Seesaw Week

Up down, up down, up down. My weight keeps bouncing all around even though I have done a great job of eating the last 10 days.

Weight Statistics

323/170.8/165

It isn’t going up much, but it is driving me bonkers trying to finally crash through into the 160s.

Sam – 170

 Me – 170.8

The epic battle continues. Sam will probably give me a weight update tomorrow. He does not weight every day like I do.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Burger patty and cheese

Lunch – Broiled chicken and salad

Dinner – Broiled chicken and salad

Snack – Cheese

Calories – 1300

Biking – 0

Net Calories – 1300

It is that time again. Just about out of everything, so a trip to Walmart is in the picture.  I still have plenty of Tuna, but the chicken and hamburger are almost gone.

Biking Update

No ride on Tuesday. I came to the conclusion last night that I was using the 20 mile ride to skip all rides. So I axed the 20 mile ride. Until the weather cools, I am not going to do a 20 mile ride. Just so you know I did get a 10 mile ride in today. Read more about it tomorrow.

Tip Of The Day

How does one get started? This is for you Betty K.. 😀

Pick a diet plan. It is easy to learn about every diet plan in existence on the net. Study different diets and pick one that you think you can stick to.

Some of you may need your doctor to okay your new diet plan. In all likelihood your doctor will be happy that you are trying to lose weight no matter what plan you pick, unless you go with the Junk Food Diet.  😀

Once your doctor has signed off and you have a plan, you need to clean out the pantry and fridge. Get rid of ALL of the junk.  DO NOT EAT IT. Don’t clear the pantry by eating all the chips and other junk.  If you are married and have kids, this will be tough. Try to have nothing but healthy snacks in the house. When your spouse and kids want a treat, your spouse can take them out for ice cream of some other treat.  It is very hard to lose weight with unhealthy food within reach. I  would not have lost this weight if unhealthy food was within reach.

Find support. Your friends and family can be great but they really don’t know what you are up against. It is much better to find support like Weight Watchers or other groups. If you are nervous or uncomfortable with groups there are a million online groups you can join to give you plenty of support when needed and a place to vent when needed.

Log everything. Your weight, exercise, calorie consumption, food. Everything. Myfitnesspal.com is a great place to do this and seek support.

In order to log your diet info, you need to know how many calories you are eating. Read all labels and measure everything. When you eat out, try to find a restaurant that has nutritional information online.

Weigh yourself at least once a week. I weigh daily but once a week is okay too. Do not wait a month.

Just remember to forget yesterday’s mistakes and don’t worry about tomorrow. Just get through today the best that you can and you will reach your goal. There is a light at the end of the tunnel. I can see it clearly now. 😀

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/08/03/seesaw-week/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good advice on the how-to of getting started.

    Congrats on your success,
    David

  2. Great advice! I’ve been weighing myself daily and have been all over the place this week (mostly higher than the last weigh in) :/

  3. Excellent advice for clearing the pantry and suggesting dad or mom takes the kids out for a treat if you are married with children. Trying to lose weight with a teen and young adults in my home who continuously beg for snack foods has been a challenge. I probably should have moved into an apartment while trying to meet this goal, my family is the ultimate weight loss challenge! ; )
    You and testingtruechange are keeping me going!

    • I am honestly not sure I could have done it with a family. That is difficult but not impossible so keep working at it. 😀

  4. Your posts have been and inspiration and have given me so much hope. I have never blogged before but I have decided to start one today. Just to help keep me accountable.

    • Congratulations on starting a blog and thank you for the kind words.


Leave a Reply

