Weekend Update

I’ve been in hiding the last couple of days.

I actually haven’t cheated but I have been eating a bit too  much of my Atkins food. My caloric intake has been around 2000 calories the last 3 days which isn’t going to help me win the Office Competition.

Weight Statistics

323/172.2/165

I was really surprised by the loss this morning because I have been eating too much the last couple of days. I wouldn’t be shocked to see a tick up tomorrow. I was really expecting an increase this morning.

I need to get through tomorrow without a cheat. Tomorrow could be a problem. My brain already tried to convince me of the healing powers of Dominos pizza during the Saints game. I know the little devil on my shoulder will be making a strong push to have me order a pizza for the LSU/Bama Championship Game.

I think I will be able to avoid the pizza because I know that my weight will spike up and I won’t be able to lose any of it before the Wednesday Weigh-In at the office. Geaux Tigers!!!

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Turkey burger with cheese

Lunch – Baked chicken with salad

Dinner – Baked chicken with salad

Snack – Turkey burger with cheese

Calories – 1950

Mardi Gras season officially started last Friday, so King Cakes are going to be all over the place until the Mardi Gras season ends. 😦

I just need to keep my eye on the prize. I still don’t know who my competition is so hopefully Gail gets the list out before the Wednesday Weigh-In.

Oh. on Friday, in place of the usual donuts, there was a giant King Cake and …… 3 bags full of McDonald’s breakfast burritos, sausage biscuits and I think the other bag might have been bacon egg and cheese biscuits.

It wasn’t quite that bad, but I was sorely tempted by the evil savory treats in the McD’s bags.  I was able to defeat the evil grazing table. The Grumpy Man won the day but I cracked a bit in the night and ate too many turkey burgers.

Tip Of The Day / Welcome Resolutioners!

Until January 8th, I will be repeating the long list of start-up tips so that any newcomers will be able to see my guide to getting started. I will try to add 1 new tip each day to the list.

 

My final bit of advice for resolutioners and anyone reading is that you should…… GET TO WORK. Don’t just read about it. Start taking action on your diet. No matter how much weight you have to lose, it is possible. If I can lose 150 pounds, anyone can. You just need to get to work and have more good days than bad one. Good luck and Happy New Year!

1. Check with your doctor. I’m sure the doc will say to get on with it, but first make sure you aren’t constrained  by health issues.

2. Research diets online and pick one that you really think you can stick with. If you are miserable 100% of the time, you will not make it. You need to find a happy medium between losing weight but doing it in a way that doesn’t make you unhappy all the time.

3. Clean out the fridge and pantry of all bad food. THROW IT AWAY! Do not wait until you finish all of the bad food to start the diet. Get rid of it now!

4. Start a food, calorie, weight and exercise journal. You need to be able to see what works and what doesn’t work and a journal will help.

5. Seek online support. It is all over the place on the internet and the best support comes from people going through the same pain in the keister.

6. Weigh yourself at LEAST once a week. I just read some stupid article that said you should not get hung up on the scale. WTH??? You need to be able to gauge your results and the scale is the only way to do it. If your diet isn’t working, you need to know that and you need to make adjustments.

6. B. Take body measurements. You might not want to do this at the start but those measurements will be a source of inspiration at a later date and they will soothe your soul when the scale refuses to budge even though you are doing everything right.

6. C. Take some before pictures and keep taking pictures along your journey to chart your progress.

7. Measure everything and read all labels. You need to know the caloric intake to know if you are actually operating on deficit calories.

8. Exercise is fine, BUT DON”T OVER DO IT! We tend to go overboard when we start diets and this leads to burn out. Take things very very very very very very very slowly. I did almost ZERO exercise the first year of my diet and I still lost over 100 pounds.

9. Always have a shopping list and never shop hungry.

10. Use smaller plates when eating.

11. Don’t take yourself too seriously and don’t rush the diet. Just do the best you can each day and one day you will see the light at the end of the tunnel.

12. When you make mistakes, don’t beat yourself up too much. Just make sure you don’t use a few days of cheating as an excuse to toss in the towel. Get back to work.

13. I would recommend Hermit Mode early in your diet but if you have to eat out, then you need to steer your friends to restaurants with healthy options. You need to check online for menus and figure out what is the best option. Then, you need to stick with that selection. Don’t even touch the menu at the restaurant. If you open the menu, chances are you will select something else so don’t touch the menu.

14.Competition Mode! Find someone to compete with. I’ve been in diet competitions with online friends, family and now my office. It makes losing weight much more fun and easier to do if you have a nice friendly competition.I did some serious trash talking and I threatened to send a pizza to a couple of people at their homes. :PI also sent an email explaining the healthy nutritional value of fried chicken. :D

15. Find a snack you like but don’t love. If you love it, you will eat too much.

Happy Dieting, see you tomorrow

 The Grumpy Man

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lost100pounds.wordpress.com/2012/01/08/weekend-update-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

