Salty Saturday!

I feel like I ate all that salt above. The pizza was bad enough but the seafood platter I had for lunch has me feeling like I ate 3 pounds of salt. 8 hours later and my mouth still feels like a desert.  😀

After a good day Friday, I had a small drop today which will disappear as I skyrocket up tomorrow.

Weight Statistics

323/171.1/165

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Burger patty with cheese

Lunch – Tuna with salad

Dinner – Broiled chicken with salad

Snack – Broiled chicken, cheese

Calories – 1400

Biking – 0

Net calories – 1400

Biking Update

The biking crisis continues. It has been two weeks since my last ride. I did not get out for a ride Friday afternoon. The good news is that today, after waiting until the very last-minute, I got up got geared up and pulled my bike outside.

The bad news is that once outside, I noticed I had a flat tire.  😦

I figured it might be a slow leak so I tried pumping it up but after 5 minutes of trying I could not get it to inflate so I took the tire off and lo and behold it had a huge hole in the tube. When did that happen???

My last ride, I made it all the way home without a flat. How did and where did that huge hole appear from???

Last time, I had a flat, I just bought a new tube, this time I need to go ahead and buy a patch kit so I can learn to fix the tire. I will be looking at different kits tonight and hopefully I will be able to find a decent cheap one that I can grab tomorrow.

Tip Of The Day

Beware sodium!

Even if you don’t have blood pressure issues, you should still watch your sodium intake on a diet. It can cause you to gain or retain a big giant pile of water.

Most processed food is very high in sodium. That healthy looking turkey sandwich you just made could have upwards of 1k mgs of sodium.

Soup!!! Most canned soup is nothing more than a GIANT sodium bomb. You think that nice healthy bowl of soup is great for your diet until you realize the whole can is 2.5 servings for a total of 5000 mgs of sodium.

Read your labels. RDA is now down to about 2500 mgs per day and 1500 for middle-aged people or people with health issues. 1500 is near impossible unless you eat all fresh food.  I’ve kept it around 1200 to 1500 for the last year except when I cheat. I think  a good chunk of my weight gain in maintenance was going back to normal sodium intake.

Be aware of the sodium you eat but also understand that bouncing from low sodium to high sodium can cause a large weight fluctuation.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

The Grumpy Man

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/09/10/salty-saturday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

