Cold Up There!

Biking Update

Ok ok ok ok. I know this is New Orleans and it isn’t that cold but it sure was chilly riding a bike into the gale force winds. I’m going to need to buy a bunch of winter garb if I plan to ride my bike much longer on the levee because it wasn’t even that cold yesterday but I nearly froze riding on the levee.

The wind didn’t help either. I did finally have a windy day that aided me in one direction. The first 3 miles were a piece of cake with the hurricane winds pushing me southeast. That of course means that the last 3 miles were a misery riding into the face of the storm. πŸ˜›

Road Marker 410 – 10 Miles

I did some walking last year around this time but I gave up in November because it was too darn cold. I’m not sure what I am going to do with my biking. I might need to find another source of exercise for the winter months.

Weight Statistics

323/165.5/165

Nice dip down this morning. After what seems like an eternity, I am back down to 165. I think it only took 2 months to get back here. πŸ˜›

I’m not sure what I am going to do at this point. I’m not thrilled with my Atkins menu at the moment and I sure would love some hot oatmeal and some hot red beans and rice now that the weather is turning cooler.

I will be headed to Walmart later this evening but I am unsure which way I am going to go. I actually want to drop below my last low because I always pack on water weight the second I leave Atkins. Β I may go with Atkins for one more meal plan before trying carbs out again.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – Broiled chicken

Lunch – Tuna and salad

Dinner – Broiled chicken and salad

Snack – Broiled chicken and cheese

Calories – 1500

Biking – 472

Net Calories – 1028

Some hot oatmeal in the morning would really hit the spot but I do want to lose a little bit more weight. If I am able to behave myself this weekend, I should be at a new low next week and then I can start up carbs again.

How strange is my life now? I stress out over eating oatmeal! Ha! πŸ˜›

Actually it isn’t the oatmeal but the fact that carbs cause me to be ravenously hungry which sometimes leads to cookie monster control over my brain which leads to Taco Bell. πŸ˜€

Tip Of The Day

Fluids!

You need to make sure you are drinking at least 64 ounces a day. Heck, I drink about 128 most days. Β When I started this diet 20 months ago, I stuck mostly with water which I hated.

To induce water drinking, all of my food was spiked with LOTS of cayenne pepper. I am now almost immune to cayenne. πŸ˜€

After about 9 months, I started drinking coffee. I’ve read that caffeine can cause problems for people on Atkins and lead to stalls, but here I sit about 70 pounds lighter than before I started drinking coffee so it didn’t stall me.

Now I drink a big pile of coffee everyday and usually some form of no calorie no carbs flavored drink. Sometimes water but not often.

I still haven’t had a drink with sugar in it since I started 20 months ago. I used to be a SERIOUS coca cola addict. I imagine a good chunk of my weight was cause by the massive amount of sugar I used to consume in the form of soft drinks. Β I bet at this point a coke would taste like pure sugar. It would be like liquid ice cream. πŸ˜€

Dump the soft drinks and make sure you drink 64 ounces of water or water substitutes a day. I guess it certainly is possible caffeine could stall you, but I had no problems with green tea or coffee.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

 

 

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/cold-up-there/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve been thinking about getting some cold weather gear myself. As a backup plan I’m praying that we have the warmest, driest, windless-iest winter on record so I don’t have to worry about all that.

    Good work getting back to 165!

    • Thanks. I’m probably going to have to find an alternative to the bike once it gets really cold.

  2. As you bring the carbs back, I’ll tell you… oatmeal is one of my mainstays. I eat 8 oz. with about 1.5 teaspoons of brown sugar every day for second breakfast and it keeps me full and sated for quite a while. Not to mention adding some fiber to my diet. And I just plain ol’ love the stuff to boot. As you incorporate all the carbs back into the diet, definitely keep the oatmeal. The best thing is that it’s good at any meal.

    • Yeah, I love it. I do need to wean myself off the flavored oatmeal and onto plain oatmeal with my own additives. That would knock out some extra sugar and lots of sodium.


Leave a Reply

