Better Day!

I did much better on Wednesday than Tuesday. The munchies didn’t turn me into Mr. Hyde and I had a pretty good night tonight too so I get a nice gold star.

Weight Statistics

323/173.9/165

I’m down 6 pound from my peak on Sunday morning but I am still 9 pounds off my low. I need to have ย a good weekend without any nonsense cheating. ย I might need to hide in the BUNKER. My dad wants me to come over for lunch and watch the LSU game with him but I really want to get back below 170 before I put myself in temptation’s way.

I really should hunker down in hermit mode in the bunker. ๐Ÿ˜€

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Oatmeal

Lunch – Tuna fish with salad

Dinner – Turkey with cheese on wheat with salad

Snack – Red beans and rice with sausage

Calories – 1250

Biking – 0

Net Calories – 1250

I am running out of food again and need to hit Walmart in the next few days. I think I am going to stick with carbs as long as I continue to lose some weight this weekend.

My blood pressure has been just fine even with the MUCH higher sodium intake. I was eating about 1200 mgs a day for most of my diet and now I am up to 2500 mgs. ย As long as my blood pressure continues to be well within the good range, I may add some jalapenos back to the menu which would be great. I actually keep hitting lower blood pressure numbers. I know the machines at walmart stink but my BO was 111/77 earlier down from 172/110 back before I started the diet. ๐Ÿ˜€

Biking Update

My legs were tired after 20 miles on Monday and 10 miles on Tuesday so I took Wednesday off. I woke up REALLY early this morning and couldn’t get back to sleep and I noticed it was a very nice 70 degrees outside so I broke my rule about Thursday always being a day off. More on that tomorrow.

The sky looked something like that at about 6:45 am this morning. I really loved being able to ride in cool weather. I know, pretty soon I will be making excises about the cold weather. ๐Ÿ˜›

 

Yup, it is that time again.

For the eleventy billionth time, ย someone told me that I shouldn’t be doing such an unhealthy fad diet like Atkins.

I just mentioned my blood pressure was better but I can feel my blood pumping through my veins when people tell me I lost 150 pounds the wrong way or the unhealthy way.

PLEASE PEOPLE, update your knowledge. ALL ALL ALL recent studies show that on average people on Atkins end up with lower blood pressure, lower bad cholesterol and higher good cholesterol. ย The science behind the reason for better blood work is pretty clear and easy to understand.

What the heck constitutes a fad diet? The low carb diet has been around for almost 20 years. ย 20 years constitutes more than enough time to no longer call it a fad.

As I have posted on the site before, ย a liberal Stanford University professor, also a Vegan, did an excellent study which pretty much proved the benefits of low carb OVER low-calorie or higher carb diets and heck, he didn’t even make the test subjects go into induction which would have produced even better numbers.

Please quit telling me I lost 150 pounds the wrong way and please quit calling proven science a fad. I am not forcing or even advocating the plan for anyone but it sure helped me. ๐Ÿ˜€

Oh and quit telling me that weight loss MUST be accompanied by heavy exercise. That really Grinds My Gears. ๐Ÿ˜€

Tip Of The Day

Based on the above rant, you need to thoroughly research different diet plans and settle down on the one you think you can stick to the longest. ย I really mean it. Thoroughly investigate each diet plan you might want to try. Don’t just go to one site and decide said plan is not for you.

Yes, I prefer Atkins. I was very rarely ever hungry and I was never as hungry as I have been since I switched back to carbs but that might just be my body and the way in reacts to carbs. You may be different.

You aren’t locked into one plan. If it isn’t working or you feel you simply can not stick to it, then try something else. ๐Ÿ˜€

Pick a diet you like and can stick to and then don’t listen to the naysayers. Well, unless you choose the Junk Food Diet. ๐Ÿ˜€

Have a Happy Dieting Weekend, see you tomorrow

 

 

The Grumpy Man

 

 

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/better-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would just respond “dude, there is no bad way to lose 150 lbs if you can keep it off” Shit, ANY doctor wouldn’t give a crap how you did it because of the benefits created by being 150 lbs lighter…
    Go tell them to watch “Fat Head” and save yourself the explanation about how man used to be healthier living on over 90% protein and animal fat!
    The anti-Atkins people are the ones that cannot see themselves giving up certain carbs… (so therefore they think it’s terrible) and that’s THEIR problem, not yours!

  2. Numbers don’t lie. Atkins is working for you and that is awesome! Personally, I turn into a headachy mess without carbs, so I’m walking a different path. Everyone is different (duh!) and you’ve got to find what works for you.

    Best!

    • Yup! I say that all the time on here and I think I do a good job of not forcing Atkins on everyone. I just get a bit tired of people telling me I will gain it all back or I shouldn’t have done it that way or it is super unhealthy. Those same people refuse to even look at the youtube video which proves Atkins isn’t evil. 40 years of the government spouting false claims from faulty studies has the entire populace brainwashed and it will probably take another 40 years to remove the harm done by those studies from the 70s.

  3. I totally agree. I had people tell me I’d die living on 800 calories per day. Did it suck? Sure. Did it work? Uh, yeah! And did I have one MD, one PA, and two nutritionists keeping a very close eye on me while *they* dictated my calorie intake? Yup. I’m pretty sure the risk of a malpractice lawsuit was enough to compel them to make sure I didn’t die. All of my numbers improved as well… my blood panels went from healthy to incredibly healthy, my blood pressure went from good to great. Back off ignorant people! So you tell ’em, Grumpy!

    • I imagine losing 150 pounds any way possible is a good way other than outright starvation. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Even the junkfood diet short term wouldn’t be bad if a person can actually stick to it.


Leave a Reply

