The Wasp Incident!

Yesterday early evening I was trying to marshal the forces to head out for a bike ride when something flew on my leg. As I instinctively brushed it off, I had a nice jolt of pain.

Who gets stung by a wasp IN the apartment? Me.Yes, one wasp was most definitely harmed in the making of this post.

After the initial jolt. I jumped out of my computer chair and ran into my room to regain my composure. Then armed with a shoe, I headed back into my front room to confront my enemy.  Shoe 1 Wasp 0. That was about the 3rd wasp I have killed in the last 10 days. There must be a nest in the AC vent but so far I have no idea where they are coming from. 😦

I of course used the sore leg as an excuse not to ride my bike, but I think it was partially valid. 😀

Weight Statistics

323/165.7/165

That is a big bounce up from yesterday but I know the scale is going to bounce around as I find a good balance with my new caloric intake and carbs. Sodium is going to be a major problem. It is easy to control when you don’t eat much but much more difficult to maintain 1500 mgs on a 2000 calorie diet.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Chicken with red beans

Lunch – Chicken with salad

Dinner – Red beans and rice with sausage

Snack – Wasabi Peas, chicken

Calories – 2000

Biking – 0

Net Calories – 2000

I am clearing out the chicken.  I had some left today but Thursday I will start a more normal diet although I imagine I will be tweaking it for months.

Wasabi peas. Those things are already a bit of a problem. I am just not real good with snacks. 😀

Biking Update

Total biking crisis at the moment. Yeah I had a little bit of an excuse yesterday and I had a better excuse tonight but excuses excuses excuses. I have plenty of time each day to get out there and I need to get out there. I have reached my weight goal, but I am not remotely close to my overall health goal so the bike needs to remain a normal part of my week.  Tomorrow , and tomorrow, and tomorrow.

Tip Of The Day

Beware the snack! 

Day 1 maintenance I ate too many wasabi peas. Day 2 of maintenance I ate too many wasabi peas. Day 3? Not over yet. I have been a bit better today but probably because I am too busy looking every which direction for incoming wasp attacks. 😀

I keep breaking my cardinal snacking rule which is DO NOT HAVE THE WHOLE CAN within arm’s reach.  Take a portion from the can and put it back in the pantry.  Never have snack food in the container with you on the couch or near your chair. No no no and no. That always leads to eating multiple portions.

When starting a diet, never have snacks that are too tasty. Pick snacks that you can tolerate but don’t love so you won’t be tempted to over indulge.

And never have the container near you when sitting.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow.

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/08/17/the-wasp-incident/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. ugh I hate wasps, well done on taking it out! My weight always bounces when I’m playing around with my diet and what I eat…So just keep pushing till you find the right combo 🙂

  2. I’m with Testy … Hate wasps! They are nasty little creatures. WTG on reaching goal. Hey, you get out there and ride and the sodium won’t be as big of a problem because you will sweat it out. 😀


Leave a Reply

