Moving Right Along…..

Actually, the officer is wrong. Plenty to see here. Atkins continues to work its magic on that water weight I gained. I need that magic to continue a few more days and I might just lose all 10 pounds in under a week. 😀

Weight Statistics

323/168.9/165

I’ve dropped 5.5 pounds since Friday and I am only 4.4 from my low point. I imagine the drop will stall a bit soon.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Burger patty with cheese

Lunch – Chicken with salad

Dinner – Chicken with salad

Snack – Cheese

Calories – 1250

Biking – 300

Net Calories – 950

I was a bit hungry last night but now that I am back in ketosis that hunger should diminish some. Plus as usual, I ate dinner way too early so by 10pm I was hungry. I need to hold off until later on eating dinner. Some days I eat it at 4:30pm because I convince myself I need the energy for my bike ride. Then I don’t get out for my bike ride. 😛

Biking Update

I procrastinated until after the last moment yesterday. I actually took my shoes off and tossed in the towel for the day but then I decided I wanted to start the week of right so I put the shoes back on and went out for a shorter than normal ride.

Road Marker 330 – 6.4 Miles

The sun had set by the time I got home and bugs were bouncing off my sunglasses and face for about the last mile.  It was hot but the humidity was really rough. It felt like I was pedaling through pea soup.

At least I got out there. That was the first time in a very long time that I did rides on back to back days. I am going for the trifecta today. I need to get out there for the 3rd day in a row. 😀

Tip Of The Day 

A friend of mine on another site started out great with his diet. He then moved into the exercise phase and over did it which then caused him to shift out of his normal diet which then caused him to quit exercise which then caused a stall.

Thankfully he didn’t just quit and kept plugging away. Eventually, he went back to the diet that worked best for him (Atkins) and the weight started coming off again. But…. the dang exercise crowd got on him again, so he is back to exercise doing the couch to 5k plan.

DO NOT OVER DO IT!!!

Yes blah blah blah blah! Exercise makes you healthier but for people with tons of weight to lose, I bet the failure rate is higher than 98% on diets. We over do it both ways. We eat too much then when we finally diet, we over do the exercise to the point we just quit due to exhaustion.

I firmly believe my diet worked because I really didn’t start exercising until 1 solid year into the diet. I did a tiny bit of walking in June or July of 2010. I stopped that immediately because of the heat. I then started up again in late September of 2010, but I hate walking. I think I gave up in October or November.

Even though I did very little on the exercise front, I still had dropped 100 pounds between March 16, 2010 and December 25, 2010.

If you take exercise very slowly, I have no problem with it but we tend to go overboard in both directions leading to burnout and the end of the diet.

Be careful. Don’t over do it and exhaust yourself to the point you toss in that towel. Take it easy with exercise.  Even a tiny bit helps. You don’t need to go crazy at the gym 42 times a week.

Just my two cents even if it is only worth a penny.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

 

 

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/08/29/moving-right-along/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Low carb living is definitely the way to go. I simply don’t understand why “conventional wisdom” is so opposed to it.

    Regards,
    David

  2. Small steps all the way re exercise. I know I do a lot now, but, it’s only because I really enjoy it!

    • Some people can handle the heavy exercise. I’ve done it in the past but always burned out after a few months. Some people can and do thrive off of exercise. Not everyone is the same but I just know that 20 years of dieting and going overboard at the gym didn’t work for me.

      Having said that, once I stabilize my weight around my goal, I will start working on toning the mess that is my body and at some point in the future I will join a gym.

  3. I’m a big believer in the value of working with personal trainers, but I think they do not understand the balance that someone who is losing weight has to maintain.

    You have 2 levers: exercise more and eat less. You can’t hit them with equal intensity at the same time.

    Trainers, unless they specialize in working with people who are recovering from injuries, rarely understand that someone might benefit from extreme moderation (is that an oxymoron?) in exercise. I didn’t realize it at the time (at least consciously), but this is one reason my last gym experience didn’t pan out. And one reason I’m currently ignoring all of the messages from the trainers at my new gym!

    • 20 years ago I worked with a trainer and he worked me to death and kept me on an insanely low level of calories. I actually worked with him off and on for a couple of years but I burned out each time.

      I know working out and building muscle is better for you long term but for people that need to lose lots of weight doing both at the same time will cause burnout in most people. And gaining muscle keeps the scale from moving down which really is the key motivation for most people. Yes you can measure inches and see them move down even if the scale isn’t moving but that only motivates people for a while and then they freak out because the scale isn’t moving.

      As i said to Paul, some people can do both, but most of us can’t. So I really do advocate a slow slow slow slow progression of exercise.

      I didn’t get my bike until 1 year into my diet. I then proceeded to go a bit overboard with it, but I have reigned myself in a bit since then.


Leave a Reply

