New Low Friday: Atkins versus Weight Watchers

The race to 165 continues.

Sam171 (possible scale error. needed new battery)

Me171.9

The daunting 8 pound lead has now dropped to .9 pounds depending on if the 171 was a correct reading. If I have a good weekend, I could be even with my step-dad by Monday. It could be tough because I have one or two bad meal situations over the next few days.  Dinner on Saturday has not been confirmed so I might be able to get through the weekend unscathed.

Weight Statistics

323/171.9/165

172.4 was my last low so I have hit another low. July was not a very good month. I need to have a much better August. Looking back over my records, it looks like I lost 4 pounds in July.  I had to many cheats and menu changes.  No beans or menu changes will happen in August. I’m sticking to low carb until I hit my target weight hopefully by the end of August. Hopefully, when I eat out over the next few days I will be able to stick to the low carb options on the menu.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Burger patty with cheese

Lunch – Broiled chicken with salad

Dinner – Broiled chicken with salad

Snack – Cheese

Calories – 1300

Biking – 0

Net Calories – 1300

Good week so far. Hopefully I can get through the weekend with no speed bumps.

Biking

No ride on Thursday. It is my always off day.  I wouldn’t have been able to get up to the levee anyway because it rained all day. Moving my day off from Wednesday to Thursday has been a huge success. No more stressing out over my ride before my Thursday night meeting.

I still haven’t done a 20 mile ride this week.  I am not sure I have one in me.  Only time will tell.

Tip Of The Day

Sometimes you won’t lose weight. Even worse, sometimes you will gain weight.

Keeping a food/weight journal is tremendously important so you can look at what you have been doing to try to figure out what changes need to be made.

Myfitnesspal is a fantastic site for recording your information. For the first year, I used a different site, but it died. 😦

That won’t happen with myfitnesspal. It is much larger and far more active than the site I used to use.

When things stall or your weight goes up, you need to figure out why it isn’t moving in the right direction. It is easy to see why things didn’t move faster for me in July. I went crazy with beans and massive carbs and I had a few cheats.  The wheels came off when I moved out of Atkins induction.

If you review your month and you can’t see any problems with your meals or exercise then you might need to take a harder look at your calories to see if you miscalculated anything like I did with the broiled chicken. If you still find no problems, then stay the course.  If you have a daily calorie deficit then you have to lose weight eventually.  A 3500 calorie deficit is a pound dropped.

Just remember that if you are starting a new exercise regimen, you may gain weight. It is new muscle, but it will keep the scale from moving down.

If you have gone a few months with a calorie deficit and no muscle gained from exercise, it might be time for a trip to the doctor just to see if you have any medical problems with the metabolism.

In most cases, we are eating more than we think or want to think and that is what stalls our progress.  I constantly battle myself to measure things out so I have an accurate reading on my calorie intake.

I can’t stress enough the importance of a daily journal on your weight loss journey. It is one of the key tools for success.  Just remember that you need to act on the information you record. If the weight isn’t coming off, you need to analyze the data and make some changes as necessary.

Happy Dieting, have a great weekend

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/07/29/new-low-friday-atkins-versus-weight-watchers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I cannot wait to see who reaches the goal line FIRST!

    • I was worried last week after my big gain but I think I have this one in the bag. I do have a networking lunch tomorrow, but I think I will have the willpower to eat healthy or as healthy as I can. Not sure where we are going.


Leave a Reply

