The Return

No, not the Return Of The King. The return to 164.5 has almost been achieved. Holy mackerel! Did Return Of The King really come out that long ago? Wow. Time really does fly.

No, I am not back to 164.5 yet, but the I am not too far away.

Weight Statistics

323/166/165

Nice dip this morning and even with the great week I have had (8.5 pound down) I expect to lose some more tomorrow.

Now, everyone look to see if my mom is reading. Is it safe?

Is it safe?

My goal is to be around 165 but as we have seen, switching back to carbs causes a massive water gain. This means I need to lose some additional weight so that the gain won’t push me right back to 174. 5.

This means I will actually continue for a bit under 165 which will have my mom screaming that I am anorexic. Couldn’t be further from the truth, but I don’t want to be over 170. So I need to lose a little more weight so that when I hit maintenance I won’t spike above 170 again.

Don’t tell mom! 😛

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Burger patty with cheese

Lunch – Tuna with salad

Dinner  – Burger patty cheese and salad

Snack – Chicken and cheese

Calories – 1800

Biking – 0

Net Calories – 1800

I ate too much yesterday. I was actually shocked I dropped over a pound this morning after eating 1800 calories. More proof that the gain was water and I continue to lose that water on Atkins.

I once again ate dinner way too early so I was starved out of my mind by 9pm.

I need to stop doing that. I did a little better this evening with dinner time but not much better. It was still a little too early.

Biking Update

As I said yesterday, I probably could have done a levee ride but my weather site told me to hold off, so I did. Of course today is Thursday and I never ride on Thursday. The rest of the week could be rough because a storm has formed under Louisiana and we will probably get a lot of rain all weekend.

Tip Of The Day

You need to be nimble and willing to adjust your diet if the wheels fall off.

I shot up to 174.5 in just 10 days. After my little Popeye’s meltdown, I did go back to what I know works and it has worked wonders in a very short time.

If the weight isn’t dropping for you and hasn’t for quite some time, then you need to adjust your diet. The first thing you need to do is make sure you really have cut your caloric intake (measuring everything, reading labels). If that is not the problem then maybe your body has adjusted to the lower calories and maybe at that point you need to add a little exercise very slowly into the mix. You might also change the food you are eating a bit.

If you are on low carb, then maybe add some carbs back in for a few days to shock the system then get back to low carb. I think my cheats here and there kept me from plateaus for the most part because they kept my system confused.

By the way I am not saying add a half-gallon of ice cream into the diet, but maybe add a few carbs and a few extra calories just to mix things up a bit and then after a couple of days you can go back to your normal diet.

Some people advocate eating a huge number of calories to shock you system to get off a plateau. I have tried that and in most cases I gained 2 or 3 pounds and in the time it took me to lose that weight, I probably would have bounced off the plateau anyway.

Don’t just sit there banging your head against the wall. If you aren’t losing weight, adapt and find a way to get the scale moving in the right direction.

Happy Dieting and Happy Labor Day Weekend

 

 

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/the-return/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

