New Plan Tuesday

The clash of the titans continues. 😀

Sam – 170

Me – 170.2

The mystery bounce up yesterday appears to be gone.

Weight Statistics 

323/170.2/165

I was a bit worried that I might actually bounce higher today because I went to lunch yesterday for a networking job hunt meeting and I had some middle eastern food. I thought it might be loaded with salt so I was expecting a possible salt bounce.

I went to lunch with two guys that are trying to help me find a job. One of them wanted to hit the middle eastern place and the other was open to any option but I think he wanted to hit the poboy place, Ignatius.

I am glad we went to the middle eastern place. I would have done far more damage at Ignatius. At Mona, I had a chicken kebab and I really just ate the chicken and nibbled at about 1/4 of the wrap. Calorie wise it was probably less than 350.  It didn’t taste like there was much salt but I still thought there might have been some hidden sodium bomb that would hit me. It did not.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Burger patty with cheese

Lunch – Chicken kebab

Dinner – Broiled chicken with salad

Snack – Cheese slice

Calories – 1200

Biking – 0

Net Calories – 1200

Biking Update

I need a new temporary plan for the bike. I have really been struggling the last month. Each week it is a tremendous strain just thinking about that darn 20 mile ride.

So it is gone until mid September when it will start to get a little cooler.

Just knowing that I am not going to attempt a 20 mile ride already makes my next ride seem easier. I can handle 10. 10 really isn’t much of a hassle. 20 in this heat is a killer.

I just decided this tonight on the way home from a service meeting.  I had to skip my ride today because of the meeting but I will be back on the levee tomorrow. No doubt about it.

Tip Of The Day

You must be flexible.

You don’t need to be that flexible, but you are going to have to adapt to changing diet situations. I came to the conclusion today to axe the 20 mile ride. I probably should have done it in late June. I didn’t take my own advice about “not overdoing it.”

You will find that something that worked for 3 months, no longer works. Just make sure you don’t switch to something that makes matters worse. I know someone who is stalled on Atkins and has been for 10 days. Well, they need to eat carbs for one day, not necessarily a pig out, just enough to kick them back onto the carb burning cycle for a day or two and then return back to Atkins.

As Einstein said, “insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result.”

If something isn’t working, you need to be able to make a change to something new. In my case, I need to stick with what works but I have trouble doing that. I get bored with my menu and switch back to carbs. This leads to weight gain and hunger which then leads my back to Atkins. I guess the part of going back to Atkins shows me being flexible. 😀

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/08/02/new-plan-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It sounds like this battle of the (used to be) heavy weights is really helping your focus.

    Keep it up!!!

    • A little friendly competition helps a lot although I seem to be stuck in a range the last few days.

  2. Good call to scale back the ride. Your avoiding it was definitely a sign that you needed to tweak the plan. Better doing a 10-mile ride than not doing a 20-mile ride. 😉 Adjustments here and there are needed on an ongoing basis for everybody, I guess!

    • Adjustments are important. I was able to force myself out there today for the 10 mile ride. I figured after a week off it would be a piece of cake but the 10 mile ride wore me out. 😀


Leave a Reply

