds but I have almost no willpower. It is true. 😛

Out of sight, out of mind. I normally don’t have anything in the apartment to eat to cheat. The problem with cooking a big pot of red beans is that there are 16 portions waiting to be consumed.  Yesterday and today I went a bit cookie monster on the red beans. Hopefully I will be able to regain some control tomorrow.

Biking Update

Terrible week. The first part of the week I was nervous about the interview and the back part of the week was a rain wash out.  I only got one ride in this week. That is the worst week since I got the bike.  It was wet and nasty yesterday and the same today. 1 ten-mile ride isn’t good enough.  I’m not taking my normal Sunday off tomorrow. I will be out doing a 20 mile ride to get the week started on the right foot.

Tip Of The Day

Keep temptations out of reach. As you can see, I didn’t do a very good job of that with the beans and sausage.  I’ve said it before and I will say it again. When it comes to snacks, you need to have something that you can barely tolerate. If you like it too much, you will end up eating too much of it.

I guess the same can be said for my regular meals. I always tend to have a tough time with portion control and beans which is why I usually take them off the menu almost immediately after adding them.

I stuck the remaining portions in the freezer so I can’t just grab one and dig in. That should slow me down a bit.

Limit temptations.  It is the only way I could be successful. Some of you may have stronger willpower than me but if  I hadn’t kept almost all temptations out of my kitchen and pantry I would never have dropped 150 pounds. 😀

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

 

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/07/16/the-return-of-the-bean/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I agree, sadly, that the only way to not overeat some foods is not to come anywhere near them (popcorn!) and the way to not overeat others is to buy/prepare/store/etc. others with some kind of enforced or strongly-encouraged portion control (like buying nuts in 1 oz packages, or only buying a single serving of cherries!)… A big vat of sausage and beans sounds pretty hard to resist. But as you say, much much better to indulge in than many other choices!

  2. It is so hard to resist temptation! I hope today is a better day!

    • A little better. I couldn’t cheat with beans because I stuck them all in the freezer. So I ate an extra chicken thigh and hamburger patty. Whoops.

      Tomorrow is a new day. 😀

  3. I’m back on the beans as well. Just had my first bowl of the week. Yum. I’m experimenting this week with a homemade-not-so-low carb diet.

    • Once I’m out of beans, I’m off carbs again until I get to my final goal. Then I will need to learn how to add carbs back in without going crazy. 😀


Leave a Reply

