Panic!!!

 

Maybe it is time to panic!!!

Weight Statistics

323/169.3/165

5 pounds in 4 days! How is this even possible on under 2000 calories a day. Yesterday I had 1550 calories and I went on a 10 mile ride yet I gained ANOTHER pound.

5 pounds since the 164.5 weigh-in on Tuesday!!!

I was supposed to go out tonight and maybe go out for lunch today but I am in full-blown enter the bunker panic hermit mode.

Down I go and I am not sure when I will be seen again. 😛

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Instant oatmeal (maple)

Lunch – Red beans and rice with sausage

Dinner – Turkey sandwich and salad

Snack – Wasabi peas

Calories – 1550

Biking – 485

Net Calories – 1065

How did I gain weight from that? Especially after gaining weight every day for the last 3 days.  I should be losing weight from that calorie count not gaining!!!

Biking Update

After a 10 day absence from the levee, I finally forced myself up there. I thought it would be an easy ride with my legs well rested but it was not easy. The wind smacked me pretty good and as usual my weather site lied and said the wind was nonexistent. The trees seemed to disagree with that assessment.

It was 94 degrees at 7pm when I headed out.  I really wasn’t hot for most of the ride because of the “Nonexistent ” wind. My legs were actually a bit sore by the time I arrived back at my apartment.  I guess the ride wasn’t too bad because I did carry the bike up the stairs without a little sit down break.

Road marker 410 – 10 miles

I want to get out there today but I might not be able to if I go out tonight. If I do go full hermit mode I should be able to ride this evening.

Tip Of The Day

My grumpy level is off the charts at the moment. It is in full red tilt mode. On a scale of 1 to 10, grumpiness is at 11.

Vent frustration!!!

Yup that is a tip and that is what I have been doing in the blog today. I’ve already vented plenty over at the other weight loss site I visit.

I’m at a bit of a loss over the gain. I usually have some idea what is going on but in this case I can’t figure out 4 straight days of gains on under 2000 calories and well under 1500 net calories yesterday.  I know Atkins is a natural diuretic so switching back to carbs will cause a water re-balancing. I just didn’t expect 5 pounds.  I am angry confused and frustrated and I was already grumpy to start out with.

Blowing off steam is important because you will have many frustrating moments like I am experiencing at the moment. Make sure you have a support group where you can blow off steam and receive a bit of positive encouragement in return.

Grumpy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

 

 

The Angry & Grumpy Man

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/08/20/panic/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Have you tried the Paleo Diet ?, it works well for me

    • Well. I am done with the dieting stage. Atkins got me to 165 where I want to maintain my weight but adding carbs back in to my diet sent me shooting up.

      If I keep going up, I am going to go back into Atkins.

  2. Perhaps some re-hydration going on, or the change in diet (more carbs) has shocked the system somewhat?

    Good luck,
    David

    • It has to be water because I simply am not eating enough calories to gain 5 pounds in 4 days. I will do my best next trip to the store to squeeze as much sodium out of my next meal plan as possible.

  3. I’m at a loss for words and I’m sure you are too! You will find the right combo between Atkins & maintenance.

    • Well, that combo won’t be found tonight. I decided to avoid full hermit mode and I am going out to dinner. 😀

  4. Wow that is frustrating! I’m sure it’s just a combination of water and your body adjusting to your new diet. I have switched my diet up a few times over the last year and I usually gain between 3-5 pounds the first week before I start losing again, so keep the faith! I do understand the frustration though because it can feel like it set you back, but it’s just a part of the process. You can do it!

    • Thanks. I will lower calories a bit until the scale gets back to where I want it to be.

  5. I’m pretty sure you will figure out what is going on and adjust things accordingly. This is a new challenge for you. Give it a couple of weeks for your body to sort itself out and continue monitoring closely as you always do.

    Good luck.

    • I’m not too concerned. I crank up the drama for the blog. 😀

      I will drop calories this week and hopefully reverse the damage of the last week.


Leave a Reply

