Whoops!

Short Post Saturday with no frills or cheap thrills. πŸ˜›

Weight Statistics

323/166.7/165

Er….what??? Up three pounds after my first day back on carbs. Once again further proof that moving off of Atkins causes a massive water spike.

It certainly wasn’t the food that caused the increase.

Yesterday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast – 2 portions of oatmeal

Lunch – Red beans and rice with sausage

Dinner – Turkey and cheese on wheat with salad

Snack – red beans and rice

Calories – 1560

Biking – 0

Net calories – 1560

See! It wasn’tΒ the food. It is apparent that the carb engine requires more water than ketosis. I knew I might put a little water weight on but I wasn’t expecting 3 pounds and I was actually expecting the spike tomorrow. I figured it would take a longer to spike. I’m going to be very grumpy if the scale moves up again tomorrow.

Biking Update

I was lazy Friday. I think I had a bit of a cold Thursday and Friday and I just couldn’t get motivated to head up to the levee. I got up there today but more on that tomorrow.

Tip Of The Day

Never use moments of frustration as an excuse to eat.

It may seem irrational, but I know many times in the past a move up on the scale would send me into more eating which would lead to higher scale readings followed by more eating.

Don’t use a bad day as an excuse to just say “screw it.” Don’t use a bad day as an excuse to run to taco bell. πŸ˜›

I didn’t and I won’t. That doesn’t mean I’m not super grumpy after a 3 pound gain. πŸ˜›

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

 

 

The Grumpy Man

Published in: on October 22, 2011 at 6:14 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2011/10/22/whoops-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. every time you add carbs do you add the same carbs? the same meals? isn’t the definition of insanity doing the same things and expecting different results? Sorry … MMOB. but look at the history and see how much is the same. just a thought to ponder.
    You have done fantastic!

    • I’m not sure the type of carbs matters much. I think it comes down to Atkins and ketosis being a natural diuretic. Plus, I do add some processed food back into the mix when I add carbs which means higher sodium levels . A simple turkey sandwich on wheat is about 1000 mgs of sodium.

      Leaving natural diuretic + more sodium = more water retention

      Not much I can do about that other than hope I stabilize and find balance at a lower weight.

      Plus, the first couple of time I went into maintenance, I immediately had several cheats on top of the switchover. This time I am going to stay away from any cheats long enough to see where my weight balances out.

      I was up again today but not a huge jump. If I can at least hold onto the same weight tomorrow, then i’ll consider the change over successful.


Leave a Reply

