Catching Goliath

Given his massive lead, my step-dad is Goliath in this situation.

Step-dad – 169

Me – 173.8

He could be lower. No way to know because he only weighs every Monday.

We have set the stakes for the competition although I am changing them a bit. Once a winner is declared the loser has to wear the colors of the winners favorite football team (college). He hates LSU with a passion so he will have to wear LSU purple and gold and I would have to wear Tulane green and blue at the next big family gathering. 😀

It almost killed him to put on a LSU baseball cap at the last family gathering so having to wear a LSU shirt all day could induce seizures.  It will definitely motivate him to beat me. He is currently unaware of my amendment to the bet that we must wear the colors at a big family gathering.

Given the lead he has, I might have bitten off more than I can chew but it will be fun as long as it lasts a few weeks.

 

Weight Statistics

323/173.8/165

I continue to lose the weight gained last weekend. I wish it would fall off a bit faster. I am not sure how I am going to be able to beat my step-dad to 165 with all of the minefields I need to walk through in the next week. I have at least 3 bad meal opportunities in the next week. Hopefully I can force myself to behave and keep my eye on the prize.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Burger with cheese

Lunch – Broiled chicken and salad

Dinner – Broiled chicken and salad

Snack – Cheese

Calories – 1292

Biking – 499

Net Calories – 793

I imagine the calories burned number is a bit higher than reality but most sites have a similar number.

I am a bit hungry right now which is why I decided to get to work on my daily blog. I’m taking my tip from yesterday to heart.

Biking Update

More rain, but I was able to get out at some point yesterday. It really has been overcast and rainy for a long time. I’m starting to lose my biker tan. I’m not quite as freakish looking with white hands and dark brown arms because the sun is never out anymore.  Well that and the fact I don’t ride until 6pm or 7pm when the sun is going down.

I have moved to the BIG BOY GEAR. I am now using the big front gear. That means that once again my legs are taking a bit of a beating and I might end up putting muscle on which could kill my chances in the race to 165.

The ride was bit tough even though the wind was almost nonexistent. I was soaking wet with sweat by the time I made it up to my apartment.

Road Marker 410 – 10 Miles

Tip Of The Day

Plan ahead.

You can’t just wing it. You need to plan your meals and snacks ahead of time to make sure temptations are at a minimum. You need to make sure you always have healthy snack choices and that you know exactly what you will be eating for each meal. This helps you get in and out of the grocery store without damaging your diet.

I hate cooking and cleaning, so I make big batches of different things and freeze them. Believe me, in the past, cooking and cleaning gave me an excuse to quit and toss in the towel. This time I realized I needed to cut down on cooking and cleaning. I have used my crock pot a ton. I usually make 8 to 10 portions and keep some in the fridge and freeze the others.

Planning ahead and simplifying things will help you be successful on your new journey. 😀

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

The Grumpy Man

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/07/27/catching-goliath/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good luck catching up!

  2. Good tip! I was just blogging myself about how once back on food I need to plan ahead and keep food with me to avoid that dash for fast food or high carb quickies when rushed and hungry – a deadly combination. I like the idea of the crock pot, and making a lot to minimize time in the kitchen and around food!!

    • The downside is I eat the same thing all the time BUT, in my case, it works better. I don’t get too bored. Most people probably couldn’t stand eating the same thing as often as I do. In my case, it was more important to cut down cooking time and cleanup than to have a lot of variety. Plus it is easier on the budget.

  3. Great photo…
    It is an excellent idea to have a contest or a goal in weight loss.
    Even if you don’t win the bet — you win on your weight loss.

    I got some cool attachments for my bike recently. I will have to post an update photo of me on it. But I don’t think I will ever be like you or AngryFatWoman — I just ride it to the grocery store and back.

    Keep up the good work. I know it is hard.

    • Thanks. The competition makes it fun. Especially if I can win this one because my step dad has an irrational hatred of LSU so seeing him in purple and gold would be a hoot.


Leave a Reply

