What I Learned

I learned a few things over the holidays. First, I learned that I need to learn how to celebrate the holidays without eating until I explode like Violet Beauregarde and the second thing I learned is that you can gain an insane amount of weight in a very short period of time.

I didn’t want to go over my panic weight of 175. Not only did I go over the panic weight but I surged well past it.

Weight Statistics

323/183.9/165

Holy Smokes! That is 20 pounds over my low and almost 16 pounds heavier than before the holidays. I know some of that is water and it will drop off pretty fast but I also packed on some real pounds over the holidays.

As I said up there, I need to learn to enjoy the holidays without eating until I explode. I thought I did better over Christmas than I did over Thanksgiving, but the scale doesn’t lie. I did worse.

Time to get back to work and I need to stop making excuses about the new job.

My routine has been tossed into chaos by my new job so it is time for me to create a new routine that works while I am at the office. I am going to have to learn to pass the free for all grazing table without diving in.  No more work related excuses from me.

And no more cheats until I am back to 165. I am in FULL BUNKER MODE until further notice. HERMIT MODE is in effect until I hit 165.

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Turkey burger with cheese

Lunch – Baked chicken with salad

Dinner – Turkey burger with cheese and salad

Snack – None

Calories – 1450

I had a pretty good day today.  I haven’t been too hungry today but it is still early. I had the day off so I didn’t have to deal with office temptations. After 2 days off, I should be busy enough tomorrow to keep me away from the grazing table and away from any tempting foods.

Tip Of The Day

Until January 5th, I will be repeating the long list of start-up tips so that any newcomers will be able to see my guide to getting started. I will try to add 1 new tip each day to the list.

Similar to my last tip, it is a good idea to take some before after shots. They can be tremendous inspiration to people who see your progress while at the same time, they can inspire you to continue on. I love the pictures of my pal OptifastLoser.  They really tell the tale of his progress. I wish I had a few more before shots and a few shots in between the before  and after shots.

1. Check with your doctor. I’m sure the doc will say to get on with it, but first make sure you aren’t constrained  by health issues.

2. Research diets online and pick one that you really think you can stick with. If you are miserable 100% of the time, you will not make it. You need to find a happy medium between losing weight but doing it in a way that doesn’t make you unhappy all the time.

3. Clean out the fridge and pantry of all bad food. THROW IT AWAY! Do not wait until you finish all of the bad food to start the diet. Get rid of it now!

4. Start a food, calorie, weight and exercise journal. You need to be able to see what works and what doesn’t work and a journal will help.

5. Seek online support. It is all over the place on the internet and the best support comes from people going through the same pain in the keister.

6. Weigh yourself at LEAST once a week. I just read some stupid article that said you should not get hung up on the scale. WTH??? You need to be able to gauge your results and the scale is the only way to do it. If your diet isn’t working, you need to know that and you need to make adjustments.

6. B. Take body measurements. You might not want to do this at the start but those measurements will be a source of inspiration at a later date and they will soothe your soul when the scale refuses to budge even though you are doing everything right.

6. C. Take some before pictures and keep taking pictures along your journey to chart your progress.

7. Measure everything and read all labels. You need to know the caloric intake to know if you are actually operating on deficit calories.

8. Exercise is fine, BUT DON”T OVER DO IT! We tend to go overboard when we start diets and this leads to burn out. Take things very very very very very very very slowly. I did almost ZERO exercise the first year of my diet and I still lost over 100 pounds.

9. Always have a shopping list and never shop hungry.

10. Use smaller plates when eating.

11. Don’t take yourself too seriously and don’t rush the diet. Just do the best you can each day and one day you will see the light at the end of the tunnel.

12. When you make mistakes, don’t beat yourself up too much. Just make sure you don’t use a few days of cheating as an excuse to toss in the towel. Get back to work.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 

 

 

The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2012/01/02/what-i-learned/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey Grumps! Happy New Year!! Well, I will probably register the same level of troubles when I return. I hope that I have not undone all the last bit of hard work that I pushed through, but honestly, it is just too hard to cook continuously, clean continuously, help continuously and make separate foods. It is just too hard to deal with. I try to make the best choices of what is available … that isn’t always easy. 😀

    Like the tips and I ditto them! 😀

    • I seem to be insanely intolerant of sodium which can cause MASSIVE upticks in weight when I eat loads of salt which I did over the holidays.

      The good news is that usually I then have MASSIVE drops the first few days after the partying ends.

      Which is what happened this morning. I dropped about 6 pounds since yesterday morning. 😀

      Crazy.


Leave a Reply

