How Could I Mess Up The Computer Test???

Job Interview

How could I mess up the computer part of the interview?  I’m at a loss. I needed to create a simple word document, 3 spread sheets and then work on a schedule. I spent too much time on the word document. I flubbed the spreadsheets because I merged some columns and then couldn’t sort them and then I barely got to the schedule portion. 😦

Now that I know what I did wrong, I could zip through the spreadsheets. I just hope explaining my errors shows that I understand how to use the computer even though I was more than a little rusty.

Grr!!! =product(sheet1:sheet2!A1) I hate thee! I never had to multiply between spreadsheets before. I panicked. It took about 3 seconds to figure out once I was home. 😛

The most important part was the scheduling portion and I barely got to it and was unable to enter any info into the scheduling spreadsheet. The manager just wanted to see that I had the ability to grasp the process so hopefully I was able to do that when I was talking with her but having zilch on the sheet really hurts.

The actual interview went pretty good. I don’t think I was nervous. In hindsight, I was actually a lot calmer than I thought I would be and then I flub the computer section which should have been my strength. 😦

Emergency prayers and good vibes needed. 😀

Weight Statistics

323/172.3/165

Unexpected bounce up. I didn’t have a great calorie day and I didn’t ride the bike yesterday but I wasn’t expecting  a full pound bounce up.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Double shot of Oatmeal

Lunch – Turkey and cheese on wheat with salad

Dinner – Turkey and cheese on wheat with salad

Snack – sausage, oatmeal and more oatmeal and even more oatmeal.

I went more than a little oatmeal crazy last night. I broke one of my rules. I cleaned out the carbs from my pantry but put them in my mouth.

I am back on Atkins starting today. It should take about 24 to 48 hours to clear out all the carbs and sodium. I can already see a HUGE difference in my sodium intake. I think yesterday it was 3500 and today it is under 1200. 😀

Calories – 1700

Biking – 0

Net Calories = 1700

Biking Update

Nope. I wanted to make sure I was well rested so I skipped the ride on Tuesday. I was actually a bit more chipper today so the extra sleep and no bike ride really helped.

I didn’t get back from the interview until almost 7pm so I also skipped my ride today. 😛

Tip Of The Day

Don’t use food as a source of comfort. We all do it. Heck, some foods are dubbed “comfort food.”

We need to move away from food as a reward or food as a source of comfort.  This doesn’t mean we can’t EVER use food as a reward or comfort but we need to learn to limit those occasions.

The cookie monster portion of my  brain is telling me I need to run out and get some comfort food to ease my pain from the computer debacle. A nice pint of Twix Ice Cream. The rational portion of my brain is telling me that a few minutes of comfort simply isn’t worth it.

Chalk one up for the rational side. I’ll pass on the ice cream tonight. Heck, I just started Atkins. I would really get “the business” from Shonnie if I cheated on day 1. 😛

We need to learn to cope in other ways. Put the ice cream down. I know, easier said than done. 😀

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/10/12/how-could-i-mess-up-the-computer-test/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good luck with the job! I’m praying for ya 😉 On another note, that’s also a good tip, making food a reward can be set-up for disaster…at least for me 😀

  2. Fingers crossed for the job.
    I wonder do skinny people comfort eat? Why do some of us comfort eat and others not? Part of me thinks it’s something I learnt in childhood and I wonder will I unknowingly pass it on to my step duaghter :S

    • I am sure they do but they probably do a much better job of then eating reasonably for several days to make up for the comfort binge. 😀

  3. I hate Excel, so can empathize with your spreadsheet problems. I hope the interviewer wrote off some of your struggles to nerves and the pressure of the situation. Good luck!

    • It really boggles my mind that I messed the computer section up. I was completely relaxed on the question answer portion of the interview. . Not sure why I got so nervous on the computer section that my computer skills reverted to the level of a 4-year-old. 😀

      The manager mainly wanted to see that you had some skills and could be taught, which should have been easy for me but I spent too much time on the letter, then panicked on the spreadsheets and barely got to the scheduling portion.

      As soon as I got home, I sent her an email with the correct formula and explained my mistake in merging cells which then made it impossible to sort the data. That should show that I do have a basic understanding of the programs and the ability to look up solutions online.

      Oh well, maybe I won’t be so panicked next time. 😀


Leave a Reply

